We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Jeffrey Parenty is the BOMB !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at The Hotel Tides

Restaurant at The Hotel Tides
408 Seventh Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
+1 732-897-7744
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at The Hotel Tides is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Grand
Description: Featuring New American Cuisine, our chef highlights fresh, seasonal, and local ingredients. Helping to feed the "Farmer to Chef" trend, local markets are key ingredients in our menu at the Hotel Tides. The whimsical, intricately detailed tin ceiling and walls, dating back to the 1920's –demanded a ten month renovation, showcasing the cultural heritage and history in modern day Asbury Park.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Chef Jeffrey Parenty is the BOMB !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We returned to Restaurant at The Hotel Tides last night & was greeted by Chris who was one of the nicest, quality waiters I have ever happened to encountered; he walked us through the menus & specials... you can tell he enjoys working here and presenting amazing dish that the kitchen delivers... Was a slow, windy & cold night in Asbury so we had the pleasure or meeting and talking with Chef Jeffrey... he comes from a family of cooks & one can tell once you taste his menu...We had an amazing pork belly appetizer recommened by Chris & it was a 10 !!! crab cakes were delecious also... Dinner was a Grouper fish special; cooked just perfect & a angus steak special in this unbelievable sauce that Jeff created... Trust me get to the Tides before some 5 star restaurant scoops up Chef jeff & then you will have to schlep to NYC to enjoy his fares !!! One of the best meals in a Long Time... Thank you Jeff & Chris for an enjoyable experience... Will be back real soon ...

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not miss this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We tried to go summer 2013, but it was closed. Thank God it was open today, March 16. Chef Jeffrey Parenty has a very bright future ahead of him. He is only 24, but the boy can cook! The mushroom soup was sublime, the crab cake was actually made of crab, the lobster ravioli was supreme and the sea scallops swimming in corn nage, melted in your mouth. And as delightful as this wonderful meal was, nothing could prepare me for the bread pudding in ginger glace. I don't even like bread pudding. Let me tell you, now I love bread pudding! As I titled this review - do not miss this restaurant. You will have missed a small slice of heaven.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Anniversary meal..will return again soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed dining there last night as part of our anniversary weekend in Ocean Grove.We shared the butternut squash soup appetizer..it was yummy. For dinner, my husband chose the duck special and I had the cornish game hen from the main menu. Both of us cleaned our plates--the meat was prepared perfectly and the accompanying veggies were superb. We shared a pecan pie for dessert that was super.The waiter was very attentive but did not rush us in anyway. The restaurant is tucked away in a Victorian hotel on the north end of town--the room decor is unique. The noise level was good so we could chat easily.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A lovely dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate there last evening and it was a lovely experience. The food was quite good and well presented. I had a spaghetti squash soup and Cornish hen, and both dishes were excellent. The other members of our party were also quite laudatory about their dishes. The atmosphere was excellent, the decor very attractive and the prices were quite reasonable. Overall an excellent experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“One of the best in Asbury Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having eaten several times at the Tides, I have always been amazed at the consistancy of good food, service and a pleasant dining experience. While off the beaten trail of restaurants in Asbury Park, it is worth the visit.

Located in a restored Victorian hotel in the northern part of Asbury Park, the kitchen at the Tides turns out some really delicious and creative takes on standard restaurant fare. My last dinner there consisted of a crab cake that was really all crab with a light batter. It had the slightest hint of pepper that gave it a zing while not overpowering the delicate taste of the crab.

My steak, which was one of the evenings specials, was cooked a perfect medium rare and glazed with a compote of chili peppers and garlic as a condiment. The size of the steak was ample and the price was totally in line with what you would pay elsewhere.

The dining room itself is rather eclectic, with unrefinished tin walls and ceilings. I will not say that I like it, but it does not disturb and one will not find a more original setting anywhere.

The service, from the greeting at the door through martinis at the bar and finally the dining room itself was exemplary. Kudos to management and staff for an all around wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at The Hotel Tides also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Restaurant at The Hotel Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at The Hotel Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.