We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Boutique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Art Hotel Boutique to your Saves list
Art Hotel Boutique
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 41 Calle 9-31 | Zona Rosa - El Poblado, Medellin 40000, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salento, Quindio, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel to spend the night. It has a friendly and helpfull staff and great accomodations. Even though there were reservations for two, they allowed us to add a third person (which was me) in a short time notice. I really liked the pillows. They were very comfortable and dont hurt your ears (like some others do). There is underground parking included, It's kind of cool since its a platform where you park your car and they just lower it to the basement. but I dont think it can fit more than 4 or 5 cars in that little basement, so if you are traveling in a big truck, there might be a problem. just fyi.
Night time activities are at hand in the nicest place of medellin witch is just a few blocks away. There are some malls as well at walking distance. Breakfast was buffet style but delicious. What i did not like was the TV channel options.. not good channels at all. they do offer a dvd player though. Overall, it was a great place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    127
    49
    26
    15
See reviews for
34
139
49
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft lauderdale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

First trip to Medellin. Very nice hotel and staff. Very good location. Worst room service and food and a pitiful excuse for a gym. Nice room. Much better choices in the same area available for a few more dollars so I would choose the Charlee hotel instead.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Marcus Magice

This hotel was very stylish. From the sealed concrete floors to the stucco sink. It is a great place to spend with your special person and watch movies or television all night or day. Most hotels have a cheap and inexpensive look about them but this hotel makes you want to stay indoors. It has an open roof and you can hear it raining during the daytime and the sound of birds also. I was very surprised by the home like atmosphere in the room I stayed in. You can walk around with wearing much because the room is naturally warm.

I generally would stay away from hotel food because it is expensive and not much better than what the street vendors offer but the food was great and the location is even better. Parque Lleras and all the night life, restaurants, and needs surround this location. I can say that the location overall reduced the amount I had to spend and Oviedo Mall is only a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel has a really good feel to it. You feel you are in different world when you are in it. The rooms are beautiful and the staff are super friendly. The Spa was a bit small but the breakfast was excellent and the location is good, Overall, I would say this is one of the best hotels in Medellin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Excellent hotel in a nice neighborhood convenient to "Zona Rosa" where there were many very good restaurants / bars. Hotel staff was excellent and helpful. Breakfast wasn't as comprehensive as some we've had in South America but food quality was very good. Took a bit of time to get over all the bare industrial concrete used in rooms - but not distracting. The only reason this hotel didn't get an excellent from us was the issue with "disco" noise. Very close to the hotel are also a number of discos (one directly across street, in fact) that had awful thumping music until 3 or 4 am Thurs. through Sat nights - and then the obligatory drunken shouting when they closed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior. Should decrease the disco noise from across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Art Hotel is a few blocks from the main square in Medellin. The hotel has a large lobby with comfortable chairs, interesting artwork and tall ceilings. It's a great place to hang out with friends at the end of the day. There is also a theatre showing old films each night. Also on the first floor is a small eating area where breakfast is served in the morning. The breakfast buffet wasn't very extensive, but they will make an omlet to order if you ask. I was in room 503, which is the top floor. The room did not have much of a view, but was quiet and dark since it didn't face the main street. Air conditioning seemed to vary from room to room. The A/C in my room was barely adequate, one friend had to be moved because there was little air and another friend's room was plenty cold.

My room was small, but fine for one person. There was a queen sized bed with attached nightstands and a thin, long ottoman which worked well for putting suitcases on. The sink was outside of the toilet/shower area, but was very tiny with no room for toiletries. On the other hand, the toilet area and shower were huge with a nice, forceful rain showerhead. The bed was a bit on the hard side, but the pillows were comfortable. The wi fi was free and the fastest I had on the entire trip. There were very few outlets - and none by the bedside, which was a problem for some in my group. The hotel itself had a dark feel about it. There was very little light coming into the room or the Lobby. I liked the look of the hotel. Others in my group did not. You can take the stairs to the rooftop to get a great view of the city. I don't recommend having dinner at this hotel. I arrived late the first night and just decided to order dinner on the first floor. I was the only person ordering food and it took 1-1/2 hours to finally get food. I should have gone out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
207 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
599 helpful votes 599 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Art Hotel is a modern 6-story building in a great location just one block from restaurants, bars, shops, atm’s, etc. yet on a quiet side street. My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late Feb. ‘12 on a small group tour and would definitely recommend it for independent travelers as well. Our one hesitation regards transportation – we can’t really comment on how easy it would be to get to tourist sites since this was taken care of for us.

As the name suggests, the Art Hotel is focused on modern art. Throughout the public areas and the guest rooms the decor is modern and minimalist, with pieces of modern art displayed everywhere. We found this attractive and symbolic of Medellin’s recent progress.

Our room (#305) was large with a very comfortable king-sized bed. There were two large windows with blinds, a small writing desk, built-in night stands, a funky chaise lounge, a good-sized closet with several drawers and a safe. Oddly, there were no luggage stands. The bathroom was large and had a separate vanity area with just a small amount of counterspace. The decor was trendy/stylish polished concrete. There was a separate room for the toilet and a large rain shower. Wifi worked well.

The buffet breakfast was in a pleasant open area off the lobby. There was a good selection of fruit, cereal, yogurt, eggs, breads.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here very much and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco M, Gerente at Art Hotel Boutique, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Medellín and thank you for sharing your experiece with other travellers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to learn you enjoyed the Hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you at ART HOTEL BOUTIQUE MEDELLIN in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Boutique

Address: Carrera 41 Calle 9-31 | Zona Rosa - El Poblado, Medellin 40000, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Boutique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel is a boutique hotel in central Medellin, featuring exposed brick and modern art. It is 1700 ft from El Poblado Metro Station and one mile from Medellin Convention Center.Rooms and suites at Art Hotel are stylish, with designer lighting and chaise lounges. All rooms have TVs with a DVD player. Some rooms have extra living space and luxurious bathrooms. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the building.Art Hotel has a wine bar, as well as an art gallery and movie theater. Guests can also use the Turkish bath and sauna.Located in the Poblado area, the hotel is near Lleras Park, where there are many restaurants and bars. Parking at Art Hotel is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Boutique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.