We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Silverball Pinball Museum

Silverball Pinball Museum
1000 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
732-774-4994
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Loved the pay one price and play for an hour concept. Most of the machines were in great working order and there was a broad variety.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    34
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great amusement for the pinball lover!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you love pinball, this place is a must! Don't be confused by the word "museum." This is a hands on arcade located directly on the boardwalk, where a $10 entry fee gets you access to hundreds of machines that you can play, both old style and digital - you'll find them all! It's suited for families, couples, friends, going solo, or even colorful business functions, as they do hold parties and functions there. They have "high scores" noted on every machine so you can compete to break the highest score and they also have a nice title card with information and details about each machine displayed too. There's a few other arcade games inside but the primary focus is pinball. They play music while you're playing the machines and you can grab a quick bite to eat inside, too. They even sell souvenir shirts, etc. but the main draw is to play all those machines. Well worth the $10 for the hour as you'll get to play many. Chances are if you remember a favorite machine from your childhood, you'll find it here, alongside the newer digital ones too. One of my favorites is The Sopranos machine (long play, fun commentary true to the TV show, and fun to play!) and they even have the one and only machine that I own - Strange World! (simple but fun!) I once held the record on The Rolling Stones machine but it wasn't there, for some reason, on my last visit! My husband also threw me a 50th surprise party here - the staff is very accommodating and it's just a fun place to spend a couple of hours and have some fun with family and friends. Wouldn't be summer without at least one trip here every year, but I try to stop in whenever I'm in Asbury!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The happiest place on the Jersey Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great family destination on the Asbury Park boardwalk. An amazing collection of pinbal machines from 1950's to now and you can play them all. A trip down memory lane for some and a fantastic introduction to what arcade entertainment was like before computers entered the picture. My 7 year-old went bananas for this place. Pay for an amount of time (ex, $10 per hour) and play unlimited times on any machine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“More Pinball that I have ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just a fun thing to do. If you like Pinball this place is a must. Clean, so many machines to choose from

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“fun fun fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great place for pinball loved it!
Was well worth the 10 buck admission for the hour. Relived my childhood!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silverball Pinball Museum also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Silverball Pinball Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverball Pinball Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.