We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porton Medellin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porton Medellin to your Saves list
Hotel Porton Medellin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Average hotel, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The hotel is located in a great place, near the SantaFe Mall and the Oviedo Mall. Rooms are very nice and the breakfast very well served. The gym is not nice, the machines are old or not functioning and it was a bit dirty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    37
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
30
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a good, solid hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. At least one member of staff speaks excellent English, but, as with most of Colombia, Spanish will be much more useful. I cannot give this hotel more than 4 for a rating, because it is not a top of the line hotel. That said, it is the best one Medellin. The staff were exceptionally helpful, suggesting a wonderful driver and an alternative day trip (Pablo Escobar's ranch - awesome!) when our first choice was not possible
They are located across the street from a nice mall in an upscale neighborhood, and public transit to the rest of the city was only a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Portón Medellin Hotel has several advantages:
First, it is situated strategically between 2 of the most important and nicest shopping centres in the city. Since to get anywhere you have to either go uphill or downhill, not being at the very top is a big plus. Next is the reasonable walking distance from the city metro system. In a city with such awkward topography, not having to rely wholly on taxis is a great advantage, particularly at rush hour times.
Service is extremely friendly and helpful, and rates are reasonable.
Aside from having only one elevator, which can be annoying at times, we give it highest marks.
We would suggest that the hotel’s Internet site includes a good location map.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

The staff was amazing, extremely friendly and went absolutely out of their way to make sure I was taken care of...thanks to tatiana(front desk) for her hospitality. The hotel spa will come to your room and give you a massage that will make you feel like a million bucks. Oh yeah, the restaurant has the most amazing arroz con coco with chicken and shrimp...this thing was so good, I had to call my mom bragging!!! ATM right next door, you can walk to the SantaFe mall...cool fountains! I highly recommend this place...make sure you get a luxury room...I did! :)

- Eddie

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located amongst all the other big hotels in the southern part of Medellín, which is quite safe and has lots of restaurants and bars close by. The hotel restaurant itself was very good, too and reception service was very helpful and friendly. We got two massages in the Spa on short notice although they were not the greatest ever, the Spa is decent.
The room however was disappointing. Next door was a service room and the walls were pretty thin. When the staff started working at half past six there was no possibility to sleep anymore and we could here everything from the adjoining bathroom. Our shower and tab served brown water, which the receptionist explained as the result of repairs the week before and we should just let the water run for a while. It got better, but was still light brown the second day.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there two nights. The rooms are very clean, the bed is very comfortable. The wifi is extremely fast with very good connection in all parts of the hotel, including the rooms. They have a business center with two pcs and a printer, they faxed a documents for us and the staff it's very attentive.
However, the doors of the rooms are very thin. We stayed at the far end of the corridor (room 409). Also locatd at the end of the corridor is the cleaning cabinet. At 6:30 am the noise of the cleaning staff entering and exiting this room as well as their chatter made sleeping impossible, we heard their voices in full clarity. Stay away from rooms at the end of the corridor!
Some minor annoyances included being unable to shower for an hour due to water-maintenance, that the showers drain was clogged and that the AC (which we not really needed) points directly towards your head while sleeping (room 409).

We had a massage, which was made possible only minutes after requesting, it was not as good as I would have liked, but it was relatively cheap.

If in Medellin, I would not necessarily stay there again, but rather try some rivaling hotel for comparison.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

The place is nice and clean but pictures look way better for a 5 stars hotel. Gym and jacuzzi were closed when I stayed which didn't make me happy. Breakfast was pretty good although their fruit juice were dissapointing. I'd stay there again only if they beat their competitors in price by at least 35%.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porton Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porton Medellin

Address: Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porton Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sober and elegant Hotel, located in the most exclusive area near a major business centers, financial and trade. The hotel is known for its peaceful and welcoming environments. For rest and relaxation with a solarium terrace equipped with jacuzzy, hydromassage shower and steam bath. All rates include breakfast buffet and a wireless Internet connection unlimited. The warm service and personalized direct engagement with our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porton Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porton Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.