We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Tranquilo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Playa Tranquilo to your Saves list
Playa Tranquilo
Avenida Circunvalar Km 8 Via El Cove, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Highly recommended! Playa Tranquila is a beautiful, relaxing place that is right near the ocean and only 20 minutes away from the downtown excitement. Great snorkeling and there is a beautiful pool! We can't say enough about the hospitality - the staff went well above and beyond, they were very friendly and accommodating! Anything you needed or wanted to do, they were there to assist. Beautiful scenery and excellent food. This is a vacation our family will never forget!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Playa Tranquila truly is a great place to stay when in San Andres! Staff and owner are super, and the diving gear is excellent and brand new! Nice pool to cool down, and the food is succulent! Don't skip on this place!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent service, great place to relax.
Every single detail was taken care with great amiability. The staff was extremely friendly, ready to give us the best recommendations, treat us with delicious food, provides us with all the additional needed services.
A beautiful pool, nice snorkeling area in front of hotel and great cozy decorated cabanas. If you are into a relaxing trip to San Andres, this is the place to be.
Not in front of the Sandy beaches but arranging transport is easy and pleasent to go around the island in search of those magical blue ocean colors with white sand!
Well recommended.

Room Tip: Cabanas have a shared bathroom for 3 cabanas... but always clean and nice kept. amazing open air sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful, serene place to spend your time on San Andres, you will not find a better location than the recently established Playa Tranquilo. Located a short 20-minute bus ride from town with gorgeous views of the rocky beach as well as easy access for swimming or snorkeling or, if you prefer, you can lounge by the Zen-inspired pool located on the property.

When I stayed, they still did not have internet or WIFI, but that only added to the tranquility for me, though be warned, they ARE planning to add it!

The on-site dive shop makes diving a breeze and there are so many fabulous sites.... and the dive instructor, Moises, is top-notch! SInce diving was the priority for our trip, this was really important for us.

It really is a magical place. I want to go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel is located on the side of San Andres where there is no beach, just sharp rocks and waters edge, if your after an island stay please stay on the other side rocky cay is one of the best beaches there is, back to the hotel the staff where very friendly especially the lady at reception! the breakfast was very good they cook you what you want egg's pancakes ect, there are the cheaper rooms at the front which looked very nice with good water views but i dont think they had privated bathroom/showers???.. we stay in the rooms up the back with the kitchen in the middle.

The hotel offerd dives, moto rental (which is essential to get anywhere) but is much much cheaper from the centre(about half the price) reccommend getting a bus to the centre and renting a moto or kart if you are on a budget they cost about $60000 cop a day

all in all a good hotel for a reasonable price but if your looking for an island stay with sand deffinatly not the place for you stay on the other side even the centre.

Room Tip: if you dont mind sharing bathroom and shower go for the cheaper room very nice see view's with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Playa Tranquilo is the perfect place to relax and enjoy San Andres. Our room was very neat, clean and beautifully decorated. The place has a relaxing, home-like vibe. The owner and the staff will do everything they can to make sure you have a wonderful stay. Also they offer you the possibility to rent a buggy or scooter. If you want to do a dive course or just some fun dives, Playa Tranquilo is the right place to go; the owner owns and the ocean and sealife are magnificent.

Room Tip: The rooms are great and all of them are near to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honfleur, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We just spend 3 weeks at Playa Tranquilo with our kids (2 & 4 years old) and I must say that Playa Tranquilo is the place to stay in San Andres...!!
Moises (The Director) is THE man...He & his team will do anything possible to make your vacation the most relaxing time you can have!!!!!..If you decide to go for diving you are also in the best hands with him & his collegues. I strongly suggest to go for diving with him !!!
The beds are very good quality, the cooking done by the ladies is VERY good and they are all also very very flexible..
The location itself is very well keept and is very clean....On daily bases the teams take very good care about all spaces (the pool, the garden, and all other common locations)....
The place is very well located on the Island..It is on the "non windy" side and it is very very quiet & calm wich is not necessarly the case everywhere on the island...
As you can imagine we do STRONGLY recommend Playa Tranquilo we just LOVED it!! Just enjoy !

Room Tip: We had the Villa with its 3 bedrooms/bathooms = PERFECT !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Tranquilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Tranquilo

Address: Avenida Circunvalar Km 8 Via El Cove, San Andres Island, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Tranquilo is a Boutique Hotel that is separated into three luxurious options, on four lush acres of sea front property - The House, the Apartment and the Hotel (currently under renovation). Unlike other hotels, our goal is to custom tailor a uniquely fabulous experience for each and every guest. If you choose the House or the Apartment, you will be the only guests in that residence. As a guest of our Hotel, you will feel equally secluded. Our guests prefer staying with us because they feel like they are staying at an exclusive residence on the island, and not a suffocating resort. Our property is nestled on the less developed side of San Andres, a short 15 minutes from the city center/airport. Playa Tranquilo is an island of tranquility unto itself. Whether you are interested in scuba diving, lounging by the pool, touring the islands, having a chef prepare all of your meals, popping into the sea directly outside our gate or just settling into a hammock to enjoy the sunset with an aperitif - we have it all and would be more than happy to customize your time (see services page) at Playa Tranquilo. You can be as spoiled, or as self-sufficient as you like in this idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Playa Tranquilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Tranquilo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.