We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asbury Park
Asbury Park, New Jersey
1 review
“Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently decided upon the Berkeley Hotel to host our company holiday party. It was without a doubt the best decision we made! Ryan Furio, the Catering Sales Manager was a delight to work with as were Katrina and Alissa from Falco's catering company, the Berkeley's preferred caterers. From the venue tour and explanation of options and pricing to the menu options and set-up and service, everything was seamless. Nothing was too much trouble and everything was carried out with ultimate professionalism. The hotel style is a balance of modern-boutique and classic-elegance, perfect for any occasion. I would highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello "Emma"!

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor following your private event and stay with us.
It was a pleasure working with you and we hope to see you again soon! Please let us know
if there is anything we can do for you throughout the year.

Have a wonderful holiday and an excellent New Year's!

Warmly,

Ryan Furio, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    246
    221
    161
    168
See reviews for
242
333
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff at the Berkeley is the best I have ever had to deal with. They are so amazing. The hotel and location are perfect for a shore excursion. The beds are excellent and the bathrooms are enormous. I will certainly be back.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello "SkippySnippy"!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We appreciate hearing the positive comments on the room size and accomodations. It also is very nice to hear our staff showed sincere hospitality during your stay with us. This will be shared with our hotel professionals at the Berkeley Hotel. We hope you return soon and share your feedback with others about your experience at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. Have a wonderful holiday and an excellent New Year's!

Warmly,

Ryan Furio, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Shameful comes to mind when I think of one word to describe The Berkeley. The windows didn't open, the air conditioning didn't work, and my wife was stuck in the elevator for 20 minutes. The restaurant had just closed down or gone out of business -- nothing close by for breakfast. It was being in that movie "The Shining." The outside looks like an old mental hospital. There's no security at night and during the offseason, the girl at the front desk is the only one who seems to be around. There's no doorman or bellhop at night -- creepy and dangerous. Moronic staff. What a shame -- Asbury Park is such a great town, and the Berkeley is such a disgrace.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello "Cliff G"! Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We value all feedback as an opportunity to grow. I do see that you stayed with us in April and I apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during that time. I do wish you would have reached out during your stay as there is little we can do to follow up with these concerns 8 months after your stay. Our windows throughout the hotel do not open as it is a safety measure. I can assure you that our seasoned Engineering staff has avidly kept on top of any reported issues in guest rooms and throughout the hotel. We are sorry about your wife's experience being stuck in the elevator and understand that there is no excuse for that occurrence. Our restaurant does indeed close in the off season, opening as a bar occasionally based on local events. I understand this presents an inconvenience but there are plenty of places within walking distance (and that deliver) to fulfill the breakfast, lunch and dinner needs of all our guests. We are a historical hotel, built in the 1920s, and in order to preserve the history, we have not and will not alter the look of the exterior of the building. We are proud to be a historic landmark alongside the Convention Center. We do have overnight security patrol the premises on a nightly basis to ensure the safety of our guests. Although we do not offer a bellman or doorman during the later hours, there is always an employee available to assist our guests. I do hope that you reach out to me if you have any other questions or concerns.

Andrea Rivero
Front Office Supervisor
arivero@berkeleyhotelnj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great venue,food good, quiet, great location. Staff was helpful. Broken strap on dresser should have been fixed.rm where wedding was held was really cold even with people dancing ,jackets on ,wraps.....older people were really cold. Would recommend the Berkeley but would question the heat situation.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Tripadvisor member!

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We applogize that there was faulty piece of furniture in the room that you stayed. Yes it should have been fixed prior to your arrival. Glad you were able to enjoy our venue for a private function. We will address the heat issues within the banquet space. There were several events happening that day and we needed to keep the rooms cool. However it shouldn't be to the point where guests were wearing jackets. There is plenty of heat in our hotel for sure. We will do a better job in managing the temperature in our ballrooms so that everyone is comfortable.

We look forward to your return to the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel soon!

Sincerely Yours,

Ryan Furio, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

New name new ownership, this hotel has made great strides since the times I stayed there in the 80's and 90's Recent stays have been great. Staff is friendly and courteous. Parking is hit or miss depending on what's going on that day. During latest stay, parking passes were available, but during our previous stay, back in September, they were all spoken for. Of course that might of had something to do with the three wedding receptions going on that weekend. Curious as to why the name change.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello "WilliambR8899"!

Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We thank you for your loyalty for staying with us through the years. I am sure you have seen alot of changes in renovations and improvements to the hotel as a whole. We still have more to go to improve our overall guest experience. Ownership changed the name along with its logo as a new image to the public. Yes parking can be a little bit of a challenge depending on whats going on in the hotel in our private event space. We are working on adding spaces by working with the township.

Once again we appreciate the positive feedback and it will be shared with the staff here at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel.

We are looking forward to your return again here at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Ryan Furio, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall we were very pleased with the Berkley. We were looking for a venue that would accommodate a wedding reception, hotel and after party, which the Berkley fulfilled all 3. Yes, the furnishings look a little tired and the finishes could have been of a higher quality but the rooms were clean and the hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello "LCapestro"!

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We are happy the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel fit your needs for the beautiful wedding reception. Its nice to hear that our staff showed sincere hospitality during your stay with us. Sorry to hear that our furnishings didn't meet up to your standard. We feel the decor does match our 1920's boutique hotel.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate all feed back at the Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Respectfully,

Ryan Furio, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed, Poor security. Single door to adjacent occupied room unlocked. (Should be two double doors, one on each side to insure the safety and privacy of both rooms & guests) Furniture,Fixtures,Windows, Room and decore outdated and in state of disrepair. Metered parking or valet...Paid extra for valet parking. $10.00 plus tips. Sat on our luggage while attendant took over 35 minutes to retrieve our car. Then staff took away the complimentary coffee which was in the lobby from guests who were also waiting over 30 minutes for their vehicles. When we complained they took the coffee anyway. At $205.00 a night we would not recommend or stay at the Berkeley again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyHotel, Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello "michaelgD5471GG"! Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your stay with us. We value all feedback as an opportunity to grow. I will surely address your security concerns with our engineering staff as well as your comments on the furniture, fixtures and windows. I do apologize for the delay in your valet service as well. At check-out the valet service reaches peak demand and therefore guests may experience longer wait times. I will address this with the valet manager in an effort to cut down on these wait times. Coffee service is offered from 7 AM to 11 AM every morning in the front lobby. I do apologize for the abruptness of its removal but please be assured that it was not in response to your complaint. Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any questions, comments or concerns.

Andrea Rivero
Front Office Supervisor
arivero@berkeleyhotelnj.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.