We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures look better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porton Medellin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porton Medellin to your Saves list
Hotel Porton Medellin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pictures look better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The place is nice and clean but pictures look way better for a 5 stars hotel. Gym and jacuzzi were closed when I stayed which didn't make me happy. Breakfast was pretty good although their fruit juice were dissapointing. I'd stay there again only if they beat their competitors in price by at least 35%.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    42
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
34
8
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for approx 12 days whilst in Medellin. The basic rooms I stayed in were clean and well appointed. Breakfast each morning was good with ample choice. After the third day or so the staff got used to my routine and not long after sitting down to breakfast a nice cappuccino with cinnamon was forthcoming, the customer service ethos was above par. There is a hotel driver usually available to take you around the city or otherwise a taxi is usually out front. You are also a few minutes walk from the metro line as well. The hotel is across from both the new Santa Fe shopping centre and the Ovienda shopping centre with loads of shops/stores, hard rock cafe etc closeby. Cinema's show late releases in English with Spanish subtitles for about AU $5.21. The staff throughout the hotel were always friendly, pleasant and professional and responded promptly to any issues. Fast wifi included to all rooms, unlike a lot of Australian hotels where you have to pay exorbitant extra costs for wifi. A lack of Spanish was not a concern as there was usually a member of staff available who could assist. Special thanks to Tatiana whose responsive client service and perfect English were able to clarify many queries. All in all I was very happy with my stay at this establishment and would recommend it without reservation to anyone travelling to Medellin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Porton Medellin, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Mr. Edwards;

Thanks for your nice comments! this will be sent to our coworkers. We hope to see you soon here in your house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The experience began with a very helpful support in the hotel's website in order to organize airport's pickup and some activities in the city. Upon arrival to the hotel very friendly staff, lovely room, great services, nice food. Very well located, near to some of the biggest malls in tje city and also near to all transportation services (bus, metro, taxi). Just a small black dot, not really under hotel's responsibility but the transportation organized through a third party is not really punctual. Either at our arrival to the airport and when leaving from the hotel the car was delayed, not big trouble but requires to be patient. In general a fantastic experience, will be back either as couple or with the full family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

I'd give this 3.5 stars if that was an option. Good stay in a nice part of town in a terrific city!

Room – clean, nice natural light, good size. Slight leak in the shower that causes water to drip into the bathroom area, nothing a simple caulk couldn’t fix. AC was weak – I’m glad it wasn’t hot while I was visiting!
Technology – Good wireless access. Great flat screen Samsung. No power plugs available in the room, literally all taken. I had to unplug a bedside lamp in order to get light and that fixture came out of the wall! Need to invest in upgrading the power infrastructure of the hotel.
Staff – generally helpful & friendly but very limited English capability. Really helpful gentleman at the morning breakfast buffet!
Breakfast – good buffet with standard fare (cereal, fruit, rolls, scrambled eggs), some authentic local options (e.g., arepas) as well as ability to get some off menu items (e.g., egg whites). Surprisingly good coffee.
Location – beautiful neighborhood, but only real eating options are across the street in the upscale Santa Fe mall. Beyond mall options, you'd have ato walk a good bit. Good options try “J to C" in the mall : )
Gym – Decent gym, good cardio, but lacking in weights. Currently equipment is comparable to those at a Marriott Courtyard in the US. They have the space, but for whatever reason don’t seem to know what constitutes a decent 4* hotel gym. Only 2 weeks after they posted their note in another review below their arrangement with BodyTech had ended. Nothing updated on their website – still says they have a partnership with BodyTech and nothing indicated on TA. It would now cost ~USD 17 to work out. They fixed it for me...but sort of wasted 45 minutes of my time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Porton Medellin, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear guest;

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your comments. All your recomendations will be evaluated and we'll take the corrective measures.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quito
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Room correct, & nice very polite staff.
Food good (lunch), breakfeast very average and not at the level of 5 stars, basically eggs fruits arepas nothing really tasty. Some colleagues complained about too small rooms.
Gym : very poorly equiped, complained with some colleague and were given invitation to the nearby Bodythech.
Business room for meeting no so good..hear the noise from nearby road, no AC so they installed a noisy air cooler which we had to turn off
VERY poor internet connection.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Porton Medellin, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Dear guest;

The Hotel regrets the discomfort during stay. Each observation has been reported and
analyzed in order to implement actions corrective to ensure non-repetition.

