We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel with friendly staff and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wandering Paisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wandering Paisa to your Saves list
The Wandering Paisa
Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 | Laureles, Medellin, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hostel with friendly staff and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I highly recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Medellin. It is very safe, clean, and has a great atmosphere for all. There is a bar where at night the staff and guests can get to know one another before going out for the night, making this place a lot of fun. Having been to a few hostels, when a place works to create that sort environment, you wish more would follow suit. The facilities are good, and prices very reasonable.

Room Tip: In the mornings the street can become noisy, so try to avoid those facing the street if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    14
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
4
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cali, Colombia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We loved everythin about this hostel, the place, the staff, the dorms... and is very safe which was 1 of our main concern. very nice people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed for eight nights in this hostel in mid-January and felt at home here due to my very limited Spanish skills, as the staff at reception all spoke excellent English. They have a cosy bar area for getting to know other backpackers, 24hr reception, a free salsa lesson once a week, Spanish lessons with Giselle, if you need them, advice on the walls of what to do in Medellin and there is a little restaurant 20 mtrs. away for cheap meals. I must give a special thank you to the ladies at reception-Giselle and Diana-for their kind help and general overall pleasantness. They are an asset to the hostel and to Medellin. I will stay here again when I come back to Medellin next year. My spanish will be much better by then; promise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent 6 nights in TWP and could have stayed longer. The facilities are great (kitchen, bar, lounge), the location wonderful (close to a lively high street in a safe area) and the staff are really amazing. Kudos to the owners and staff for creating such an open and friendly environment, the Thursday night karaoke is legendary.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Let me start off by saying that having been to Poblado twice now, I will never go back there. In Laureles I actually feel like I'm in Colombia, even if it's a middle class area. Poblado is full of rich people, you see Porsche and BMW's regularly and I felt like I was back in the states. This hostel is the most organized hostel I have ever been to, everything works like a well oiled machine. They have 24 hour reception, so you have no issue coming in late or getting a cab early. They have a great little bar that really brings people together. The TV area is great too, with a Wii and tons of movies on a WD Media player. The prices in this area a lot cheaper than Poblado as well. They're really close to three big supermarkets, and the metro is very close. They have salsa night, movie night, karaoke, and language exchange. A board on the wall outlines the weeks activities, so you always know what's going on. The girls working the front are very helpful and will answer any question you have, they also speak very good English. The owners are there often and they're really friendly and you really feel welcome. You can't go wrong by staying here, I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The private rooms are good, I did not see the dorms but I have no reason to think they would be any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Very friendly staff make you feel at home. I stayed 3 nights in this hostel as they are close to the salsa places in the zona rosa. there are supermarkets close to the hostel and the overground metro is also a short walk. I stayed in an en-suite room and was very happy. The hostel also has interesting social events like the free salsa class and language exchange.
Would certainly stay there again as the helpful staff made my stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011 via mobile

The hostel is clean, the price is great, the staff is awesome (they all speak english too) and you are a 5 minute walk from the metro so its easy to get anywhere in Medellin.

Also, they host great events and have awesome parties (for both locals and backpackers/tourists), but the best part is they have a very relaxed atmosphere during the day and on off nights. You get the best of both worlds here.

In summary: highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wandering Paisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wandering Paisa

Address: Calle 44 A No. 68 A 76 | Laureles, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The authentic Paisa Backpackers experience! Centrally located and closest to the Metro and the "Local Zona Rosa". Safe, clean, and relaxing. Managed by an American and a Colombian, we seek to immerse travellers in the local "Paisa" culture while providing them with a safe and comfortable place to stay. We have the most comfortable beds in Medellin, along with hand painted murals in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Wandering Paisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wandering Paisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.