We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place be prepared to wait for your food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Ole

Bistro Ole
230 Main Street, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
732-897-0048
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 91 restaurants in Asbury Park
Cuisines: Portuguese
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place be prepared to wait for your food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Loved the food. You provide the bottle and they make the sangria.
but be prepared to wait (they warn you up front it takes 45 minutes to get your food) I had ropa vejia so good. Very pricey for a byob.
great service owner is very enthusiastic

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

56% Recommend
    15
    10
    7
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were a party of 8 that had all been to this restaurant before so we were looking forward to another good meal but we were extremely disappointed. We were seated right away in an empty part of the restaurant. This should have been our first clue as there has always been a wait and the place was always packed. The service was not good. Our waitress didn't seem to want to be there and soon enough neither did we. The sangria was terrible. We got white and red and both tasted flat and watered down. We ordered appetizers and sent back the mussels, which were chewy and tasteless. The entrees were no better. My strip steak was overcooked and the paella was not up to previous visits. Other dishes were just average. The waitress then decided we were done as she handed us the check without asking if we even wanted desert. That was fine by us as we were desperate to get out of there and never come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced, no spice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went here to celebrate and the food was pretty bland, and definitely overpriced. The restaurant was empty except for 2 guests on a Sunday night at dinner time, which should have been a clue. The crab cakes were not tasty at all, the white sauce on it wasn't any help. My wife's Ropa Vieja was below average. The tres leche cake for dessert was dry...The waitress was very nice- friendly and provided very good service, but I would not return because the food was sub-par.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bistro Ole No More”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Eaten there many times for good dinners Had a bad experience but gave them the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately the return visit was worse than the previous. The quality of the food had definitely degraded and the service was absolutely terrible. It took a long time for our 3 orders to be taken and although there were only two other people present the meals were served slowly, one at a time. Never again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fell Below Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went to Bisro Ole tonight with friends, after a year's absence and was astounded at thedownfall of this once crowded and delicious restaurant. For starters, on a Saturday night, the restaurant was barely at 7:30 pm. The menu had been drastically abbreviated and, the prices were also significantly increased. Although there was ample staff milling around with nothing to do, our entrees took over 35 mins to be served. Then and only then, did we realize the drastically reduced portions. A very dispointing experience since this restaurant truly was incredibly popular over the last eight years. So sorry the management stopped caring.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Ole also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bistro Ole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Ole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.