We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least the zombie blood wasn't real blood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel to your Saves list
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“At least the zombie blood wasn't real blood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'm struggling on what rating to give this hotel - so I'm going to say it's a 3.5 rounded up to a 4, generously.
Now, I've stayed at some BAD Jersey hotels. By comparison, the Berkeley Oceanfront was great - and there are a lot of good things about it. But considering the type of hotel it wants to be, it's still got some work to do.

PROS:
· The location is great.
· The recent renovations are contemporary and tasteful.
· Our room, with two double beds, was large and well-appointed. I don't usually expect a full-size couch in a room that size, it was a nice addition.
· Duvets instead of bedspreads, and overall very nice linens.
· Complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning.

CONS:
· Not free wifi. I can consider it a business expense, but most people staying at this hotel are probably not there for business.
· Parking. On the street or $20. We parked on the street, but folks should be aware of this beforehand.
· No AAA or AARP discounts. Seriously?

This is the sort of hotel I want to stay in - generally affordable boutique feel that feels customized and unique. It's also the sort of place that is putting Asbury Park back on the map. For the most part, the Berkeley Oceanfront delivers. But for example, the bathroom showed kind of shoddy workmanship - sloppy groutwork, seemed designed by a contractor more than a designer. In New Jersey, with contractors all over the place, there's no excuse for something to not look like total luxury. And the zombie blood - we stayed the week after the Zombie Walk, and there was what I can only hope was zombie blood on the bedstand and couch. Did housekeeping not notice? In a mostly empty hotel, why were we put into this room? It would've been nice to have a bit of a better room anyway, because we were facing away from the beach, and I think we could've been put in one facing the ocean even though we didn't reserve it.

Overall, I'd stay here again, though probably not at high season prices.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get something facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    273
    237
    168
    170
See reviews for
260
359
47
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Archers Lodge, NC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I don't have time to nit pick. So U will need to trust me on this one. The hotel has a great location and setting. The rooms, furnishings, baths, HVAC, hallways, & elevators all need to be gutted & updated. Parking is limited to a very small gravel lot. All other parking in the city is electronic meter . ( only free midnight to 9:00am at $1 hour. seven days a week) The police are like hawks our wedding party got many tickets. The guest had to park on the street because of the small hotel parking lot. We were there 2 days. This hotel is over priced the rooms are old & out dated & parking is a nightmare .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I live locally and have always wanted to stay at the Berkeley because I love hanging out in Asbury Park. I made a last minute reservation for a wedding and unfortunately we were probably given the last room in the hotel. It overlooked a parking lot and the air conditioner for the whole hotel which hummed all night. It was not relaxing at all. For $170 a night in the fall, my sister payed the same price and had an ocean view.

Also, there was no hot water in the middle of the night and the front desk was very rude when I asked about getting hot water. Just wanted to take a shower, but the front desk seemed appalled that I would suggest that.

It is probably a great hotel, but if you are imagining waking up in a quiet room to a beautiful ocean view just make sure you know what room you are getting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I understand they renovated an old buildnig, but finish work is lacking, its like they slapped up some paint, cool furniture, nice wallpaper but once they got to a certain point they stopped.
For the qulaity of the rooms, I feel the room rates are high considering what you get!
Not to mention the worst part is the walls are paper thin and when people were talking in the hallway we felt like they were in the room with us. Glass shower door is odd? 1 out of 3 elevators was not working during our stay which was a bit annoying. No customer service "warm and fuzzy welcome to our hotel" script was said at check in at all. I'm big on customer service so this irked me.
They are one of the only hotels in town so they do have the market cornered in that aspect. You can't beat the location. Walking distance to the beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view without aying for the 20.00 upgrade. Also ( and obviously) away from elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there for three nights and £200 Oakley sunglasses disappeared from the room whilst we were out- made for an expensive few nights. Might have been okay if not for the theft- location is right by the ocean and boardwalk- would not choose it by choice had been booked in as a larger group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked one king room off season and it was very reasonably priced and conveniently located. Our room an excellent ocean view. One problem - the hallway and our room reaked of cigarette smoke (this is a non-smoking hotel), but the front desk changed us to the same room on a different floor no problem. This a boutique hotel with mid-century decor, and it is very "Jersey Shore" in a good way. There is valet parking for $20/night, but we used the muni meter in front. It is close to the boardwalk with bars and restaurants, and the hotel restaurant has a very nice bar. (We had an after dinner drink only, so not sure about the food/service.) My only complaint would be that the plumbing was very sloooow in both the sink and shower, and the water took forever to go down. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The best way to describe this property is just as the title suggests. If you HAVE to stay in Asbury Park as we did it's not an awful choice but it is "Lipstick on a Pig". Looks pretty at first but not when you look close. No breakfast available M-F, only a hot weekend buffet that's cold for $15. We drove to Frank's for breakfast every day. There was no hot water for 24 hrs one day with no explanation. We had a bargain price because of a connection and it was worth exactly what we paid. Lots of things wrong with the room and updated features were strange and not well thought out. Heat lamp in bathroom was just an ordinary bulb. Shallow modern sink splashes water on everything around it. Bathroom had mildew and was not clean. Doors to rooms are hollow and hallways are narrow and noisy, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
BY THE WAY - Do not leave anything of value out in the room. Keep your luggage locked as we were TWICE let into our rooms when our key didn't work by staff who never confirmed that we were guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and HostelBookers so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.