We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a hourly Prostitution-house No place for Americans!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Portobelo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Andres Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portobelo
Save
You added Portobelo to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Colombia No.4 A-69, San Andres Island SAI, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Stuart, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a hourly Prostitution-house No place for Americans!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had planned to stay for a week but after we encounter a "Hot water Fee" and very rude service, we packed up and left. Even the manager was confrontational and crude!!!! We have traveled the world and he was unaffected when we stated we would post our bad experience online. This place has a great location but beware the hidden fees and discontent once your credit card is run!!!! The management could care less about any service concerns and they require you leave your room key at the desk, something we were unwilling to do with our valuables vulnerable!!! Stay Clear of this hotel!!!!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    10
    8
See reviews for
13
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The worst customer service ever! I try to go to the beach with a towel and the manager told me I was not allowed to go out with it.

It is a family house transformed into a two stars hotel. Still a house, not a hotel.

You have to smile a lot, if you want to ask to the manager for something you want. She is always in a bad mood.

Air conditioner problem during night. Nightshift front desk clerk does not know how to control air conditioner system and the main problem is "Air conditioner control panel is located in the front desk. He accidentally turned it off, and he could not turn it on. Bad for me!

In the other hand, it is very very cheap $40 per night.

It is well located in the downtown, right in front of the beach with a lovely view of "Johnny Cay" key. This is priceless.

Breakfast is great and it is included in the rate. Restaurant personnel are very pleasant and friendly.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

The best part of the beach is right in front of this hotel, but hotel is old, breakfast is bad, rooms are big but very basic. Location was great on one hand because it was right on the beach, and the best bars were there, and the bad on the other, because those bars are so noisy, you feel that you sleep right in the middle of one big party!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I stayed 4 days at Portobelo Plaza, and I don´t recommend it.
Despite the good location, the hotel is inadequate in terms of good reception.
Imagine that you cannot serve your breakfast and you can eat only one bread, or one fruit. When I complain, the person who serves said: you pay for one breakfast.
The control of the air is done in the reception, and 2 temperatures: COLD OR TURN OFF.
The hotel has no hot bath, our room had no windows that could be open, and also without curtains that darken the room.
I went to Bogota, Cartagena and San Andres. All reservations were made in the internet, and only the owner of this hotel required payment antecipated. This must be the reason, because certainly I would have been just one day.
Do not go to this place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

The owner refused to refund the remaining days of my stay (I checked out early - after staying 4 nights) due to Hurricane Ida. Terrible attitude from the owner.

DO NOT RECOMMEND

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I had a great time! Portobelo is a small nice hotel at the beach, clean, with comfortable beds, air condition + fan, good food (I loved the fish !!) nice people, fast internet (WiFi) and laundry service.
At the beach, in front of the hotel you have other nice people, who rent chairs & sell small little things to eat and drinks. Only some steps and you are in the city center.
Lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Enjoy your shopping !!!
I made an Island tour and got hundreds of nice photos, met lots for friendly people.You can do a lot of different kind of watersports, so I made a mini-diving course at Karibik Diver and hope to get back under water next time. I am sure, I will be back to "my" small little paradise in the Caribbean Sea soooooon :-)))

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bogota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

Portobelo is great. Not just the location (right in front of the beach), but also the price. The best part is the staff, who are extremely friendly. An additional plus is the free wireless internet, which--despite what the SanAndres scuba diver said--works wonderfully. You'll find that it's much, much faster than any internet cafe on the island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portobelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobelo

Address: Av. Colombia No.4 A-69, San Andres Island SAI, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Portobelo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello - at the best beach of San Andres. 10 minutes from the airport, 2 blocks to the center. Nice restaurants nearby, supermarket round the corner. Clean rooms with air-condition, fan, mini-bar, cable-TV, telephone, optional ocean-view, laundry-service available. Spacious bathrooms with hot-water-shower. Reception, with alarm, 24h occupied, tour bookings, safe available. Enjoy your vacation at the Portobello Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portobelo San Andres Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.