We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mass tourism” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GHL Hotel Sunrise

Save Saved
You added GHL Hotel Sunrise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GHL Hotel Sunrise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Newball 4-162, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Cologne, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mass tourism”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The GHL Hotel is a good destination if you want to see the mass-tourism side of San Andres. The rooms are ok (sometimes they had problems with the drain pipe) and aircondition demands furniture and walls of the rooms (tendence to oxidation). Beside the rooms, the restaurant is great but it takes a lot until getting you meal.

Room Tip: all rooms have beach-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    130
    68
    43
    42
See reviews for
127
127
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Okay I stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel have on there doors and windows that there 5* but no I would give it a 3. I mean the hotel has a lovely reception area which is very grand. The hotel is in a very good location as well. A few things let down this hotel 1. There is only hot water between 8:00am and 11:00am and then is turn back on at 4:30pm and turned off at 8:00pm. They didn't tell us about this at the check in desk I went to complain and get it fixed and THEN they told me. I didn't eat once at the hotel but what I saw it was average. The beach is hardy a beach they have out there own sand down and have tried to make it into a bay which is nice but if you walk 5mins down the road the open beach is a lot nicer. Another thing the hotel rooms are HUGE which is great but there is damp and water paper coming off which they could fix I would of thought. The hotel is very clean but REMEMBER ask for towels as if you don't ask you don't get. Another thing that let this hotel down was the staff! We had a man coming to our hotel to give us our pictures from Jonny Island however we had to go out and asked if he comes could they hold it for us. The women went to find out if this was possible and never came back we waited for 10mins and she never came back which was very rude. Another thing was the pool activities programmed but not once did I see anything happening. Over all this hotel is very nice, clean, great location but if you want tlc you won't get it. I was happy staying at this hotel but little things let it down.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great service, excellent view, live music at the lobby was great, food and bar service was excellent (had one of the best piña coladas ever). The only thing is that the rooms have a bit of an old and humid smell.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel has a great an well located infrastructure. Unfortunately it's not very well maintained. The area is quiet which is good, and the hotel is located 1/2 mile from the beaches and very close to commercial and restaurant area.
The hotel is not very clean and the price is not consistent at all with the quality and state of the facility. They could really do better.
The pool is beautiful, but I found it to be a little bit dirty. I find that the staff is very kind and service oriented. Food is great as well.
I spent a week for business and then one week with my family for vacation and we had a great time anyway.

Rooms (at least mine) are large and wonderful sea view. However I've heard from other guests that there was lots of humidity and bath rooms very poorly maintained a well. It was not my case.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, this is not a 5 star hotel, but more between 2 and 3 stars. Medellin and Bogota have 5 star hotels and this is most definitely not of the same standard.So, if you arrive expecting a 3 star hotel you will not be disappointed!! It was built about 30 years ago by the drugs cartels and has received minimal investment since although the Hotel has been undertaking a programme of updating rooms for the past couple of years. We stayed in a refurbished room with a sea view and we were very pleased with the size of the room, the accommodation and the bathroom.

The staff are very attentive to your needs especially the guys in the bar by the pool and the restaurant staff. The swimming pool is huge and we were always able to get a table with an umbrella without reserving in advance. There were always sufficient sunbeds which was a relief.

The location of the hotel is excellent, being central to everything and only a short walk from the shops and the beach. There is not much of a beach at the hotel but the pool satisfied all our needs. There are plenty of beaches around which can be accessed by foot, taxi or bus. After all, it is an island and you have many choices of beaches.

We will be back to San Andres in the future and will stay again at the Sunrise but will try and get a refurbished room again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHLHOTELSUNRISE, Gerente at GHL Hotel Sunrise, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Yours sincerely on behalf of all the staff that make up the hotel GHL Sunrise. We want to thank you for having taken the time to evaluate your stay with us as their comments or suggestions, contribute to the continuous improvement of our service.

The certification process for categorization with stars in Hotels is backed by international certification companies especilializadas, process GHL Hotel Sunrise has not advance and for which we can not prove any star, any hotel in San Andrés is categorized as 5 stars, we will consider the best of the island's infrastructure and services, like the warmth of our staff.

Also thank you for your good comments as is remarks are a stimulus for our people
to continue the work of continuous training, improvement of human beings and the service they provide.
Thanks to customers like you is that our organization moves in the guest service and technological innovation, to keep in touch and committed to the pursuit of excellence.


Sincerely;


Nora Lucia Velasquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We just came back with our two children from a 9 days stay at this hotel. At first, we were a little apprehensive by reading some of the negative reviews but after getting there we found out that all the negative comments were unfounded. Everything in the hotel was just what we were looking for. The room was very comfortable and clean with a fresh supply of towels every day, the food was excellent with a good room service, and the location is just perfect. The entire family had a great time. We are already thinking in going back next year. Over all, it’s a great hotel with a very good price-value.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

GHL sunrise Hotel excelent place for a small island,we stayed in a big apartment side of the hotel
with all you needs,two big bedroom ,two bathroom.big kitchen,excelent dining room and a huge balcony with a great ocean view.The staff were all extremely helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHL Hotel Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Hotel Sunrise

Address: Av Newball 4-162, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHL Hotel Sunrise 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Andres Island, one of the most fascinating and exotic places of the Colombian Caribbean, you find a resort and business unique in its category. GHL Sunrise Hotel has 170 rooms fully furnished and equipped with air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, safety box, hair dryer and minibar We have the Paradise Restaurant serving breakfast buffet from 07:00 -10:30, lunch buffet from 12:30 to 14:30 and Dinner buffet from 19:00 to 22:30. A la carte service and room service 24 hours. Restaurant Henrriette (in high season) with breakfast buffet and dinner buffet 7:00 to 10:30 and Dinner buffet from 19:00 to 22:30. Spectacular freshwater pool on the sea, exclusive beach, non-motorized water sports, diving Induction basic, basic induction windsurfing, sauna, jacuzzi, Turkish bath, gym instructor from 06:00 to 09:00 and 18:00 to 21:00 Monday to Friday, pool and beach towels, wireless internet in social areas courtesy of the hotel, nightclub Blue deep, Melon kiss karaoke bar,Park Point lobby bar and our bar Gaviotas at the pool . Cotton Cay Convention Center up to 500 people in auditorium. In the hotel lobby is located a responsive office that offers the following attractions: Island tour, ride to the Keys in boat, golf cart rental, bike rental, tour of the bay in boat, semi-submersible and aquanauts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Venere so you can book your GHL Hotel Sunrise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHL Hotel Sunrise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.