We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service at the front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HOSTAL CASA RAM

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added HOSTAL CASA RAM to your Saves list
HOSTAL CASA RAM
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calle 11 A No. 42 -05, Medellin 00574, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 78 Medellin B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“First class service at the front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed three nights in this hostal. We were impressed by the kindness of the staff at the front desk. They had no problem paying our travel on Viva Colombia with their own credit card as you need a Colombian credit card. They also helped us finding a more suitable room and ensured it was kept free. It is excellent quality for money. The only downside when we stayed is that simulataneously there was a large group of guests which were drinking and singing all night and kept us awake and they all got up at 6:00 am also not respecting other guests. Bad luck I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
10
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I was in Medellin for four days/3 nights for work - stupidly, I stayed at a $60/night hotel for the first two nights, and this was a HUGE mistake. RAM was squeaky clean, huge, had strong internet (in the common areas, but there's plenty of seating at tables and couches to work from), the private rooms were perfect (I was forced to choose between the one with the lovely ambient noise from a waterfall and the one that gets good sun in the morning, talk about twisting my arm), the kitchen was great, the people were so nice, the location was excellent - I could go on and on. I didn't get a big party feel (there weren't many guests) but since I was there for work, this was exactly what I was hoping for. I like a hard mattress, so I was happy, and slept like a rock. If I am ever in Medellin for business again, I will forget the stupid stuffy hotels and go straight to Casa Ram.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week. From the moment I arrived, George (the owner) showed me around emphasising on the various amenities - Big fully facilitated kitchen, 40inch flat screen TV, seating area, computer, swimming pool, ample toilets and showers (with hot water and great pressure) - that I should make myself at home! With the supermarket a minute walk away it wasn't difficult. The metro is a 10 walk. The location is in an affluent area, which makes the reasonable prices if the rooms seem surprisingly low for all you get. The bedrooms and bathrooms are unusual and are cleaned everyday by wonderful girls. I can't recommend this hostel highly enough. For a single female traveller I felt safe and well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a lovely place, a great reprieve from the busyness of Medellin. Fantastic location near some great restaurants and places to go out in the evening. Just a 10 minute walk to the metro stop. The owner and other staff are super friendly and helpful. I wasn't too impressed by the pool (seemed a bit dirty) but it could be a good dip if it gets really hot.
It was nice to have some coffee in the morning.
We had a private room, and this is where I knock off a star - we had originally booked a regular room with a private bathroom, and there was a mix up that resulted in our having to change rooms after the first night. We ended up in an upgraded suite which was nice (though the open bathroom ceiling, shower in dirty jacuzzi, and no door was a little offputting). However, we also ended up paying the upgraded price as well, which wouldn't have happened if the reservation had gone as expected. I feel as though many hotels would eat the cost since it was their error, but we did pay the higher rate. But as this was the only issue we had, I'd still recommend the place.

Room Tip: I didn't see the dorms, but heard good things. Think the private rooms and suites are slightly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at Hostal Casa Ram. The staff are excellent and friendly, the dorm rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom area is clean with wonderful showers. The pool is very relaxing. Also you can take a yoga class there with a great guy named Miquel, he is an excellent teacher and gives you a wonderful yoga experience.
I would recommend this place to people who want a relaxing time, on the weekends it was full with some party people but during the week it is very calm and peaceful with the party if you want just a short walk across the street to Parque Lleras. It is very close to to Parque del Poblado, and very short walk to the metro. Great location, great service and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Casa Ram hostel / hotel is close to public transport, across the road from a suermarket and an easy place to stay.
In less than ten minutes you can walk to the meto station and go to the cable car that takes you up to the crowded, noisy, fascinating area on the side of the mountains.

Jorge and Pablo are a very helpful and speaks English. The kitchen is well equipped with a central island of three gas rings.
Great shower block wth sunflower heads, almost instant hot water rwith good pressure. The dorm sleeps 14 in 7 bunk beds. There are no windows but open wooden slats high in the wall. Guests sleep with the heavy steel door open. It feels safe and secure.

The pool and garden are a bonus. It is easy to forget the city is just outside the front door.
The Casa Ram was one of three hostels recommended to me by the young man at the tourist office in the bus station. It was a good choice and I stayed four nights

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetia61
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

i staied in this hostal for a week in february. The hostal is awsome with a private garden that realy make you feel in peace, the room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpfull . in a 10 minutes walk you can reach the metro station of el pueblado that brings you everywhere. The locacion of the hostal is great in a very good neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOSTAL CASA RAM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOSTAL CASA RAM

Address: Calle 11 A No. 42 -05, Medellin 00574, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — HOSTAL CASA RAM 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ram is a an oasis of nature and tranquility just 5 minutes away from all bars and restaurants from 'El Poblado'. Here you can also enjoy the comfort of a hotel at the price of a hostel.We have a large and diverse offer of accommodation suited for budget-wise travelers until private suits from people looking for more space and more intimacy. Everybody can enjoy of our swimming pool during sunny days. We have spacious, design, comfortable common rooms as well as a bar and a restaurant. The central part of the hostel is a large patio where you can discuss with other guests or simply enjoying the sun while listening to the birds that comes to our oasis of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your HOSTAL CASA RAM reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOSTAL CASA RAM, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.