We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone, old world gaming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverball Pinball Museum

Silverball Pinball Museum
1000 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
732-774-4994
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone, old world gaming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Silverball is a great place to both kill time or centre an afternoon around. There is a mind-boggling variety of stuff to try out (my personal fave was the Ali pinball machine circa '78). Note: better value to get the 2 hour pass, you'll be amazed how quickly that first hour goes by in here :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    36
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not Just For The Pinball Wizzard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Even though it's located right on the boardwalk (toward the north end) we've walked right passed it zillions of times. At night the lights of the vintage pinball machines were like an amazing magnet. The people working there are really into their machines. Some are ancient, mechanical - not eve electric and all were in perfect working order.

One of the really neat things is that when you enter what could easily be classified and a world class museum, you pay one price and get to play the all over and over and over again for as long as your visit.

Ever think it's impossible to play pinball machines so long that you are actually ready to stop. Me either, but you can at the Silver Ball.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Arbour, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I've taken my 5 year old grandson here twice and we both had a good time. Besides the many, many pinball machines, they have air hockey, a bowling machine, pong, Skee Ball and some other old games.. A one hour playing time was good for a child of his age. The only negative has to do with the town, not the facility. Asbury Park has pay parking and I find that irritating.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" for the Pinball Enthusiast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My brother and I, being pinball enthusiasts from way back, took a trip to the Silverball Museum on Monday, November 4th. We arrived a little before the place opened, which was 11am. We parked in a parking lot directly across the street from the venue for 5 bucks for the day. (Street parking was 2 bucks an hour – even during midweek in the month of November!) We bought the 15-dollar pass, which allowed us to play until 5pm. Being there when the manager turned on the machines was a blast. The different sounds of all those machines coming to life were music to our ears!
Although the museum has machines spanning many decades, of special interest to us was the variety of machines from the 50’s and 60’s. As kids, we played these machines and that’s what we played during our visit. It definitely brought back memories of a by-gone era.

During the first hour and a half, we had the place to ourselves. After that, more players started showing up followed by a group of youngsters who were celebrating a birthday party there. The manager told us that the place does get pretty crowded at times but that wasn’t the case on the day we were there. My brother and I played for 4 hours. And those hours flew by fast as the fun was non-stop.

Just about all the machines worked well. There were a couple that weren’t functioning up to par, but that has to be expected in a place that houses so many machines. We did report the malfunctions to the manager so that they could be repaired.

There’s a little snack shop inside the place with about 8 to 10 tables to sit at while eating. They serve hot dogs, wings, fries and soft drinks, among other items. The manager was friendly, outgoing, informative and very appreciative of our patronage.

To sum it up; we had a great day at this establishment. This place has something for everybody and it is definitely a “Must Do” for anyone who has pinball in his or her blood.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Bringing Back those Pin Ball Wizard skills... Just like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a blast from the past with all reconditioned pinball machine. So excited I get to go to this place a few times a year and a real GEM. It bring back so many memories of your favorite pin ball machines from the 60's 70" 50's or 80 or 90's they have them all.... Great place to spend a rainy day or a day you want to spend an hour inside. Great place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverball Pinball Museum also viewed

 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Silverball Pinball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverball Pinball Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.