We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanic Inn

Oceanic Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asbury Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanic Inn
Save
You added Oceanic Inn to your Saves list
201 Sixth Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Vernon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean & close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Do NOT believe the bad reviews!! I am a single woman from Northern NJ. I was looking for a place close to the beach, safe, clean and reasonable~that's exactly what I got!! I stayed 3 nights & never had to move my car from their free parking lot because everything is within walking distance. Beach and boardwalk are only 1 block away. Owners are very nice people. Room & bed where quite nice. Matttress seemed almost new & was very comfy. Decor was updated. Nice flat screen TV and Wifi. Fridge and microwave are free perks. OK, the bathroom could use some updating & the hot water heater was far from my room, but it was clean. I would definitely return :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    7
    2
    8
See reviews for
1
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ledgewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My friends and I have stayed in this hotel a number of times for concerts at the Stone Pony and let me honestly tell you it is just a dump. The only reason we keep going back is because split for ways it is dirt cheap and we are fresh out of college. If you are going to take the plunge I recommend bringing sleeping bags, towels, shower sandles, a bottle of bleach and a power washer. Seriously the homeless people on the beach have a better night sleep then the patrons at this motel. It would be in your best interest to schedule a doctors appointment right after you get home from your stay at the Oceanic because there is a 90% chance you picked something up. Your best bet with this motel is to get your key, go straight to a bar, get real shimmed up and then go to your room so you do not have to see it with sober eyes.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We went to the Oceanic for Bamboozle and this was the closest and cheapest hotel available. We were kind of scared because of other reviews saying that there were bed bugs. I can assure you that we did not have this problem and slept just fine every night.
Great location.
Great Price
Nice & helpful staff.

The place is just a little bit run down(showing its age) but thats why the price is cheaper.

I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Oceanic was highly recommended to me by someone who had stayed there previously. I was there with a friend in late September. We had to wake the clerk...asked him to show us a room....when he turned on the lights BUGS started running all over the room...ROACHES....Big and lots of them. I told my friend to back out...we were only in the doorway thank goodness. The clerk then advised he could show us a room upstairs like the bugs would not crawl upstairs. It was filthy what I was able to see of the room before I literally jumped out of it. We left immediately and went to the Empress right on the Boardwalk. It was immaculate and we did not feel like we were putting the clerk out by checking in and there certainly were no bugs. If you do not like bugs do not go to the Oceanic. The clerk acted like so what.....

Room Tip: Do NOT choose any room if you are smart.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

If you believe one thing about the Oceanic - believe this! The place is as classic and as much of an Asbury staple as Tilly has become or the Stone Pony. The location is perfect, across the street from the Boardwalk and Convention Hall. There is no other Oceanic Inn! The owners are AMAZING and SUPER friendly and always on site. They've had the place at least 30 years, and have brought it back to glory. If your trash, find someplace else, but the Oceanic, hands down, is THE place in asbury to stay!

Room Tip: Second floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

ignore the rubbish about the oceanic being crap. i stayed ten nights and will stay again next mont. the room was great and having a fridge n microwave was awesome. the room n bathroom were clean n the bed comfy. the owner is a great bloke and offered to drive me to the station when i left,even had a couple of drinks with him on my last night. forget paying sky high prices n stay at the oceanic.

Room Tip: swimming pool n spa wernt open as i think it was out of season. but who needs them when the beach n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed at the Oceanic Inn for one nite just to check out Asbury Park. Arrived w/ no res on a Tues daytime. They had many rooms, and it was only 65/nite for one person, which was incredible. I had room 11 on the second floor.
Ok...you do have to check in thru a little window, and slide your credit card thru a slot, but the woman who checked me in was very friendly. Im sure this is just a safety precaution. The room was fine. Freshly painted. the bed was clean and comfortable, the cable TV had many channels, the bathroom was spotless and came w/ 2 little bars of soap (bring your own!). Also a microwave. Nearest store is about 6 blocks away. Note, no wifi.
I arrived on a bicycle from the NYC train, and the gentleman manager was quite concerned about its safety and offered to keep it inside for me (I just put it in the room)
All in all, this was a great find, and not expensive, one block from the boardwalk, safe, clean, and w/ friendly managers.
Divas, whiners and Real Housewives, please stay clear. it is what it is. If you are really fussy and call everything 'gross' because its not a Hyatt, then go pay 3 times the price down the road and spare us your neg reviews. But if you want a basic, clean, well-run motel room right by the ocean, then this is definitely the place to go to in Asbury Park.

Room Tip: Second floor is better, above the cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#3 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#1 of 5 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
5.4 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Inn

Address: 201 Sixth Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.