We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow House Hostel

Yellow House Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Yellow House Hostel to your Saves list
Yellow House Hostel
Cra 81a N 47a-48, Medellin, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Loved the hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel. It was extremely chilled out and quiet. The owner is wonderful and makes a great breakfast! His staff are great too! The hostel had a very homey feel to it. Bathrooms were clean and the 2 ply toilet paper felt like a major upgrade!! Hot showers were an added upgrade! The hostel was clean and safe and comfortable. It was conveniently located close to the train station so getting places was not an issue at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    21
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
19
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had stayed at Yellow House last May for at least two weeks. The owner Vince is very welcoming! It feels like home. There are really nice rooms to rent if you want some privacy or a dormlike atmosphere downstairs. For a little extra you can have breakfast and he is an excellent cook. By far the best breakfast and coffee. He is after all from France. Nice patio in the back that is really quiet. There are two dogs who are always on the job. They at least make you feel safe and they are pretty big but really friendly once they know you. I highly reccomend this place if you like a comunal setting and a great breakfast.

Patrick

Room Tip: One room in the front upstairs has its own little porch. It is the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Two of us recently stayed for a few days at the Yellow House in a private room with bath. The manager Vince is helpful and active around the hostel. A nice garden area is in the rear. There is very good security overall since Vince or his assistant must let you in or out of the place by unlocking the front gate. Our only complaint has to do with the two large dogs that live at the hostel. They are very people friendly but whenever someone walks past the front door, usually after dark, they bark like crazy, and their very loud noise is heard throughout the hostel. So if you don't mind loud barking erupting at random times the Yellow House will be fine for you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowHouse H, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest,i thank you for posting your review about our hostel,not enough poeple do it so i really apreciate it.
I would like to add a little clarification about the dogs,they don't shout night and day but it 's trueh that between 18h and 20h they are more awake,but you should have told us this when you were there,there is nothing more simple to keep the dogs in another part of the house,you were in the front room,the one with the balcony (which is my favorite),it is true this room is closed to the entrance door and the street so it might be more noisy sometimes,i apologie about this,
I would like to say to every one that in most cases the problem is easy to solve if you let us know when you are on the spot.i could give another room easily or put the dogs in the backyard.
I would like to remind that our priority is to accommodate everyone in a comfortable bed in a clean bedroom and a clean house (even if we have two dogs), where you will not be disturbed at night time during your sleep by party seekers not respectful of others, it goes without saying that our main preocupatiuon is that each costumer leave very satisfied with his stay,
thank you for reading me,
Vince.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reading a lot of good reviews, we went to this hostel. It is close to a metro station and in a residential area, not too far from a supermarket. The two dogs are very cute. There were a lot of people in the hostel, which had only one bathroom for everyone. There was a constant cue for the shower. The kitchen wasn't clean and ants were crawling out of the cutting board. The garden was nice and it was nice sitting outside in the evening. The owner is a nice French guy. We left after the first night because we didn't sleep well.
We had a bussiness card for this hostel which said there would be a pool table and breakfast was included. Both things were not true, so we were a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowHouse H, Owner at Yellow House Hostel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
dear guest,thanks for your review,
i am sorry for all these improprieties,sometimes the hostel is full and sometimes it is empty,when it's full the house is a little bit more messy as the kitchen or the bathroom,if several persons want to have a shower a the same time,that makes a cue,
now about the free breakfast and the pool table,we don't have the pool table any more,we made a dorm instead,and we don't includ breakfast anymore,but how can we do if you have an old business card in your hand and if we made some changes since so,if you had told me about the breakfast,i would have included without any problem,as we allways do in this case,it is easyer to talk about this face to face when you are still in the hostel,you left a low rating for the room and cleaness,i clean the house night and day and the kithchen is cleand everyday several time,and our beds are confortable,i am ready to offer the all stay to the one who will show me that the hostel is dirty somewhere,thank you,
vincent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We used this place as a base while visiting the West coast and coffee country in the South. Vince the owner is really accommodating. When we turned up one day early from our original booking he managed to squeeze us in even though the hostel was fully booked. The hostel is very clean, adequate number of bathrooms with hot showers and good WIFI all round. Most important the beds are good! Breakfast is not included in the price but you can pay extra for a range of options, you can also use the kitchen and laundry is also available. Its situated 2 streets away from Floresta Metro, lots of restaurants, supermarket and the stadium.

Room Tip: Might need earplugs as some people wake up really early and talk as if they are the only ones stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here based on reviews from trip advisor, overall we were happy with our decision. The first night we were in a tiny room with no natural light, we were disappointed with this room however we did arrive late so thats the room that was left, the owners both acknowledged it was not a nice room and they would move us as soon as possible. We were much happier with the second room which was large with a window. Unfortunately the first night in this large room was a little noisy as people were speaking outside right next to our window at midnight even though there were signs not to use the communal areas after 10pm for that reason, so I don't think it's the fault of the hostel at all. The breakfast is additional cost but great breakfast and excellent value. Location safe, close to restaurants and metro station. friendly and helpful owner. We were fully aware that this was a hostel not a hotel so i dont expect the same leaning service, but when you put toilet paper in the bin I really think the bin should be changed daily, especially in hot weather, even if the room is not cleaned. Overall though I think this is good option if you are on a budget, Medellin is not a cheap place so I think for Medellin this is a good value place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After spending 2 miserable nights at another hostel in Medellin, we moved to the Yellow House Hostel and couldn't be happier that we did. Unfortunately our time in this city has been marred by sickness, so we really just wanted to find someplace comfortable where we can nurse ourselves back to health, but also convenient to local attractions for when we felt up to moving about. The Yellow House Hostel is perfect. It's very clean, and you would never know that its home to 2 beautiful, sweet, and harmless dogs. They take pride in being in a chill, non-party hostel, so rest assured, you will sleep well here. We had a private room with shared bathroom, and the bed is comfy and the room very large. The hostel is literally 2 blocks from the Metro and super close to a ton of great restaurants, cafes, and supermarkets. It's also nice being in the middle of a safe and lovely residential neighborhood- it's a nice change from the bustling downtown area. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Yellow House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow House Hostel

Address: Cra 81a N 47a-48, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Yellow House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow House Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.