We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny Cay

Johnny Cay
San Andres Island, Colombia
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

It's a little cay full of coconut trees and good shadow to avoid the sun. The sea colors are unbelievable! Many blues and greens, as they call "El mar the 7 colores", It's very true!
They have a restaurant where you can have lunch and they have a cocada ( a desert made of coconut and natural sugar cane) which was the best one I ever ate! You MUST try it!!!
It's better if you go there only in a day ( many boats go first at the Aquarium) to enjoy this beautiful place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,496
    907
    349
    65
    28
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was a fun time but too full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the view but the island was too full you couldn't even get a place to sit on the beach we ended up walking to the other side were its more quiet but you can't get in the ocean on the other side because of the corals

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“too full, tourist ripoff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Way too many people there, couldn't eat the food they served us (disgusting) and after staying on the Aquarium Island (even bigger tourist ripoff) for way too long we only had less than an hour left to be on the super crowded beach. My advice: get a scooter and explore the beaches in the south of the Island (e.g. San Luis)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloeil, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A visit to Johnny Cay Island and the Coral Reef Barrier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We liked the experience of snorkling and abserving the coral barrier on a small island near Johnny cay ,But I found the place very crowded with people...not alot of area to sun bath or relax.
After the same boat (20 mins ride) we arrived at Johnny Cay ,but there again alot of boats arrived at the same time ,we were hussled off and escorded to a eating area which was pretty random (I felt overwelmed to eat , run and to visit the Eco area of the Island in a short period of time (as an extra $ 4.00 fee for the Eco Park was a surprise).Be prepared to get in and out of the boat quickly !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobden, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

What a beach and view this is... Enjoy the very best sand and beach in the area... Swim, walk and admire the scenery... Well worth it... bring a bottle water here cause its HOT HOT HOT!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Cay also viewed

San Andres Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
San Andres Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 
San Andres Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
San Andres Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 

Been to Johnny Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny Cay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.