However, for some services such as speed Internet in the meeting room, we safely say that this service could have been provided an optimal way, if the Company have been requested at the time of booking the meeting room.
Unfortunately some requirements like this, not were reported to the Hotel, in the negotiation and this affected the audience.

In regard to the Gym, the Hotel has a cardiovascular area fitted with equipment
needed for a daily routine, but for greater Hotel service coverage has an agreement with the best gym in the city, located very close to the Hotel and our guest interested can access free to this services.

The hotel staff recieves your comments they are important to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed at the Porton on Dec 13 and 14 for a small tour of Colombia, the stay we had at this establishment is worth well my time to write and praise the service and the room we stayed in and the view we had. I strongly suggest you stay at the Porton when in Medellin

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Porton Medellin, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
We are very glad with your comments! for our Staff and our Hotel.
We hope to see you again!

Best Regards;

ANYILIS ARTEAGA A.
E-COMMERCE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Regular rooms are quite small and somewhat claustrofobic. I asked for a bigger room and they gave me one in the corner, significantly bigger, but next to the maintenance door. That meant that the first night I woke up to dishes, door slammings, radios, and maintenance personnel chatting. I complained and they took action and the situation improved afterwards, and they actually took the time to sympathetically ask me whether it had improved or not.
I really think this hotel could be better. The wall painting was just falling apart, which should not be admisible at 5 stars hotels, ammenities were only average. One other major flaw is that there is only one elevator for the whole 9 floors...
They have free wi fi, and the room service is quite good. But this hotel should be significantly updated soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORTON, Gerente at Hotel Porton Medellin, responded to this review, July 22, 2010
Google Translation
Atendiendo el reciente comentario que nos ha compartido una distinguida huésped sobre su percepción para con los servicios de nuestro Hotel, deseamos ratificar como Hotel categorizado y comprometido con la mejora continua, nuestro interés y preocupación por atender y subsanar cualquier molestia que durante las estadías nuestros huéspedes nos manifiesten, frente a ello con el fin de propiciar el máximo confort el Hotel dispone de los recursos y acciones que sean necesarias para lograr dicho cometido, es así como a continuación relatamos un resumén de lo sucedido en relación con el comentario publicado.

De acuerdo a lo expresado lamentamos que para la huésped en mención las habitaciones del Hotel no hayan sido de su agrado, sin embargo es importante tener en cuenta que de acuerdo a nuestras políticas de comercialización, el Hotel publica las características de sus productos y servicios por diferentes medios físicos y electrónicos para que sean plenamente conocidas y no generen falsas expectativas. En relación al tamaño de nuestras habitaciones tal y como esta publicado en la web, estas tienen unas medidas minimas de 26 metros cuadrados y algunas miden hasta 50 metros cuadrados. Cuando un cliente alojado en una habitación de lujo estándar nos solicita cambio para una habitación más amplia, en la medida de lo posible y de acuerdo a la ocupación podemos manejarlo y conceder un upgrade, para el caso puntual de esta novedad se hizo de esta manera con la huésped mejorando las expectativas en tamaño, iluminación y vista .

Por otro lado en relación al tema de ruido, la habitación que le asignamos aunque inicialmente fué de agrado para nuestra distinguida huésped, luego de acuerdo a su manifestación nos dimos cuenta que el ruido de la operación como la salida de huéspedes y demás perturbaron su descanso, respecto a esto entendiendo la sensibilidad de nuestra huésped relacionada con el ruido, también tomamos las medidas necesarias para minimizar al máximo este aspecto y procurar su total confort. De igual manera manifestamos siempre nuestra preocupación y disposición de servicio y estuvimos al tanto de cualquier requerimiento para darle solución.

Para el Hotel es sumamente importante conocer la percepción frente a los servicios, pues con ello mejoramos y evaluamos las acciones correctivas y preventivas que sean oportunas implementar, con el objetivo de evitar la repetición futura de las inconformidades manifiestas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porton Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porton Medellin

Address: Carrera 43A # 9 SUR-51 | El Poblado, Medellin 00000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porton Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sober and elegant Hotel, located in the most exclusive area near a major business centers, financial and trade. The hotel is known for its peaceful and welcoming environments. For rest and relaxation with a solarium terrace equipped with jacuzzy, hydromassage shower and steam bath. All rates include breakfast buffet and a wireless Internet connection unlimited. The warm service and personalized direct engagement with our guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Porton Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porton Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.