We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Arcadia Hostel to your Saves list
Arcadia Hostel
Calle 11A, No. 31A-188 | Poblado, 5 min walk from zona rosa, parque Lleras, Medellin 05001000, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
brighton
1 review
“The best experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

eventhough it was a dificult time because of "feria de flores" and every hostel was full and expensive, because is a peak season of Medellin, Arcadia hostel staff gave me a good price and good advice of every event of the festival... i want to comeback next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    23
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
24
49
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
medellin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I've been in this hostel for 1 month cause i've been robbed in a club and i hadn't my credit card to pay and leave the hostel. But that's not the reason why i considered Arcadia Hostel so terrible. The Hostel, managed by Spyros ( a guy from Greece) is very disorganized. You can expect, once you arrived, that your reservation made by website like this or Hostelworld.com is not valid cause the hostel is already overbooked. But what that made me more angry was Spyros, without advicing me, has applied different prices week by week. First 15000COP, then 18000COP, then 20000COP for the 8 bed dorm! The surprise has arrived once i asked the bill! Great Spyros! Honesty is a rare thing nowadays!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia_hostel, Owner at Arcadia Hostel, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Everyboddy knew and accept the prices gladly since most of the hostels (during the ferria de la flores which is the biggest festival of the city, all the accomodations prices rise) charge 25 mile pesos and more for dormitories!We informed everybody about the prices change and all were happy with it and even if they didn`t knew they accept the defference since my hostel was one of the cheapest charging only 20 mile for dorm and having free panckaces and coffee all day long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Very close to Zona Rosa and all the nightlife in Medellin. Feels more like a home than a hostal and has all the amenities you would expect at a high price hotel. There is even a private suite with two floors and private balcony and jacuzzi in the room. The staff is extremely friendly and willing to take you on all excursions at night and during the day like their own unique Pablo Escobar tour. I would never stay anywhere else in Medellin and especially never stay at any other hostel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Arcadia brings you into the middle of the action without the mayhem and noise often experienced in similarly located hostels. It's a relaxed and pleasant place to spend time and slow things down a little before you turn it back up again with Medellin's incredible nightlife.
Spyros the owner is a lot of fun .. he organizes regular fiestas with local paisas and don't miss the Greek Barbeque every Sunday(costs 12000COP & worth every Peso!).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Arcadia was a wonderful place to stay. The owner and staff are friendly and always willing to lend a hand. They were full of good advice for places to visit, eat and how to get around. Also they can set up a reservation or get you a ticket for your next destination if you are passing through, which can be very helpful when you don't know the bus schedule.

The dorms were cozy and the beds very comfortable. Plus there are full size lockers if you want to lock up. And it would be criminal not to mention how awesome the showers were. Steaming hot water and amazing pressure! There was a full kitchen where you can cook, there is always fresh coffee and there are pancakes every morning.

The location is great as it is within a few minutes walk of Parque Lleras, the center of nightlife in Poblado. It is also close to a few shopping malls if you need to pick something up. The Poblado metro station is only about a 20 minute walk, connecting you with the rest of the city.

Every Sunday the owner hosts a Greek style BBQ, for guests as well as friends not staying at the hostel. The food is always great! Also there is free wi-fi if you need to get connected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

After a long trip it was great to find a hostal with the best hot shower, little things make a great hostal for backpackers. The owner made u feel welcome n he was very helpful. Plus the free wifi, coffee all day n pancakes for breakfast. Very relaxing place would come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stayed in the Arcadia Hostel with my wife in March. Great location in the middle of the Zona Rosa! A very safe neighborhood and 5 minute walk from the clubs, restaurants, and food stores. I was impressed with this Hostel just as much as I was with Medellin. Clean, spacious dorms and private rooms, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast and the owner, a European guy is very friendly and helpful. Whether you want to party or go sightseeing, he will guide you where to go and what to do. When we stayed there he showed us around the Zona Rosa. He speaks fluent Spanish and English and is very knowledgeable of the local culture. BIG THUMBS UP for the Arcadia Hostel!

Room Tip: The Suite is beautiful and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Hostel

Address: Calle 11A, No. 31A-188 | Poblado, 5 min walk from zona rosa, parque Lleras, Medellin 05001000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia hostel is a new hostel in Medellin Colombia the city of eternal spring located just 5min walk of the most exclusive and safe area of Medellin parque Lleras Poblado! The idea is to have really good times in a very nice relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Arcadia Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.