We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medellín Light My Fire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porton Medellin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Porton Medellin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Porton Medellin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 hotels in Medellin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Medellín Light My Fire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel both for business and on private trips and so far it is my favourite in Medellín. Location is excellent - in the wealthy Poblado area and in close proximity to two up-market shopping centres (Santa Fe and Oviedo). It is also much closer to to the international airport (MDE) than other parts of the city. I would recommend booking the airport transfer with the hotel which gives you a better car as most taxis in Medellín do not have seatbelts readily available for passengers.

For my business trip I stayed in one of the rather spacious premium rooms with a pretty view and huge TV.

The restaurant is well worth dining in - they even had a food-themed week while I was there. Wine selection is with a distinct Latin American focus and what I liked was that all the bottles were on display in the restaurant which made the choice a little more involving. For breakfast I can recommend the omelettes made to order while you watch. They definitely taste better that way!

Business infrastructure we also used on two occasions. There are 2 or 3 different rooms available and the staff was very responsive to each and every demand we had in preparing it with the client dinner a memorable highlight.

My suggested improvements would be:
- change the wifi system such that it there is no auto log-off after 30min (speed is good otherwise)
- have a bureau de change available in the lobby (not an issue really as there is a bank right next door and several others in the shopping centres but would definitely be convenience factor)

Overall I had great stays and am looking forward to the next one. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try getting a room on a higher level for a better view. Premium rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
23
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everithing was excelent at the hotel, the best service ever, people is very friendly, they make you feel as you were at home, the rooms were really comfortable, also the different amenities they provide you. Breakfast is perfect, thanks to that you don´t need to eat anything additional until lunch. Music at the bar is fantastic, the musician plays the guitar as a professional. I definitely will be at Hotel Portón Medellín, whenever I arrive to Medellín.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Alot better choices in the area. Service is very poor and you can tell they do not like foreigners staying in hotel . If you are from the US - I would not stay there. The breakfast was average . The only good thing about hotel is the proximity to zona rosa area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

They have charged my credit card twice for the 1 week stay that i had. Now their finance team is not ready to take any ownership of investigating with their bank, as to why their bank has done two transactions. During checkout their Credit Card terminal was not working, so they swiped my cc using the manual machine.

Totally un-accountable, lacks ownership!

Do you want to stay in a hotel which charges you twice on your CC?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Not bad not great the Room was clean and
Room small the Mattress is saggy.
The people were friendly.
Good shower.
The room service menu was poor and the food was not great.
The gym closes at 7 so it gave us no time except the morning,
The Internet was free although slow And kept dropping.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's across the street from Sante Fe center as stated. Carpets haven't been cleaned in hall and were soiled. One set of towels for two people...yes, you can call for more but in a two room suite and res is for two, don't you think someone would have planned ahead? Steam room (co-Ed) door doesn't close and no water in jacuzzis. Massage was one of the weakest I ever had.
If you are used to Sheraton, Marriott, or Westin you won't be happy here.

Room Tip: Tip? Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Porton is a decent hotel in Poblado, a good neighborhood in Medellin, and is facing a large upscale shopping mall named Santafe.
The hotel has a dated, tired feel to it, due to the interior decorating, which is so nineties.
The staff is courteous and professional. All in all there is not much noteworthy about Porton hotel, which is probably a good thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Porton Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porton Medellin

Address: Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 87 hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porton Medellin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sober and elegant Hotel, located in the most exclusive area near a major business centers, financial and trade. The hotel is known for its peaceful and welcoming environments. For rest and relaxation with a solarium terrace equipped with jacuzzy, hydromassage shower and steam bath. All rates include breakfast buffet and a wireless Internet connection unlimited. The warm service and personalized direct engagement with our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Porton Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porton Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.