We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A turn around in the making” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Asbury Park Boardwalk

Asbury Park Boardwalk
Asbury Park, NJ
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Asbury Park
Attraction details
New York City
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A turn around in the making”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well, it's taken many, many years, but you can see a big difference in the atmosphere. Now there's a new boardwalk & beach replenishment, plus the preservation of several of historic buildings. A few shops, bars & eateries opened, even a couple of upscale restaurants. There's certainly more pedestrian traffic on the boardwalk than just a few years & some positive energy for a change. Used to look like a bombed-out & eerily empty place. The Empress & Bekeley hotels offer good, renovated accommodations with outdoor pools (but I can't say they are for everyone -read the Tripadvisor reviews) across the street from the boardwalk.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    111
    49
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Asbury's Rising Up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I've been going to Asbury Park for over 25 years, so I've seen it through many stages - from run down to revitalized, and it still remains my favorite city by the sea. The one thing that never changed was it's rich musical history that Asbury built it's name on. Stroll across the boardwalk and you can hear live music ringing from a number of places. Don't miss the legendary Stone Pony (go in and see where Bruce Springsteen continues to play; it's still something to see), or catch a live show at the outdoor summer stage, visit the Wonder Bar, or the newer Beach Bar under the Convention Hall pavilion with its great vibe, or have a bite to eat while taking in an intimate show at McLoones, housed in the old Howard Johnsons. At the end of the boardwalk sits the beautiful historic cornerstones; Convention Hall and The Paramount Theater. There is plenty to do outside of the music and almost everything that was damaged in Hurricane Sandy is now restored and fully open for business. This is not a boardwalk as frenetic as Seaside or Point Pleasant, but it is bustling with activity, eclectic shops, and businesses. Families with younger kids will enjoy the splash park and anyone can take in a round of mini-golf. The Silverball Museum should not be missed. For $10, you can play hundreds of vintage and new pinball machines for hours. End your visit at one of the many excellent restaurants along the boardwalk (Langosta Lounge and Cubacan are 2 of my favorites) or visitors can also find walk- away food on the boardwalk; anything from Korean tacos, to sausage and peppers, and crepes made right in front of you. The unique and diverse vibe of the boardwalk is what makes it special, not to mention the award winning beach. I don't like saying this because I hate to share this little gem, but visit Asbury Park; you'll be surprisingly happy you did!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kew Gardens, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stronger than the storm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great time! Really enjoyed the water, the surf, and the food! I'm so happy Asbury Park is stronger than the storm. I look forward to hanging out and enjoying the beach. The only downside is the ATM fees...$4.50 hmmmm that's a little high don'tcha think?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun,Great Shops, Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Small boardwalk, a few bars and shops, you can walk around in one afternoon, you'll get board if you there a week if so them you should visit the city

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Just as we hoped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

In just 4 days we walked this so many times. It is the Land of Hope and Dreams as Mr springsteen says

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asbury Park Boardwalk also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Asbury Park Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asbury Park Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.