We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently close to Metro stop, comfortable beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Medellin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Medellin to your Saves list
Ibis Medellin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 20 #44-16, Medellin 5001000, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
1,129 reviews 1,129 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 335 cities Reviews in 335 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
“Conveniently close to Metro stop, comfortable beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights here with spouse at end of our 2 week vacation in Colombia. Checked in with Laura who speaks perfect English. Was friendly and efficient.

Received room 415, a king bed. Room size is a tad small for two people, but otherwise has everything you need for a comfortable stay except an alarm clock, wash cloths, hand towels, bath amenities, electric water kettle (for coffee/tea making), and a comfortable chair. Oddly, for a hotel seemingly committed to conservation and protecting the environment, the only trash can was in the bathroom next to the toilet-forcing us to commingle our waste with our paper, glass, etc.

Here are the pros: flat screen TV; large safe that holds laptops, tablets, and much more; excellent light making reading in bed possible and enjoyable; right across the street from the Museum of Modern Art; friendly and capable staff; cafe/bar in lobby with reasonable prices; restaurant on mezzanine with reasonable prices. Pastas are about $15,000 COP. Buffet breakfast is $12,000. Two computers with printer available for free guest use (get 30 mins password code from front desk) and free wifi in your guestroom. We had two devices and received two codes for use in our room. Just ask and ask nicely, they're happy to accommodate you. Odd numbered rooms have a better view looking south and towards the Poblado Metro. Exito Express grocery store is a block away selling all manner of fruits, vegetables, snacks, beverages, breads and more. Larger Exito store is at Poblado Metro. There's also a Subway restaurant and lovely bakery in the building next door to the Ibis to the north. There's another bunch of restaurants in the building across the plaza to the south.

Cons: no washcloths, hand towels or bath amenities (only two liquid soap dispensers-one by sink, the other in the shower); limited space and seating in the room with an office chair and padded bench that doubles as a luggage rack. Just know you'll spend your time sitting on your bed if there are two of you. While there's no kettle in the room, the bartender in the lobby was always happy to give me a cup of hot water so I could make a cup of tea or instant coffee in the room.

We took the bus from MDE airport for $8,600 each to San Diego Mall (Centro Comercial San Diego) and then took a taxi for $6,000 to the Ibis. On our way out of town we took a taxi from the Ibis to MDE airport for $60,000 at 6:00am. This was a flat rate.

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Ibis and should we return to Medellin we would certain stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
There are no better words to describe our hotel and the surroundings. Thank you for taking the time to write it down for the other guests.
Hope to see you again at Ibis Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    212
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
52
146
49
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

An Ibis is much the same anywhere - rooms just a bit small for two and those ungainly soap dispensers pop up everywhere. However, this Ibis has the following advantages
- Very friendly and helpful staff who spoke English
- Was 10 minutes walk from a metro station
- A breakfast that was good value
- A second night at a cheaper rate
- Was situated by a 'park' at the far end of which were some nice 'eateries' a quieter place to sit out away from the hustle and bustle of central Medellin

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have a much better view than the even numbered ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your appreciation, we hope to see you again at our hotel.

Have a good day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

THE HOTEL - Clean and friendly hotel suitable for business and family stays. Staff and security were helpful and polite and cheerful. Rooms were good with comfortable beds but no kettle for tea and coffee and no mini-bar. Buffet breakfast was good with ample selections of different foods available. The only thing that was irritating to me, was that the hotel had a good security in place regarding access to the room levels which was via lifts. The lift could only be activated and used by inserting your plastic room card into the card reader but my card often would not work and I had to keep queueing up again at reception to reactivate the key so I could go to my room.

LOCATION - Situated on carrera 48 near to the trendy El Poblado area and a 10 minute walk to the Industriales metro station. The Old town is 20 minute walk away. I found Medellin around the hotel safe to walk at night. The Old town area is rough with many homeless people but not as bad as the reputation states so go and enjoy it's buzzing ambience but just keep an eye out for the unexpected.

GETTING TO AND FROM THE AIRPORT - I travelled to José María Córdova airport (approx. 50min drive), so the options are simple, bus (8,000 Peso = £2.50 = 3 Euros) to the centre of town then train or taxi to hotel (10,000 to 20,000 Peso = £3.20 to £6.40 = 3.80 to 7.60 Euros) which is the cheaper option for solo travellers. A taxi straight to the Hotel or Airport is fixed price at 60,000 Peso = £19.00 = 22.70 Euros) which is the easier and hassel free option for 3 to 4 travellers.

Summery - I liked the hotel and would stay again and I like Medellin so go and enjoy and let your hair down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel. We hope to see you soon here.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent price in a modern building with all the things you need from a good hotel. Taxis outside, secure parking underground with 2.4mts height clearance, restaurant and bar, fast food shops nearby, strong wifi signal in the room and friendly staff.

Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
thank you for your comments toward us, we hope to see you again at the Ibis Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Front desk personal are very nice and helpful some even speak English lots of good places to eat and near all the major attractions in medellin for the price you won't find better and the cab service is very safe and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again in our hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Good location not far from the Metro and a major shopping plaza. Italian restaurant around the corner was very good. Safe area.

Smallish room but well designed, very clean. Helpful staff. Appears to be a popular business hotel. Good value although breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Ibis Mede... C, Director de Recepción at Ibis Medellin, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por sus comentarios. Esperamos verlo de nuevo en nuestro hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Medellin

Address: Calle 20 #44-16, Medellin 5001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between one of the most important neighborhoods of the city and the downtown. Five minutes away from Plaza Mayor, the city's convention center. A few steps from The Museum of Modern Art of Medellin and a 7 minute walk from our nearest train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.