We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Almond Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Almond Hostel to your Saves list
Blue Almond Hostel
Barrio Los Almendros Manzana 4 Casa 3, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Thun, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best place on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Blue almond hostal is a very nice hostal. The owner Juan and his girlfriend are so friendly and help you with everything. It's located close to the center, there is computer and a big tv to use. They have snorkeling equipement. Everything :) I really recomend this hostal to everybody!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
44
66
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

well what can I say? Initially I arrived in San Andres with the intention of staying for 10 days to two weeks, however on arrival I was treated to thunderstorms and lashing horizontal rain in my face - this kind of wiped out the first week, but that didn't seem to bother me as staying in the Blue Almond hostel was like being back home! After the first week I had decided to extend my stay to make up for it, but had no idea how time flies when you're having fun....and fun indeed it was in Blue Almond, not so much a massive party hostel but a hostel here you can chill out and relax, and there are always people to go out with if you want to do that...so much fun I ended up staying.....well....2 months!! I beat the longest standing record set by a German tourist who stayed 1 month! What made me stay so long? First of all the hosts - Juan and Jennifer are great, they are always willing to hang out with the guests and we had many a night of seeing who could order the strangest and hardest shots and cocktails down the local bar, and somehow managing to make our way back up the road.

As for the hostel itself, it has everything you need, it's kept clean tidy by Marta the cleaning lady and it's situated away from the busy beachfront in a quiet neighbourhood so you can sleep at night but if you want to you can walk to the busy area in about 10-15 minutes - it even has a resident beagle named Shaggy, who occasionally steps up to the microphone and howls a solo performance upon request

There is also info about where to get the best priced and value diving trips here, and Juan can help you save money on this too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

In an island full of expensive options, BLue Almond Hostel comes as a relief! Juan and Jennifer will try their best to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, and I really liked it.

The room was a bit small and hot, but such as every other hostel in Colombia, and being such a small hostel, you feel like you're on your own home and get acquainted to all the other guests pretty quickly.

It is located around 10 minutes away from downtown if you go walking and there is a small market by the corner, so you will have everything you need, doesn't matter if you are visiting San andrés to Chill Out, to dive or all the possible things.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hey visitors,

I had an awesome time there and the hosts were really nice. They help you with everything.
Also with diving what I was doing my whole time there. I loved the diving and the place is nearby the diving schools. You can relax after a tiring day and enjoy the company there. You pay a really good price for the things you get.
I would recommend to stay during your time in Isla de San Andres

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is definitely the best hostel on the island; clean rooms, big kitchen, homy feeling. Loads of info on the possibilities of the island, restaurant recommendations, etc etc...
Juan & Jenny are by far the nicest people I've met on my trip; the proof being I had a reservation for 2 nights and ended up staying a month! I recommend this place 100%! Also, don't forget to tip Martha, the cleaning lady. She is the best!!
Thank you J&J for everything!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Blue Almond has a great family feel to it, and is in a convenient location just close enough to downtown but somewhat out of the way. Juan is a great owner, and in fact made dinner for us the first night with him and his girlfriend. Overall a wonderful expereince, and I'm sure the Blue Almond will continue to improve in the future as Juan is always trying to find creative ways to make things better!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Blue Almond is a lovely little hostel about a 15 minute walk away from the main town beach. It´s easy to get around from there, especially if you rent a bike or motorcycle. It´s very small, only 7 beds I think, so you definitely get to know everyone there. Juan and Jennifer are lovely, Juan has perfect English and he will give you loads of advice about what to do and where to go. I also have to thank Juan for helping me at the hospital when I had an accident. They are great people and that makes a big difference when staying at a small hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Almond Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Almond Hostel

Address: Barrio Los Almendros Manzana 4 Casa 3, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Specialty Lodging in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Almond is a 20-minute walk from the main downtown beach in San Andres Island, it offers budget accommodation with free Wi-Fi and common facilities. The lounge features a DVD player and a book exchange library, it also offers single and double rooms with shared bathrooms.Guest can cook their own meal using the common facilities, which include a fully-equipped kitchen.Diving and snorkeling activities can be booked. Bikes can also be rented to explore the island. Airport shuttles and excursion can be arranged. Blue Almond Hostel is a 15-minute walk from the lively shopping district full of bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Almond Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Almond Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.