We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Empress Hotel to your Saves list
Empress Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just got back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just got back from a 3 day stay at the Empress. Hotel is reasonably priced and clean as well in a great location. We were 1st booked at the Berkeley then I changed it because they did not have any balconies.. And I was glad I did, the balcony is key especially since we had a great Boardwalk and Ocean Views. The hotel is clean and all employees were very nice. Just an FYI - The hotel has a large gay clientelle which seemed to like the pool area, but this did not bother us at all. Liked the place and will definitely return on our next visit back to Asbury as they were very clean and accomodating!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    74
    19
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
79
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Empress Hotel is very clean, comfortable amd a few steps above the rest in quality. It's quiet ( if you want it to be) or join the parties poolside or in the bar. The staff is sensational, always kind, patient and ready to help. We needed a referidgerator for medications and they supplied it for us.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed this past Saturday night at the Empress. This was my second visit. I just love love love this hotel. I had a spectacular room with a view. The staff is beyond helpful. And I sampled the coffee at the complimentary continental breakfast...delicious. I checked out the pool also. Very clean and larger than I had expected.

I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband & I Just drove to the shore & said we were going to Asbury Park this year. We went from the start of the boardwalk to what we called the end & the Empress was the only Hotel there. We were so impressed we just booked our stay. We found out later that is was mostly gay, and it was great. Everyone was so accomadating. I have never felt so at ease on a vacation before. They have everything you need all u have to do is ask for it. We realized that when we left. I would suggest this Hotel to anyone going to Asbury Park. We will be returning next summer. Thanks Guys for a Good Time!!! U really know how to PARTY!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor, and had a great view of the pool area. I would want the same room when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

When I started looking around for hotel accommodations in Asbury Park, my expectations were not high.
What I found however really grabbed my attention.
I found the Empress Hotel quite by accident and the rates were really reasonable so I booked it. I figured that we wouldn't be in the hotel that much since there is so much to do on the Jersey Shore. In short, I was expecting very medioce accommodations and figured I would just have to deal with it.
We were pleasantly surprised to find a very well located property with VERY clean rooms, super comfortable beds and a helpful and friendly staff...We even had a room with an ocean view!!!
Kristen, at the front desk, couldn't have been more outgoing and helpful. She truly possesses what any hotel property looks for in a customer service professional.
Even the lifeguard working at the pool was so very friendly and fun. The staff really helped to make our stay a complete pleasure.
So.... for going above and beyond the expectations of these travelers, I give the Empress Hotel high scores.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I debated with myself between 3 & 4 stars but the overall experience made me lean toward the better. Decided I needed a NJ Shore excursion before the summer is over and am happy I chose midweek here. Arrived early on Tuesday for four days and was accommodated with a very nice room at the internet rate. Very clean, luscious bedding, a balcony overlooking the "strip" and beach.

Initially taken back by the quirky lobby area (scattered sofas, chrome & leather seating, pinball machines, neon string lighting and a makeshift lounge) I asked to see a room and subsequently decided to stay. I later learned this is a rockin place on the weekends with the Tabu Restaurant and Club Paradise.

Regardless, I was not disappointed with my stay. The pool was crystal clear and there is food & beverage service available poolside. Service staff across the board was spot on.

I should mention the hotel and Asbury Park in general is very gay friendly. While I'm not gay, it doesn't bother me, but it may be offensive to some.

Downsides... the carpets throughout are dirty. dirty. Did I say dirty? But that was the only thing.. I'd wear slippers or flip flops anyway.

The hotel offers a nice perk for its guests...you can stay and enjoy the pool on day of checkout for a nominal fee. My only other comments are...parking can be tough, plan accordingly. Beach entry is $5-6

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here with my mother for a few days away at the beach. She had been here before, I had not. It was pretty much what I expected. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. When we got to our room and I realized it was not an ocean side, I went to ask if we could switch and they did it in minutes! They were awesome about it! We didn't have any trouble with noise or crowds, as we stayed through the week. Everyone was nice, the room was clean and the balcony perfect. The bathroom was a little small, but who cares? Also, we did not have a fridge, but I knew this ahead of time and brought a cooler for a few things! I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side if you don't want to stare at the pool scene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
2.1 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#3 of 5 in Asbury Park
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#3 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 15 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Empress Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.