We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, High Quality, a bit loud” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlee

Save Saved
You added The Charlee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Charlee
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle 9A 37 16 | Parque Lleras, Medellin, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 87 hotels in Medellin
Santa Marta, Colombia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hip, High Quality, a bit loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I loved my stay at the Charlee hotel. The design is modern, chic, and slightly hipster. I almost felt like I was in a Brooklyn warehouse apartment or a restaurant in the Meatpacking district of NYC. The staff was very helpful - I order room service and it was not only reasonably priced, but high quality and deliver quickly. I also ate at their restaurant on the first floor. It is open air just over the street and has good Italian food. The rooftop bar is an incredible sight. You can see the whole city of Medellin from this open air bar. If you go during the day, you can swim in the pool (It has glass sides to take pictures or feel like you are in an aquarium). I also worked out at the impressive gym with an equally impressive view of the city. The downside is that it got pretty loud late at night, which made it hard to sleep, and I felt as thought some of the details in the room were not maintained perfectly. Also, the cement floor stays cold all time and the heating/air conditioning didn't seem to react when we changed the temperature.

Room Tip: All rooms have a deck that over looks Parque Lleras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    28
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
28
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Charlee is a great choice. It has nothing to envy the W brand and more personalized. The location is perfect, the rooms are top notch and the Gym and the roof-top club (Envy @ Charlee) are all top class. Beautiful people go to the hotel to work out and/or enjoy an exclusive night.
The service was great (as you will almost find everywhere in Medellin). The reviews warn you about the noise, this part is true. Then again you are in the middle of everything and you don't need to go anywhere in a car if you are there... so I was glad to put up with the noise.
Juan Valdez coffee shop literally outside of the hotel and Hooters about half a block from the entrance.
Overall very pleased.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 7th floor and that made the noise (street - Bottom of hotel and club -roof-top) some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel seems like has been opened by someone who has no experience and job running the hotel business. It is a nice hotel with good décor with appalling service. Asked for a room service which they said would be there in 15 min, called after half an hour and they had forgot to place an order. My room had connection for iPhone music, but was not working. The staff said they will send someone to look into it, but never did. After repeated enquiries no response. Asked for extra towels which never came. The list is endless.

Compared to the other hotels nearby, it is very expensive for Medellin. I would strongly stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Stay away from this Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is wonderful but they should have informed us that the rooftop bar was closed during our entire stay. Well, maybe it means we have to go back to check it out after refurbishment. Try to get the higher rooms, less noise and great views from the balcony. You can't miss Avenida Primavera which is around the corner of the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Friendly English speaking staff in a fun and cool hotel. Fantastic pool on roof. Saturday pool parties unbelievable. Great rooms designer suites with huge balconies. Perfect location for heading out for the bar scene

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very trendy hotel in the Hot Spot part of town. Nice restaurant bar, with good breakfast, fabulous room with HUGE balcony in every room, like almost size of the room, which is fantastic considering how temperate the weather is, and with no bugs, i left the sliding door open. Great gym, pool is a "show" pool, not a "Swimming" pool. Only issue is the hotel is in a very loud part of town, and all room look out over the bars. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed in the Charlee last weekend, 7th floor with Jaccuzi on the balcony. The room was outstanding, with great facilities, nice decor and a fantastic view. The spa is very big, and the furniture on the balcony is great. Room service was excellent, the bed very comfortable, and a large shower topped it off. The mini bar is very well stacked and although we had our own champas, when we asked for an ice bucket etc it arrived within minutes. The valet car service was also slick.
The negatives were: check-in literally takes forever. No idea why theyhave implemented such an intensive system but we were there for a long, long time. Breakfast is OK, nothing to rave about at all and the service was a little slow. Would be great to see a decent buffet in a Medellin hotel. The room can be noisy due to the activities in Park Lleras, cannot get around that really.

Security seemed good and you need to swipe your card in the elevator to stop at your floor. As stated before, the Envy bar is great and the gym is amazing.

Room Tip: If there on a night where the have a DJ a mid level room might be the way to go due to the DJ noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charlee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlee

Address: Calle 9A 37 16 | Parque Lleras, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charlee 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Charlee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charlee Hotel Medellin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.