We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice if the price is right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Blanca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Arena Blanca Hotel to your Saves list
Arena Blanca Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sector Hansa Frente A La Casa De La Cultura, San Andres Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A good choice if the price is right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our group of ten stayed for a week ( 5 rooms) with little to complain about except the pool closing everyday at dusk. That was a bit annoying since it was hot & dusk came early. Food was good, service was great, & the rooms were just fine. A huge factor for me when staying in a high rise property are the elevators...and they worked perfectly! The place was clean, secure, family friendly and located less than a 10 min walk away from the beach. We got a great deal on the group but the normal rate is per person making it a bit pricey for a family and for that price I'd rather stay at a more value oriented property, buy my meals out & spend the "savings" on activities. That said, the Arena Blanca is fine choice overall.

Room Tip: The higher floors have much nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    32
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
56
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I loved this hotel. the decorations is no modern but the staff is really friendly, they smile all the time. The rooms are big and very comfortable, almost all the rooms have sea view; I love that. The food is so so nice and tasty and the cocktails are nice if you want to try cocktails from the Island. In my point of view, the best cocktail is pina colada. I love it, the pineapple flavor is excellent. the location is good.

I would like to stay in this hotel again. 100% recommended

Room Tip: near to the beach, nice food, nice cocktails, close to the malls and shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was confused when making a reservation for the hotel on the island. Instead of casablanca have arrived at arenablanca. Well, it was already paid and they did not want to give me my money back at the reception when arrived and just looked around that terrible reception.
The decoration was like from a nightmare, cheap bazar, horrible noise of loud Latin music, hordes of kids shouting around, even at 11 pm.
No internet connection in the room on the 3rd of 6th floor.
Incredible, disgusting drinks are offered at the bar. Guys serving them have no idea about drinks or cocktails. Food at the restaurant is probably not people food...looks so bad.
Left that place next morning and had to pay 250 USD for the tortures of staying there.

Room Tip: am curious if there might be anything worse that this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I love San Andres, I've visited it for several, times, each one in a different hotel, and let me tell you that the only hotel I'd visit again is arena blanca, great staff, very good food, nice shows, other hotels have no shows.......nice room, very clean and updated......highly recommended

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The only reason to stay here is for its location close to the wharf. The music pounds out like a fairground ride, the shower was cold and had very little pressure although the room was clean. If you are spending time on the island and are coming for the beach rather than an all-inclusive and shopping frenzy, stay out in San Luis. The beaches are empty as opposed to the ones in the town. I guess if you are coming for the tax-free shopping then this place would be OK as it is centrally located. (I was coming off of the Catamaran and going to the airport so stayed for one night here rather than return to San Luis) but equally there are many, many hotels that are centrally located. I found service to be really rather poor and the receptionist rude. Checkout is at 1pm and yet I received a phone call at 9am to tell me that checkout is at 1pm... which I had already been told upon checking in. WiFi is not available in the rooms (which astonishes me in what is apparently a 4* hotel) and is only availble in a weak form in the lobby and a stronger form on the first floor. All in all, when I am in the same situation in the future I will go a little further along the road and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brasil
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

I've stayed at the Arena Blanca on late October. San Andrés is marvelous, specially the Aquarium and the Johnny Cay Island. The staff is wonderful, ready to help, nice, polite, really great. The room had an ocean view and a balcony, what was great, but the bathroom ceiling needed to be repaired (it was adorned with mold). The beds were good, so was the linen and the air conditioner, but the decoration may be a little tacky. The food isn't good, its ok. Expect to get flavor for the masses. The service on the restaurant is excellent too (there we go with the great staff). The hotel isn't bad, but I'd like to try another one if I return to San Andrés.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We went with this hotel because of the #1 status on Trip advisor and we were really disappointed. It is OK but not fantastic. The rooms were clean but the shower was ice cold and we had to ask twice in our 4 day stay for toilet paper in our room. The staff are mostly friendly, particularly to kids but the bar staff are a bit grumpy. We went for the All inclusive package and felt it was not worth the price you pay. The food is OK for Colombian standard but not fantastic. They don't really cater for children for Lunches and dinners. The poolside bar is hardly ever attended. We sat for 2 hours one afternoon waiting for someone to attend the bar and only when we went behind the bar and helped ourselves to a beer did the barman suddenly appear. Cocktails are dismal! There is a business centre but both days I tried to use the internet it was unavailable. San Andres itself is great. Best thing to do is hire a Golf Cart for the day and tour the island. The duty free shopping is good but if you are foreign, be prepared to be "gringo taxed". The taxi drivers we had were lovely and gave really good advice. In a nutshell, this hotel is Ok but certainly not worth going for the all inclusive compared to the Decamerons or Barcelo hotel groups.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Blanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Blanca Hotel

Address: Sector Hansa Frente A La Casa De La Cultura, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arena Blanca Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arena Blanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Blanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.