We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Affordable !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Novelty Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Novelty Suites to your Saves list
Hotel Novelty Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 4 sur # 43 A - 109 | Sector Oviedo, Medellin 0000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Aruba
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Central and Affordable !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Novelty Suites for 4 nights and enjoyed the hotel. Even though small, all amenities in the room and lobby are great - the rooms are spacious, so is the bathroom, just pay attention to the shower curtain and turning on the blower in the bathroom, as before you know it the whole floor will be soaking due to the strong blower.

Room service is available 24 hours, but not recommended, better take a walk outside and visit the great restaurants around the area for superior food qualities. Also do not look for the sauna that is advertised, as it is smaller then your in room bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Hotel Novelty Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

rooms are ok, with kitchen so u can cook, a nice living room, a huge terrace, like a small flat. Breakfast was very good, the internet connection was poor. located in a very good area.
we were a big group and we went to the restaurant to hace dinner, we ordered but never get our food, after 40 minutes waiting we stand up and they didnt even excuse, very rude with us, that was the only problem we had there, so we didn't eat there anything different from breakfast which was included.

Room Tip: any room with a terrace or a balcony i think are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia U, at Hotel Novelty Suites, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for your comments. Really when you were lodging with us, we had some problems with our restaurant team and step by step, we are improved and fixed these faults, we would be happy if you will lodge again in our hotel and could see it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are ok, service is poor. Breakfast time and there was no iron or fork in the tables, I had to go to the service desk to grab a couple after asking several times for them to the waiter. Power went down in the area an there was no safe way to get to your room, the emergency stairs did not have emergency lights and the floors were not numbered, so you never knew where you were... Thank god it was not a fire!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Hotel Novelty Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We lament the misshaps and thanking for letting us to know the failures that happened during the breakfast which were for our staff neglect so, we will take the precise medsures about it Owingto, the power energy troubles, effectevly we had misshaps with support systems that were already solved.
Our Hotel has all the emergency exits required notwithstanding; you are right about the floors marking in the emergency scalators; so we have taken inmediately measures that we hope to test it in your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Nice location near the gold mille, best business location in medellin. Near hard rock cafe, Mc Donalds and oviedo shooping center. Do not reserve the small room is too small. Reserve the second size. Enjoy a good paisa breakfast!. They dont have a nice gym.

Room Tip: Do not select the small room is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalia u, Director Comercial at Hotel Novelty Suites, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thanks for your comments. In our hotel we only have a little gym, but we have an agreement with a professional gym near to novelty totally free for our guests. We will wait for you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011 via mobile

Excellent stuff, great location, good breakfast , nice room.

Quite expensive but I been in others more expensive but no that good.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Not fancy, however a very nice hotel. Great staff, nice rooms and privileged location. The wi-fi network could be better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The breakfast is complimentary and good. The rooms are spacious and having a fully equipped kitchen. Road facng rooms are having half glass wall through which one will get a good view of el poblado, the most posh area of the city. The road facing corner rooms are having balcony also. One of two persons in the reception can communicate in english. The rooms are neat and the beds are really comfortable. I thoroughly enjoy my stay in this hotel. Fish lovers should try robalo meditterano in the restaurant which is really good. The location of the hotel is in the commercial hub of the city and an extremely safe area to roam around. The malls [Oviedo and San Tafe] are in walking distance and super markets [carulla and pomona] are also in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Novelty Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novelty Suites

Address: Calle 4 sur # 43 A - 109 | Sector Oviedo, Medellin 0000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Novelty Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following nowaday's trends in the field of hospitality, Novelty Suites Hotel offers an excellent lodging option for business and work related trips. It's located in El Poblado, at 100 meters from Oviedo's Mall in a commercial, financial, prestigious and quiet location in the city. 74 comfortable and spacious suites with Air conditioned, Electronic locks on access doors, Electronic security box, Kitchenette, Refrigerator with mini bar, High speed wireless Internet, National and international phone service, 24 Hours room service, Laundry Service, Airport shuttle, restaurant, business center and wet zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Novelty Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Novelty Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.