We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada del Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Providencia Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Posada del Mar
Save
You added Posada del Mar to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Providencia, Providencia Island, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Returned here 5 years after my first stay and still love it. Great place with spacious, clean rooms and very friendly staff. When I return to Providencia again, I will be staying here again!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Providencia Island is simple, roots and wonderful! I spent only two days there but should be spent at least two days more. I searched a lot to find this hotel but was worthwhile. This is simple and basic but even that clean and cozy. The sea in front of the hotel seems more like a pool. And there are chairs over grass instead of sand.

Room Tip: Try to find one in the second floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What makes this hotel excellent is the friendly service, relaxing atmosphere and location. Within minutes walk there are a few restaurants (restaurants are rare on the island), a scuba diving centre, moped and buggy rental. Hotel provided excellent tailored tours (thanks to Winston), who took us on day snorkelling trip around the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winstoninprovidence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
good morning

we are soo glad to know that you past a good time at providence island and at posada del mar hotel also.

thank you a lot for your good comments and hope to see you back around some day to take you snorkeling at the reef one more time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went there for our honeymoon in Janueary 2012. The hotel is nice, clean and you can fall asleep by the sound of the waves...very quiet and nice to relax and rest, the people are great, the food for breakfast was nice.
Do not expect the resort or posh hotels you find in San Andres, Providencia is a different place, but this hotel has the minimum to rest, sleep and have a good time in the island.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are nice, quiter, get one closer to the reception are which have best looks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winstoninprovidence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
good morning

very happy to know that you past a good time with us here at posada del mar hotel and in Providence island.

thank you very much for your good comments.

hope to see you around sometime again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed at the Posada Del Mar hotel in August and September of 2011. The group was my father and stepmother, my wife and myself staying in two rooms. The hotel is right on the ocean but does not have a beach. There is a small pier that you can use to get into the water if you like. The rooms are not large but clean. There is limited hot water from black tubs on the roof. It was not a big problem since it is very warm all the time and a cool shower is what you want. There is a very nice pool which I believe is one of the few on the island. We had some nice afternoons floating around the pool with a cold drink. The staff was always friendly and helped us with a couple of issues we had during our trip. Leave your passport and extra money with the front desk (they tape it in an envelope and put it in a safe in the owners house on the property).There is a breakfast served every morning in the restaurant with fresh juices, cereal and egg dishes but no lunch or dinner. The food was good and we enjoyed meeting the other guests and going over our plans for the day and reviewing what we had done previously. The island is only about two miles by four miles so no matter where you stay everything is fairly close. If you go out to the street ther is a bus (Chiva Bus) that goes counter clockwise around the island most days about every hour, it is a great way to get a tour around the island. You can also flag down almost any pickup truck or motorcycle and get a ride for a reasonable fee. The lobby can fill you in on the current prices and schedules. Overall we liked this hotel better than any of the others that we visited on this trip. They are part of the Decameron group but we booked the hotel directly after we arrived on the island and were not satisfied with the arrangements we had made. Overall we had a fantastic time on this trip and we are definitely coming back and will stay at the Posada Del Mar when we do.

Room Tip: It is two stories with all of the rooms facing the ocean, the ground floor has access to tables on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winstoninprovidence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
good morming

very happy to know that you past a good time in Old Providence Island and also happy that you were satisfied with the service that you recieved in Posada del Mar hotel.

thank you very much for your good comments and hope to see you very soon around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

No frills but nice. One of the best vacations i've ever had. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. The water was nice for snorkeling and finding Estrella agua. Rent a scooter and see all you can on Providencia.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winstoninprovidence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
good morning

so happy to know that you past a good time here

thank you for your good comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Colombia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I've visited Providence a couple of times and Posada del Mar clearly beats the other lodging options. The views you get of the island's sunsets are unbeatable, from any of the rooms! The rooms are spacious enough and the pool is also great, specially if you get tired of the ocean. There's no beach at the hotel, but that's mostly what you'll find allover Providence. the best beaches are at South West beach, which is a couple miles away from most hotels, but this island's more about the ocean (diving or sorkling) than just sun bathing.

My cousin and I got a room in the second floor (only two story high cabins available) and it was almost impossible for me to not lay on the balcony's hammock for a couple hours every sunset, after a good day's dive... just too relaxing and beautiful!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winstoninprovidence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Posada del Mar, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
good mornind

i´m so happy to know that you had a good time at providence island and you were confortable at Posada del mar hotel.

Thank you very much for your good comments.

Hope to see you around sometime again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Mar

Address: Providencia, Providencia Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Providencia Island
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Hotel Providencia Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.