We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for cocktails and apps” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Aqua Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar
1300 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
(732) 455-8434
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Asbury Park, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for cocktails and apps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Great attentive service.Drinks are well priced food is great

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean, nj
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unobstructed ocean view with fresh ocean cooling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

You enter the renowned City of Asbury Park Convention Hall arcade on the boardwalk, off Sunset Avenue, and there it is....AQUA. You walk up the ramp and take a seat at a table or at the bar. No matter where you look it's there, the Atlantic Ocean and the beautiful, Asbury Park beach.
Quickly you are greeted by your server and you know you made the right choice. After they tell you about the specials, drinks and food they don't rush you, When you have decided on a drink they are right back to you. When you have decided on food, same quickness and a smile. need another drink...they now and are at your table when you are ready. The food is very good and you will not have to take out a loan to pay for it. In fact it is surprisingly in line with off boardwalk prices.
If you stop in at night they have excellent entertainment and we've NEVER been charged a cover or extra for the drinks. Think, the ocean waves breaking while you are eating/drinking and did not have to fly there.
You will be as pleased as I was. If you were not, the owner is always there and he will welcome your complaint or compliment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Salad was the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Located on the ocean front in a scenic beautiful old board walk building we were lucky to find this restaurant. With the wind in your hair, the sun in your eyes and live music in your ears, you can't help but getting in a good mood. The lunch / brunch was outstanding. Between the six of us we tried meat ball sliders, pan fried scallops tuna wraps, crab salad and pulled pork wrap. And the best: the Mediterranean Salad. Seldom have we had it better. So fresh and with the exact right feta cheese - we instantly felt as being on Rhode Island.
Great that such - on the surface - modest places exist and you can be so pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Jersey Shore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu and innovative dishes overlooking the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Aqua is located in the Asbury Park convention hall and has indoor and outdoor seating options. The food is divided into small plate and full dinner options. We opted for small plate dishes and were not disappointed. The polenta dusted calamari were a nice twist on traditional fare, the pulled pork sliders were tender and tasty, and the chicken wings had a nice spicy zing.

There is live music on certain nights as well as bar specials - a nice option when in Asbury.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food, casual atmosphere, and great ocean view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Second time at Aqua for a meal. First time was for dinner with the folks and I was really surprised at the quality and flavors. Came back down to Asbury Park this weekend and made sure I got a late day snack outside at Aqua. A beautiful view of the ocean ... perfect summer day! The meatball sliders were so good! I come from an Italian household so I can be fussy on the meatballs ... not these, the sauce was thick, the cheese good, and the meatballs themslves were delicious. Live entertainment was good and not too loud ... we sat right next to the singer and could still have a conversation while enjoying the music. The place is casual and a very relaxed vibe; however, the food adds a bit of sophistication to the relaxed, ocean enviornment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqua Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Oceanfront Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.