We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AP weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AP weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great location at an affordable price. Have stayed at this hotel many times. It's comfortable and convenient. This last time we stayed we were disappointed that the hotel restaurant, The Dauphin Grille has been closed but it's still a good value overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Kimberly C: Thank you for being loyal guest to our Hotel and preferred choice of Hotel in Asbury Park. We are confident that we offer the best choice of hotel in Asbury Park. I also thank you for your comment about the perfect location of the hotel. We are on the midst of determining new restaurant operator to service our guest's food and beverage needs. I invite you to please consider staying with us again and again. You can also call or email me to make your reservation at cerenler@berkeleyhotelnj.com, Cem Erenler, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    273
    237
    168
    170
See reviews for
260
359
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brielle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I hope they get a restaurant or open one in summer. Otherwise, it is a neat stay in the iconic location of the Jersey shore. If you love the Jersey shore and want to enjoy the history of the Jersey Shore in a comfortable stay with a beautiful ocean view, this is your spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Dennis C! Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel. I can assure you that there will be a restaurant and exciting food and beverage offerings to our guests at our restaurant/Lounge & bar as well as by outdoor pool area. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the rich history of Asbury Park and beautiful Jersey Shore and The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel is the venue you chose to stay. We hope to have you back with us soon! Yours sincerely, Cem Erenler, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

While the view was awesome, the amenities were not available. The on-site restaurant was closed and there was no WI-FI for the month. These are both things that should have been told to me @ reservatio

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Horrible stay, would not recommend it. Thin walls, other guests very disruptive and there was constant fighting in our hallway. It reminded me of a dorm more than a hotel. Mini-fridge was broken and spoiled our baby's milk. Numerous calls to security had to be placed and we got no sleep. Won't be going back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHIP BOTTOM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Snowing, and your parking lot was full. We were told to park "somewhere" on the street. Parked 2 blocks away. Did I mention it was snowing!!? One front desk person on duty; she did her best, but it took awhile. Finally, got up to the room, and it had not been cleaned from previous occupants. We had to go BACK to the front desk for a new room. Not a classy place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for New Years Eve, and was dissapointed. First of all, it was SUPER expensive, and I just didn't feel like our money met our standards. They had no WOW factor. The bathtub as gross, and rooms were small. This place is nothing to brag out. Only good thing really was their location cause we walked to our restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Great location to Light of Day event! Bathtub was dirty and tub filled up when showering, yikes! Expensive for just a room! Not even free internet. Too bad. Machine in hallway out of water, tv did not work correctly!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and HostelBookers so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.