We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Medellin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Medellin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Medellin to your Saves list
InterContinental Medellin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #39 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
USA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
1,226 helpful votes 1,226 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In Medellin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

This is not a great hotel but it is the best hotel in Medellin and quite safe. On a hill and the city of Medellin is high altitude, so the temperature is quite nice most of the time. The hotel is a little worn with rooms in the same shape as well as the lobby and especially the pool and gym area. They are both nice enough but are quite old looking. The hotel is older but an ok place to stay and the price is pretty decent as well. Nothing close by though. Most hotels in Medellin are not near anything that can be accessed by walking. But there are lots of malls and things to do there and taxis are very cheap.
Airport is more than 1 hour from the city of Medellin. Keep that in mind. But a taxi is cheap enough to ride to town. Nice scenery on the way too and safe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    112
    63
    28
    16
See reviews for
26
33
21
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Having read some of the reviews for this property my expectations were not high. On the negative side it is some distance out from town, it does seem to attract the scariest of the local taxi drivers and hotel service is often flawed. In fact it was the service issue that prevents me from rating the property higher overall. The good points are many. The public areas feel spacious and have some pleasant touches. There is a choice of places to eat - and choose the Fogon De Piedra over 'La Cava' where the knowledge of the wait staff is as poor as the descriptions of the wines are overwritten. If there are problems (in my example a long wait to check out) Management do go out of their way to get involved and resolve the issues.
The room was pleasant (I stayed in two categories of room and both were more than acceptable). There is a rather a shortage of electrical points for today's in need of places to recharge business traveller, but the Wifi in the hotel was excellent.
Generally the staff are very good, but there are lapses, At 'La Cava' for example my starter was wrong and only by getting the menu and pointing out to the waiter what we had agreed on was in fact a red soup, whereas what was sitting in front of me was in fact very green did he understand the mistake. Also La Cava lists a long choice of wine by the glass, but picking which of those wines are on hand was rather like the game of Battleships - trying to guess in which bin there actually was a bottle. Eat outside at the Fogon in the evening instead,
I travel to Medellin often and plan to stay at this hotel again and again. I am sure that there will be other occasions when the service doesn't quite meet expectations, but on a sunny day there's something almost nostalgic (as in the good old days of gringo travel) about this property that will bring me back time and time again.

Room Tip: There is building going on near the property. They start early, although it wasn't too instrusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Was here at a conference, and was very satisfied with the hotel. Various restaurants & bars are very nice, particularly by the pool. The rooms have amazing views of the city, and the area is safe, although you have to move around in taxi because it's in a relatively residential area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Has nothing to do with Interconti standards in other parts of latin America. Nothing doen since the seventies. Hard beds; breakfast bad quality and total lack of management in restaurant. Bar is nothing. Calls never answered.
Personnel is very friendly and willing bur the tools are louzy.

Room Tip: this needs coimplete overhaul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Typical large hotel from a chain: everything is OK, staff is friendly, food is OK, gym is ok and pool is good.
But it lacks a spark, you can't get excited about the place

restaurant under thatched roof is good and great service, but the lobby bar has no personality, which cal also be said for its bartenders.

Service at check out took too much time. Why don't they offer express check out?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I was disappointed as we pulled up, the builiding was ugly and in need of a good power washing. The lobby was nice, the staff excellent. My room overlooked the city. I had access to the executive lounge which overlooked the beautiful pool and one of the resturants. I was never able to enjoy the pool as it was raining the entire time there. I really wanted to post this review in case others are like me and cannot sleep on plywood, which is what it felt like, no, actually it felt like a slab of cement. I've slept on some hard been in Asia, but this was the hardest of any beds I've ever "tried" to sleep. So I know I cannot return to this hotel just because of this. So if a hard bed is something that turns you off look elsewhere.
The lounge and its complimentary cocktails, snacks and breakfast was nice and that staff went out of their way to please you.
I also had free interent although it was extremely slow. I was only there two nights so I didn't get a chance to see if there was anything to walk to in the area; remember it was pouring. The drive to/from the airport was challenging as many of the roads were closed due to being washed away. I went to get into a car service without a seat belt and insisted the driver get it out. as he was in the trunk trying to push thru the seat belt he kept explaining it isn't against the law there so I didn't have to wear it. I finally got thru to him, I didn't care about it being a requirement that I WANTED to wear it. You will WANT to wear a seatbelt driving in this area especially during the rainy season. The pool area was beautiful and lush. The fitness center looked very nice with spinning classes.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretten
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

The Intercontinental in Medellin is a wonderful place to stay. Breakfeast and rooms are worlclass. Service is always very friendly an polite. Rooms are always kleep and comfortable.A very good SPA is available and some good restaurants can be reached even walking. Medellin is a pretty town with an interesting nightlife. To mak the long story short, that is a wonderful and relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Address: Calle 16 No. 28-51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Medellin
#11 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#14 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Medellin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.