We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience!!! Undoubtedly the best hotel in the island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deep Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deep Blue to your Saves list
Deep Blue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahia Maracaibo, Providencia Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Superb Experience!!! Undoubtedly the best hotel in the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Pros:
- Great sea deck.
- Great views.
- Great service.
- Most employees were extremely professional and nice to us.
- Great room.
- Nice shower.
- Great bed which provides a good sleep quality.
- They offer free kayks which you can use to go to Crab Cay.
- Food at the restaurant, including breakfast, was really good.

Cons:
- Price is a little bit high.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    23
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
67
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Deep Blue and were absolutely blown away. By far the best place we have every stayed in Colombia. Great service from reception staff (not so much in the restaurant), excellent views and romantic atmosphere. We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite and it was awesome, even though the Jacuzzi ended up being a little too cold for us to handle. We had the romantic chef's dinner at the end of the pier and it was really nice. Delicious. We also rented kayaks to go to Crab Cay (spectacular half day trip). Unfortunately it was a little pricey to stay for an entire week so we had to go somewhere else. Definitely an unforgettable night though. Highly recommend for special occasions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buzios, RJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Arriving to Old Providence and Deep Blue after two days on San Andrés was like arriving in heaven. Please do not consider staying more than it's necessary on San Andrés. Old Providence is the place to be if you want a REAL caribbean island. The welcoming was very friendly and there were no problem for us to have our breakfast when we arrived (early in the morning) instead of the day of departure (also very early). The breakfast is good. I miss good bread, some ham & chees, but on the other hand they offered pancakes, french toast, eggs benedict etc. The jucies and the coffee was lovely!

The room was great. We had a balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean. The rooms very clean, well decorated and the bed comfortable. The shower needs an insepction :) The water comes from everywhere. The view is amazing, but the hotel is a little bit off from everything else. For example to get somthing to eat you have to get a taxi for at least 10 minutes by (20 000 pesos).

One thing that the hotel has to figure out a better way to handle is the excursions with boats for snorkeling etc. EVERY day there were a lot of different guys coming up (even when you had breakfast) and offering these trips. You had no idea if they were connected to the hotel or not. We ended up booking one guy. The same day that we agreed the "boss" of the excursions came up to us and ONCE again started to tell us that we should tell him if we wanted to go on the boat trip the day after. We told him that we already made a reservation. "Oh, not with us, why not?....Ohhh....I would not go with him...etc". This is extremly unprofessional. It's totally up to us who we want to go with. It got even worse the next morning when we were going. Another guy came up to me and said that my husband promised someone else (connected to the hotel). In a rude way and in front our guide. It made me feel very uncomfortable and we told the managment that it's very hard to know who is who, and even if we knew we have to be able to decide for ourselves. A hotel like this should not be "pushy" in this way in our oppinion.


About the restaurant - This is not a part of our valuation for the hotel, because we don't think that's fair. We would give the restaurant 2/5. The prices are very high and the standard of the food is not good. For example, when a main ingredience is not present in the dish you need to get that information before you order (pasta with tomato sause without basil is not quite the same as with basil). The service at night was not very good. BUT the lobster that our guide got us on the boat trip they prepared very well.

It total we loved our stay, except from the part with the nagging and bad handeling concerning the excursions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBlueBlue, Owner at Deep Blue, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extensive feedback with us via both Tripadvisor and email. We were pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. Most international visitors to Providencia Island would very much agree with your recommendation to skip San Andres and come straight to Providence Island.

Apologies for the confusion & inconveniences with regards to the boat excursions offered. A few local people offer our guests boat excursions by touting for business in the public spaces in front of the hotel. None of them are employed by us and we have no control over the quality of their services. Many of our guests have had great experiences with such service providers, however some have not (eg. review from Tripadvisor reviewer limburg353, from February 2013). For this reason, we do encourage our guests to reserve excursions via our uniformed staff, or via the Reception, to ensure the best possible experience.

I am sorry for any shortcomings in the restaurant - the chef is aware of your comments, which have been taken into consideration during the recent re-design of our menu.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your opinions on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The accommodation, view and restaurant are indisputably the best in the island! We had a wonderful stay there during our honeymoon. Definitely recommend the full-day boat trip to see the island. Only downsides were (i) lack of access to a sandy beach - so make sure you have booked and confirmed some transportation (scooter or mule is best) and (ii) re-confirm all your bookings and concierge requests with the front desk when you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Yes It is the best option in Providencia!
Yes it has the best Views.
Yest the Staff is very Helpful.
But it too expensive for what you get, for 300 USD things that are unacceptable are stains in the towels, the mattress in the sun beds have holes in the fabric, just to name a few!

Apart from that I can tell you that the Bedrooms are very nice, the view it's incredible If you want to spend time on the beach, tha hotel is a bit far from them so you better rent a scooter or a Mule or take advantage from their free shuttle.

I can recommend it if you have the money and are willing to forgive some problems!

Room Tip: The higher you get The better the View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBlueBlue, Owner at Deep Blue, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review!

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and pleased to note how much you liked the bedrooms, the views and the staff.

Our best views are from our Luxury Suites and the Jacuzzi Suite which you rightly point out are the highest rooms.

Apologies for the imperfections experienced during your stay - your comments will be shared with the housekeeping staff.

Kind regards,

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

A really good hotel and the best in Providencia.

As every place here, suffers from the typical lack of supplies to serve everything they offer, so depending on the day, some part of the menu will be unavailable.

It is a bit pricy, but it is mostly because everything in Providencia is.

Overall a great place. Whenever I'm back to Providencia, I'll stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

It's a magical hotel in the bay front of providencia. Bedrooms are very nice, the view it's incredible and the rate it's ok for excellent service. Hotel employees will help you with everything you could possible need because Deep Blue is far from hotels areas and beaches. Food could be better but it's fine!!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue

Address: Bahia Maracaibo, Providencia Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Providencia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deep Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique luxury hotel found on the edge of the McBean Lagoon National Park on Providencia Island in Colombia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Deep Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deep Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.