We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!! Go anywhere else!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asbury Park
Newton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible!!! Go anywhere else!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Poor customer service! They charge for EVERTHING, even if it is a problem due to their error. Fees to park each day. No beach tags provided. Multiple calls made to address a problem, yet no one bothered to return the call and follow up. Snippy staff. This place is not worth the price, nor the hassle. We won't be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good Afternoon MCH106,

Thank you for your feedback and please accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations during your recent experience with us. Excellent customer service is critical to our success and while we understand that everything may not always be perfect with a hotel experience, the very least we can provide is polite, professional and courteous service and do our very best to resolve any and all challenges.

I would be happy to hear more about the something we charged you for that was our error. If you would be so kind to email me at jsinclair@amsterdamhospitality.com, I would appreciate it and resolve it.

In light of your unfortunate stay, we do hope that The Berkeley may get a 2nd chance during your future trips to Asbury Park. If that chance comes to fruition, I am confident your experience will be much different.

Kind Regards,

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    247
    221
    162
    168
See reviews for
242
334
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a family get together and had 4 rooms booked. Our room didn't have any hot water or water pressure in the shower. Maintence came to check out the problem and told us the water heater was old and there wasn't anything he could do. We checked out of our room and stayed with our daughters. We found that the safe in the room was unusable and left in the closet from the previous owner of the hotel. On Saturday our room hadn't beeen cleaned at 4:00pm so they sent someone to do the job. My husband was in the room and observed they didn't vacuum or clean the bathroom. Daily we cleaned up dead bugs on the window sill. One of the window panes on the door leading out to the pool was also cracked. For $300.00 plus per night we were expecting clean and comfortable. We were very disappointed and I would not recommend this hotel or ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good Afternoon Phyllis B,

Your feedback is well-received and clearly we have some significant follow-up to do to improve our guest experience on a consistent basis. Please accept our apology for the lack of hot water and pressure. Rest assure, this was an isolated incident.

On weekends, we do service guest rooms between 9:00am and 5:00pm, so it is not uncommon to be cleaning guestrooms as late as 5:00pm. We do apologize this conflicted with your schedule. I would recommend in the future that you contact the housekeeping department if you have a preferred time of service.

Overall, it is very clear that we failed to meet and/or exceed your expectations and on behalf of the entire hotel, please accept our apology. Exceeding expectations is our ultimate goal as we understand that this creates guest loyalty. In light of your unfortunate experience, we do hope that we receive the opportunity to welcome you back to The Berkeley.

Wishing you all the best,

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren, nj
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Berkekey to celebrate his birthday and our 40th anniversary. We do this every year and have seen much improvement over the past few years. It is not a Four Seasons but a great hotel in a perfect location to enjoy all that Asbury Park has to offer. It is within walking distance to wonderful beaches, restaurants, antique shops and of course the Stone Pony and Wonder Bar. We park our car (10$ a day on the street in front of the hotel) and do not move it until we leave. The front desk staff was pleasant and very helpful. Our room was clean (a few bugs on the windowsill) and comfortable. It was a bit noisy because it was a suite and all suites are directly across from the elevators. We knew this when we booked so there were no surprises. The water pressure in the shower did fluctuate and there were extension cords running along the floor which could be a tripping hazard. We were disappointed that the pool no longer serves food and we had to go inside on a beautiful day for lunch, although the bartender at the restaurant on Saturday afternoon was wonderful. They do have towels at the pool now but should have better security. It seems that many people come in off the street to use the pool and are not hotel guests. All in all, it was a fun weekend (some things you just have to laugh at!) and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: All suites are across from elevators and can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Good Afternoon momme425,

Thnak you for your great feedback! While we reocgnize that we are not a Four Seasons, we do our best day in and day out to meet and hopefully exceed the expectations of our guests. We're so glad to hear that you had a great time celebrtating your special occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Berkeley when your travels bring you back to Asbury Park.

