We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spacious hotel on hillside with nice rooms and excellent facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Medellin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
InterContinental Medellin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #44 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Recife, Brazil
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“spacious hotel on hillside with nice rooms and excellent facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

the rooms are spacious and well eqipped. Coffee maker and iron in the room. the different restaurants and coffe bar at the hotel serve excellent food, are inpleasant settigs and the staff is polite. Nice view of the town. some restaurants in walking distance, butfor most other place you need a taxi, due to the distance and the location on the steep hill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Jenny Gay

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us, we strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations


Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    110
    63
    28
    16
See reviews for
26
32
21
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My family of 4 (wife and two sons) visited Medellin and stayed at the Intercontinental Medellin. The physical state of the hotel is very good, very clean, great free wifi coverage, excellent restaurants, bars, coffee bar where they can make an awesome cappuccino, and a beautiful pool and spa service. It is a safe city and the excellent security on site made me feel that much better. The staff spoke English and was always welcoming when I tried my limited Spanish on them, which I really appreciated! The General Manager, Mr. Klaus Peter, was ever-present and watchful and always wanted to make sure we were well-taken care of. My family really appreciated his attention and his team really stood out as far as efficiency and the willingness to go the extra mile to make sure our visit was top grade. I highly recommend this hotel to North American travellers who want to visit Medellin and the wonderful citizens there. The hotel is in a convenient and safe location, El Poblado (which is in an affluent neighbourhood) and the amenities of the spa, modern exercise room, and awesome pool made our trip a wonderful experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Wilson K

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel in town, it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise..

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Service at the Intercontinental is very good - since the moment you come in the staff is super friendly and they all want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast is very good with both healthy and local options. Location is good for business purposes; close enough to business areas and in a beautiful neighborhod surrounded by lots of trees, which makes you feel in a green city (only one restaurant at walking distance). The gym is good enough and the pool invites for a swim....HOWEVER the hotel loses a lot (and I mean A LOT) of points with its super old decor (late 1980s). If the hotel wants to keep a classic style, that is fine with me, but these rooms don't look classic, they look old and I'm pretty sure they're losing business because of this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear NatisSD,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you were satisfied with the service you received as well as the breakfast and our convenient location. We apologize for the disappointment you had with the decor. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Considering we were from the states, this was the perfect hotel for non Spanish speakers. Menu in English and Spanish. Super friendly staff. The outside is a bit dated, but the room and inside areas were very nice and clean. Food in the main restaurant was pretty good. Buffet was average...need to work on the eggs. Great wi-fi connection! You are at the top of a little hill on a main street. Carulla grocery store (nice chain) is 1/2 block down....restaurants about 10 min tax ride to Zona Rosa area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kick3

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice public areas: lobby, especially the pool area with the close-by restaurant, excellent free wifi connection all over the hotel including pool area.

The rooms are ok, a bit dated, bathroom clean. Breakfast buffet very varied, great variety of fruits.

Staff competent, helped me with some problem with my reservation, very service oriented without exageration.

As a female business traveller I felt very comfortable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Katarina2311

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manger
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Introduction:

Medellin's Intercontinental is considered one of, if not the best hotel's in the city, and likely one of the biggest also.

Was definitely excited about my all to brief stay, but there are a few things I found that are definitely need of a change here.

Location:

Although not in the City Centre or that close to the Zona Rosa, it is a very easy and short taxi drive from dining and shopping areas.

Taxis are plentiful to and from the hotel, and are very cheap.

After my arrival from Medellin's Jose Cordova Airport, about 35km away I was greeted by the Bellboy, and check in proved smooth and easy, with the bellboy escorting me and my bags to the room.

Check out was also a breeze, as they had delivered my bill to the room overnight, I believe this is part of their quick check out service. offered to IHG Priority Club members.

Room:

The room itself was functional enough, more than adequate for a two night stay.

Definitely dated, the interior and fixtures looked like something from the 1980's - definitely in need of a re-fresh here.

Amenties were good enough, including soaps, shower gels and the like, and a well stocked mini bar is also present in the room, with prices quite reasonable for a four star standard property.

The bed itself is comfortable, not too firm or too soft.

What frustrated me mostly about the room was the light switches - no side panel next to the bed which operates all the lights, everything here had to be switched off separately.

The view itself was lovely, some vistas over the mountains and the pool. Nice to wake up too that's for sure.

Connectivity:

Definitely the best during my stay in Colombia was here. Free wifi is fast and powerful throughout the hotel, and a small but functional Business Center is available on Level 7, with computers, printers and a photocopy machine.

Relax:

As you expect from a hotel of this standard, there was a gym, spa, pool, tennis court and even some billiard tables also.

I opted for a massage on my second last day here, priced similar to what you would expect in Australia as well. It was as the name of the massage suggested, highly relaxing.

Dining:

I opted for lunch at the main restaurant Fogon de Piedra on the first day, and sitting next to the pool on a sunny yet pleasant day proved a good choice.

I opted for an oriental dish, and was quite delighted when it came out, with the fresh beef anf chicken to be cooked by myself on a hot stone that comes on the platter, along with a tasty baked potato, asian style cooked vegetables and a range of sauces for the meat.

Breakfast the next morning was a buffet style affair, and to be frank was nothing short of awful.

Almost inedible eggs, pancakes that were very dry and tasteless. I know buffet's can be a hit and miss affair, but for a four star property much improvement is needed on the breakfast front.

Summary:

A four star property definitely in need of a good refurbishment would be the best way to describe things here.

Some of the quality is definitely here, the service cannot be faulted, the rooms are definitely functional, but it is really lacking a premium feel that you would expect from the Intercontinental brand.

That being said my experience was pleasant enough, and I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Anything with a mountain view if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Shooter25,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. However, I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience your breakfast experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed for one night last week durin a business trip to colombia. The hoteal is located about 15 minutes from downtown. It's an old hotel that needs some new carpets and some new machines in the gym. They have a good internet connection, nice pool and a reasonable breakfast.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torresjor, Training & Development at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Google Translation
Repetado Martin2581

Gracias por sus recientes comentarios. Lamentamos saber que su experiencia no fue 100% placentera en nuestro hotel. Por favor reciba nuestras más sinceras excusas por los inconvenientes experimentados. En el Hotel InterContinental Medellín nos esforzamos por suministrar servicios y productos de primera categoría.

Garcias por sus comentarios positivos sobre algunas areas de nuestro hotel

Permítanos nuevamente tener la oportunidad de recibirlo en nuestro hotel y demostrarle lo grandiosa que su experiencia puede ser.

Atentamente,

Lucas Muñoz
Case Manager
Hotel InterContinental Medellín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Medellin
#11 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#19 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.