We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of In House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added In House to your Saves list
In House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera #34 7-109 | Provenza, Medellin, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Great value for your money. The hotel is located in a great area, close to transportation, nightlife, and restaurants. We organized an airport pick-up and drop-off through the hotel and had zero problems. Breakfast was included in our booking, which was great, because we didn't have to hunt for breakfast each morning. This helps when your planned activities keep you really busy.

The hosts at the hotel were extremely helpful and pleasant.

Location: across the street are two or three restaurants. Right next door is a great ribs joint. Around the corner is the only Indian restaurant, at the time of this review. A couple of blocks down is Calle 10. Long walk, but doable to the metro. Near malls.

Hotel: Modern. Lacking nothing. Beds are firm, but I had no problems with it.

Verdict: I would stay again - without question.

PS: It helps a lot if you know Spanish or spanglish. :) But then again, your entire stay in Medellin is more comfortable if you know a little Spanish.

******************************************************

Gran valor por su dinero. El hotel está situado en una zona fantástica, cerca del transporte, vida nocturna y restaurantes. Hemos organizado una recogida en el aeropuerto y vuelta a través del hotel y tenía cero problemas. El desayuno estaba incluido en nuestra reserva, lo cual era genial, ya que no tuvimos que cazar para el desayuno cada mañana. Esto ayuda cuando sus actividades programadas mantienen muy ocupados.

Los anfitriones en el hotel era muy servicial y agradable.

Ubicación: al otro lado de la calle hay dos o tres restaurantes. Justo al lado hay un gran conjunto costillas. Vuelta de la esquina es el único restaurante indio, en el momento de esta revisión. Un par de manzanas más abajo es Calle 10. Caminata, pero factible al metro. Cerca de centros comerciales.

Hotel: Moderno. Al carecer de nada. Las camas son firmes, pero no tuve ningún problema con ella.

Veredicto: Me alojaría de nuevo - sin duda.

PS: Ayuda mucho si sabes español o spanglish. :) Pero, de nuevo, toda su estancia en Medellín es más cómodo si sabes un poco de español.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to write your comment. It is very satisfactory to read this opinion, we will continue working to improve day by day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
48
22
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here. They had fantastic breakfasts--we had eggs and arepas perfectly prepared. In House is close to many restaurants and cafes and parks. Absolutely superb! Super-comfortable and clean rooms. Helpful, accommodating, intelligent hosts. They recommended a great vegetarian restaurant for us, Verdeo. It's in the El Poblado neighborhood, the best one, but not in the noisy part. They will call and arrange any outings you want to do. For us they got us on a tour to Guatape (recommended)! I made the mistake of asking about the Pablo Escobar tour. This was insensitive of me, and I later read that you should never mention this tour to a Colombian. On one of these tours you get your picture taken with Escobar's brother. So needless to say, we did not go on this tour. These people lived through those terrible times. (I believe there is another Escobar tour that does not include the brother.) In House was one of the things about Medellin that made it our favorite part of our trip.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or swimming pool but TripAdvisor made me rate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your opinion, it is very satisfactory for us to know that our work is done well. We hope to have you again as our guest again In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Located in a very lush area of Medellin, we found the In House to be everything as advertised and more. The staff were very friendly, and Sylvia and Marta made us feel very much at home. Each day we were greeted in the morning with a smiling face and friendly chats about what our plans for the day were. These chats led to discussions and tips that made the day even more eventful. The rooms were clean, comfortable and affordable. The district itself is a little pricey for meals compared to other areas of Medellin. But the location and easy access to one of the best Metro systems in the world made venturing out a breeze. As many of the narrow streets in the area have twists and turns, crossing the street can be a little challenging as drivers speed around blind corners. Overall loved it and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 102 on the lower level and it had a little private patio with table and chair outback. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, we are very happy to have guests like you.
I Hope you have a happy journey for these months and learn much Spanish for your next visit to our Hotel, your House in Medellin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was fantastic!

Clean, affordable, cute, and close to Parque Lleras the center of Medellin night life. Since it is located in the trendy El Poblado neighborhood, you are close to shopping, public transportation and all sorts of entertainment, banking, currency exchanging, etc..

The staff is wonderful, and service is personalized. We got a room with a patio!!

I recommend this place 100%!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, we are happy to have guests like you, the hope again In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Excellent location, close to Parque Lleras andnice restaurants in Provenza. The room is not so big but with a very nice decoration, very clean, very nice stuff (helpful and informative) and very affordable. The breakfast is good for the price of the room. It also has a very nice roof deck in which you can hang out with friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank You very much for your coments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I came here and got a twin room with a friend. For the minimal amount we paid, I think the hotel's design and location was incredible value. It is good to be off the beaten track, I have been to Medellín 6 times and until I stayed at In House I had no idea that there were cool watering holes at the upper end of the décima

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank You for your coments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, new mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at the In House Hotel a year ago and had a very nice experience. On a return trip I stayed here again and was also pleased. If you read the reviews of this hotel you get an accurate picture. The Hotel is well located, clean , affordable, and the staff is anxious to please. I have stayed at a few other hotels in the area and there are plenty to choose from. What you find with others is that the negatives are larger and the positives smaller. I don't speak Spanish but that is my problem. The staff has changed a bit since i last stayed here and they do speak enough English to be helpful if you meet them halfway by knowing some Spanish. The point is - the place is secure, comfortable, and the Hotel wants you to have a good stay. If you want more amenities you can pay more for them elsewhere. I continue to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silviatrujillot, Gerente at In House, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you, we are happy to have guests like you, we hope to have you again at In House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to In House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In House

Address: Carrera #34 7-109 | Provenza, Medellin, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 91 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at one of the most prestigious neighborhoods of Medellín (Provenza). Easy to reach from any airport, few minutes away from the financial sector and one of the majors malls of the city near Lleras Park and one of the most elegant and exquisite restaurants. We count on 13 Zen-type rooms, inspired on Nature's harmony, all of them are specially designed to provide the comfort and tranquility you are looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your In House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.