Wishing you all the best,

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I should have read the reviews before we spent $225 a night! Hotel was dirty, staff was unprofessional (the parking attendants smoked as they were waiting to pick up your cars). Not to mention when we brought the car back, several times, the valet told us there wasn't enough room in the lot for our cars!! Did I mention the neighborhood was terrible? Walking distance to nothing! The pool is unsecure so whoever wants to go there can, nobody is checking! Lobby, hotel rooms, elevators, hallways all completely filthy!!! Dogs barking, kids completely intoxicated roaming the halls, not what I expect for $225 per night. It should be noted that I have never written a review in my life, but my experience was so bad that I felt compelled to share so that others didn't waste their money like I wasted mine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Kelley H,

Please accept our sincere apology for your very poor experience. I will certainly be following up with our parking department about their unacceptable behavior. We clearly should be demonstrating a much more professional image in our environment.

Summer weekends at The Berkeley certainly do get very busy and with the colume of people we do have on property, we do our best to maintain cleanliness standards. We apologize that this fell far below your expectations as well.

Our goal is to provide a high level of service to all of our guests, and although this clearly was not acheived with your experience, we do hope that you do give us another opportunity to demonstrate what we're capable of.

Kind Regards,

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

i pulled up on Sunday around 3:30 and thought i was valeting my car. I was told if i was not going to the wedding they were not valeting. I have an toddler (which means i come with a lot of stuff) so i unpacked and tried to check in. the line was out the door. Apparently there was a wedding the night before and people did not check out on time, which meant that housekeeping was delayed and rooms were not ready at 3:45 when i arrived. there was another wedding so obviously this did not go over well with many guests who needed to get ready. Lady that checked me in was very pleasent and was able to give me a room (not the room i reserved, but still a room since i had unpacked my car). i was then told parking was full so i would have to try find street parking. well, i drove around for about 1/2 hour before i finally found a spot (there was a show at the Sone Pony). i then went back and asked when parking would be availbe and was told by manger he can park the car now. I told him i was going to dinner and if he can guarantee a spot i would come back later. I came back after dinner and got someone else who told me that he could not give me a spot because there was a accident in the parking lot!!! i have to say the staff for the most part under the circumstances were very nice, after all it was not their fault. Oh, one last thing was the shower - it was horrible - it went from full power to a drip, then it would go back to full power then back to a drip. I would probably return to give it another try, but would expect it to be a lot better if there was no wedding. Oh, breakfast is not serve on Monday so you have to travel a few miles to eat so bring snacks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good Afternoon ghughes75,

Please accept our sincere apology for falling considerably below your expectations. Unfortunately, operational challenges are presented to us from time to time and the guest experience can be impacted. We do not wish upon any guest to wait in line to check in, not able to park etc.. but there are circumstances that are somewhat out of our control.

As it relates to the shower pressure in your guest room, that is completely unacceptable and again, I apologize for that.

WIth mixed feelings, I am glad to hear that the associates you interacted with were nice and professional. We are glad that you will return to The Berkeley during your next trip to Asbury Park and until then; we look forward to your arrival!

All the best.

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has the worst staff.Very very unprofessional,don't understand what customer service is,don't know how to speak to their guests.They start to knock on doors at 930 AM.Room was poor,pillows,mattresses were horrible could not sleep for one full hour.Shower was dirty,grout was dirty.While we checked out at 11AM,my family asked the manager to give us a little time to take care of my daughter who was sick over night and throwing up,but the manager said more than one time that he does not care and if we don't leave the room,we will be charged for the full day and they did.My daughter is 12 years old and that was the worst experience. There was no security at the front or back doors.Anyone could come in not knowing whether he or she was a guest.we were about 15 families and have kids and teens. Not to mention people smoke weed all over the hotel, throwing up in bathrooms.Bottles of beer,wine were everywhere.You'll be making a huge mistake if you plan to go near there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Berkley for one night to see a show at stone pony. Great rooms. Very clean. Right on boardwalk. Convenient to all. Good for families or couples. front desk was great. Walking distance to all. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Good Afternoon StacyAnn401,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience at The Berkeley! We appreciate you posting this great review and we hope we have another opportunity to welcome you to The Berkeley!

Wishing you all the best,

John Sinclair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.