We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dann Cartagena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dann Cartagena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dann Cartagena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laguito Calle 1a #1-60, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel looks very nice and has been recently updated. Our room was big, clean, and had a beautiful view of the bay. However there was a big hole in our bathroom ceiling and a couple of other little items showed that the maintenance is not up to par. The location is great; it's one of the very few beachfront hotels and just a 5 minute taxi ride to the old city. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance as well. The beach was very busy and filled with vendors so we chose to spend our time at the pool. The pool is lovely. Breakfast was good and plentiful with eggs, fruit, breads, and other hot items. As a sidenote, only juice is included and water is an additional charge. We were never told of this until we realized we were being charged for it at check-out.

It is a nice hotel, but I was very disappointed with our overall experience and their customer service. I feel like the staff is unethical and they try whatever they can to make another buck. Our stay was paid in full months prior to our stay, yet they tried to double charge us. We were also charged extra for "hotel security." I've stayed at many hotels and have never been charged for that. Why is that not included within the stay? Between trying to double charge us, the extra "security" fees, and not even telling us that the water at breakfast was an additional charge, we were very aggravated with Hotel Dann. It is a nice hotel, but we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
74
108
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I visited Cartagena at the end of November and I have to say that I was extremely pleased with the experience at the Dann Cartagena, when we arrived at the Hotel we received a nice refreshing cocktail, everyone at the Front Desk was very nice and helpful, we were giving a very nice room with a great view, the cleaning team kept the rooms in perfect condition, the breakfast buffet was also a nice compliment, and the cookers and waiters were always on top of what you needed, the pool was a nice option being that the Beach is not the best experience, it gets very annoying with all the soliciting out there. Overall we loved the Dann Cartagena we had the best time and hope to come back soon. Special thanks to Leonardo, who was always pleasant and with a welcoming smile at all times. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We really liked staying here because not only was in directly on the beach but the breakfast was so good that all we had to do was eat an enormous meal in the morning and once more at night. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room really spacy.

Room Tip: Try and get a room higher up so that you have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hackensack, nj
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrival Experience was not very pleasant because i was downgranded from the initial confirmed room type. However, the staff was extremely polite and very professional and made up for the numerous mistakes made throughout my stay. The breakfast buffet had a very good selection which changed daily. The location of the hotel is great; on the beach, very close to the walled city (about 5 min taxi ride). The hotel is also walking distance to San Andresito where you can purchase souvenirs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Good:

Best part about Hotel Dan is Fabio at the front desk! He was amazing and can help you with anything! Overall the staff is friendly and can help you find places to go, get taxis, help with luggage, cleaning, make reservations etc. Overall, the hotel was clean and modern. They offered a breakfast buffet which had the basics: coffee, juice, omelet station, fruit, and some hot dishes. Meal was the same every day. The pool area was big enough, as we were there during the off-season, but I could see it getting busy as has about 20 chairs and 6 tables. Most rooms are updated and have a great view of the ocean. Overall the hotel seemed safe, they wouldn't let folks in if they didn't have a key late at night. Keep in mind that this hotel is in the Boca Grande section of town. So you will need to take a cab (typically asking 6mil pesos) to get to the old town area. There are some good restaurants in the area as well

Bad:
The beach itself was a little overwhelming with all the vendors, not the hotel's fault just something to consider if you don't want to be bothered by anyone on the beach - this is pretty common for the entire length of the beach. We mostly hung out at the pool, which seemed clean but at one point I leaned against the filter, and could see the dirt and grime smudge along the edge. I'm sure it is hard to maintain with everyone's sun lotion, but I never saw anyone cleaning the inside of the pool (which I have seen at other resorts). The hot tub was the same temp as the pool and had cool water coming out of the jets, which was unusual, but not terrible given how hot the weather was. The hotel is undergoing construction, so not all the rooms are updated. And on floors that there is construction you will hear it during the day. They try to keep it clean even though that is going on.

Overall I would recommend it if you want a great view and access to the beach!

Room Tip: North corner rooms do not have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltillo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First time in this hotel and in Cartagena, nice view to the ocean, rooms very well sized and nice layout, modern and confortable. Very good attitude from staff, service attitude. Great Pool. Elevators a bit crowded but managable. Beach is public, a bit crowded or tight. In general good experience if you are enyoing Cartagena.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good location. Direct access to the beach. Nice pool with a view on the beach. View from the room over the bay of Boca Grande and the old town is splendid. The rooms are recently refurbished, bright and spacious. They are still working on some of the floors e.g. 12th floor.

Breakfast buffet was a bit limited but fresh. Some of the staff were very friendly others were less bothered. Even on the cheaper rate, the hotel was quite expensive for what you get. For the amount you pay you would expect more facilities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors. The view is breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dann Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Cartagena

Address: Laguito Calle 1a #1-60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dann Cartagena 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dann Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dann Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.