We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it but it's a party hostel - Ignore these negative reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PitStop Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added PitStop Hostel to your Saves list
PitStop Hostel
Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love it but it's a party hostel - Ignore these negative reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow I couldn't believe how many negative reviews were posted. I LOVE THE PITSTOP. I should preface by saying we stayed in the two best rooms in the hostel Reidys Pad and Hilton. Both are well worth it. Reidys pad is the quietest and has a nice private patio. Hilton has a nicer bathroom but is over check in so noisier and no patio. Both private rooms were hotel quality. I used the public bathrooms (they have quite a few) and they were all cleaned and well maintained.

Yes this is a party hostel, however they have a VERY strict no noise after midnight policy. A big Colombia guy that works the night desk will keep telling you to be quiet towards midnight, and then when midnight hits, he's shuffling you into your room or the TV room. Totally fair.

You can walk about 8 minutes to the nightlife but cabs in Medellin are cheap.

The pool is a nice touch but the STEAM ROOM (turkish steam / sauna) is easily missed and a very nice touch to the hostel. They would turn it on anytime without a fee. The basketball court isn't the greatest because it is tiled and causes the ball to bounce in an odd manor. The bar staff do a good job about showing you around the city and after the bar closes around 11pm there is a group going out.

Someone was complaining about 57,000 pesos to the airport. THAT IS A CITY REGULATED FARE from anywhere in the city. I can't believe someone would complain about that. They'll also explain how to get to the airport the cheapest (cab or metro to commerical center, cab is 10,000p) then a bus to the airport, but was either 7000 or 15000 cant remember but if your 3 people the taxi is a no brainer, even with 2 people it's reasonable considering it's an hour ride.

The irish gentlemen at the bar spins good house music but the hostel crowd is hit or miss. When we first stayed there it was a sausage fest, then when we came back about a week later it was a healthy mix. Hostel can't be blamed for this. However every night people are going out so its a great way to see the city in the safety of the group and splitting taxis helped. Besides Medellin is packed with hot ladies, so no worries once you go out.

If your trying to book an Avianca flight and found your credit card isnt' accepted, there is a grocery store called "EXITO" which has a travel agency, we were able to snag prices of flights about 10-20% cheaper then booking engines like expedia. Really stupid Avianca won't take forign credit cards, I have a higher end travel card and am insulted a Star Alliance partner would decline my card.

There is some decent fast food close by and they all deliver. Try megapizza or claudio express (chicken nugget meal), its some good stuff. The only complaint I have with the hostel is the wifi is terrible. It disconnects periodically, and it can be hard to obtain an IP if your not close to the lobby. Heck one time a small file I was downloading slowed down to under 1kp/s, couldn't believe my eyes. There are 3 public termainls for you to use with a small fee. Expect at best 50-60 kp/s on their connection.

The hostel is also happy to order in spanish food for you. If you drink 30 beers (3000pesos each) you get a tee shirt.... I GOT A TEE SHIRT :p

They also take credit card but charge 4% which I feel is reasonable. They respond very quickly by email so I would email ahead if you want a bed. Initially I wanted to stay at Casa Kiwi but it seems easier to get a date with Ms. Colombia then book a room with them.

As a tip, if you do feel like boozin, your best bet is buying a 375ml bottle of rum from the bar, I think it was 23,000p which at the supermarket costs 13,000p, so a small markup and then you can buy cola's from the reception.

Pitstop, your my second home next time I come to Medellin. Stay there and form your own opinion. I bet half the negative reviews of this place could be solved with a set of ear plugs.

Room Tip: Reidys pad, stop counting your pesos and just book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    43
    20
    18
    12
See reviews for
2
20
42
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hostel looks good when you see it first but has absolutely no vibe at all. It would have been terrible if we hadn't met some other great travellers while there. That made the no-atmosphere bar a bit more fun at least. The staff here, with one of two exceptions, are simply not bothered. The taxi to the airport is a total ripoff at 57000 cop and they don't really give you any other options. The location is a good bit out of town so you pretty much have to take taxis at night. Our room was pretty small but the shower was good. Overall though, I'm sure there are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hostel is the worst place I came across during my entire trip. The staff were very unhelpful, there was no food (minus some dubious-looking kebabs on a BBQ), very little place to safely store possessions, very few bathroom facilities and the rooms were so hot, smelly and sweaty I ended up sleeping in the TV room. The other travellers seemed to have two interests - coke and booze - and few had actually left the hostel since arriving in Medellin. Neither guests nor staff seemed at all bothered by someone getting bottled in the face by another traveller (which resulted in pools of blood all over the terrace which remained there until we left the following day). Needless to say We checked in first thing the following morning in a terrible mood. The run down hotel we ended up in in the red-light district seemed luxurious in comparison...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed there just for one night, and was terrible.
The place is a total mess. I've never seen a kitchen like there before. Everything was dirty and destroyed. They didn't even have the basic stuff to cook, but they say they have a kitchen in their website. We couldn't cook properly.

They have stupid strict rules like a timetable for the kitchen, you can't have breakfast until 8 am in the morning.
They only have one table and is plenty of young drunk people, the atmosphere is not good.

It's crazy expensive for what it is, we changed to other place for half price!
Don't go there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place has a bar with pool table and foozball table, a pool, hammocks, table tennis, basketball, a mini soccer pitch, volleyball court, a large kitchen and a comfortable tv room with a huge selection of movies to watch and of course free wifi. It is one of the better hostels I've been to and pretty reasonably priced (about $10 a night when I was here in Oct '12).

The beds are pretty comfortable and the people are here to relax and enjoy themselves. If you are a quiet couple looking for a relaxing night in this might not be the best place for you - Sunshine hostel is much quieter than here. However if you want to have a few drinks or go out on the town this is a good starting point.

Location is ok, about a 10-15 minute walk to the metro and to the bar area or a $2-3 taxi. There are other closer to both of those though - ie. Sunshine and Tiger Paw Hostels.

The receptionists all speak English if that is something you need!

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying above the bar. I can't imagine you'll get any sleep before midnight the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I came to stay here on advice of other travellers but I was very disappointed. Everything about this place is over- rated. Firstly the rooms are like being sardines in a can, absolutely no room to move. Then there is the kitchen ammeneties with just one cooker for everybody and very little room to sit and eat. Then they charge more for beer, coke and water than the local restaurants. Laundry is 15000 peso a load, even if you only have a few items. This place has room for 100 people, so you can imagine the problems here when trying to cook, eat sit and watch TV if you want. The bed prices have government and other taxes added onto them whem you pay your bill. The staff at reception need to learn people skills and have an attitude problem. Other members of staff pressurise people into going on trips to nightclubs etc when they clearly dont want to. Stay away from here. It is also far away from the sights and bus/airport terminals.

Room Tip: Forget it, all rooms are bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Located in el poblado which is abit outside Medellin but where all the hostels are. Nice place with good common areas, pool and games table tennis, volleyball etc. Common areas could be cleaner.

This place is renowned for being a party hostel however we arrived on a saturday and it was dead quiet apparently a big group had just left.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PitStop Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PitStop Hostel

Address: Carrera 43e no 5 - 110 | Patio Bonito, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your PitStop Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PitStop Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.