We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: under construction” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dann Cartagena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dann Cartagena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dann Cartagena
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Laguito Calle 1a #1-60, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
1 review
“Warning: under construction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

This was our second stay here. The location is the only one there that has the pool so close to the beach. This way you can either stay at the pool or hang on the beach and be pestered by people selling you things every minute. The thing we didn't know is the place is under construction and by the looks of it, it will before moths to come. They are putting in a new elevator so the banging and dust is everywhere. Even though we complained about the noise excessively the manager didnt talk with us or compensate us in any way. It's too bad the customer service is bad in that way.

Other thing about Cartagena is the beaches are dirty and the people on the beach seem to not care about it and pollute themselves. There are straws, spoons, bottle caps, and general crap all over the place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
74
108
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The property boasts the most perfect part of the beach. No class locals offering sex , massages other items for sale. Try to be nice and they will continue to bother, if you are rude they will tell you to "[--]" yourself and threaten you. This is not the kind of crap I want to have to be subjected to on vacation. The maid asked why we did not take anything from the honor bar....didn't we like what was in there, if fact, we did not..she asked what we would like her to fill it with, we told her it was ok....but she insisted. Since we told her what we wanted, although we did not utilize anything from the honor bar, we were charged for it at checkout, we took them up to the room to show them there was noting opened, their response was, you asked for it.....................2 hours later....they decided to only charge us 80.00 instead of 232.00 originally charged. GOOD LUCK......HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE....only good thing was the tan...had to stay in the water or the prostitutes or the hustlers would bother you regardless of if you were with someone...very weird and unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe R, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Dann Cartagena, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and had take actions to improve the internal hotel mistakes.

Unfortunately beaches in Cartagena are not regulated and they are also public, this is the reason we are not able to control what is happening in our surroundings, what we have done is improve our communication with the police and inform them about the suggestions that our guest give to us; so tourist can have a better experience in Cartagena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed there for a night recently. Overall it was a good hotel, with a nice pool area and an upscale restaurant. The room was a little small though the bed was nice and the bathroom had modern amenities. Our room didn't have an iron and ironing board, which we had to call for. A much bigger gripe was the Air Conditioning. It was very weak and took an hour to get the room to a reasonable temperature. Still, it was a bit warm for sleeping. We asked to be moved to another room and were informed all rooms are about the same, so there was no point in switching rooms.

Because of that, I find it difficult to recommend this hotel. Which is a shame since everything else was done well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felipe R, E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Dann Cartagena, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate your feedback and had take actions to improve the maintenance of the Air Conditioning, so we are able to provide the right service at any time.

Hope to have you as frequently guest in our property so you can realize the changes we had made.

Best Regards,

E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

I have been on this hotel by business and by vacations with family. On both circumstances my experience has been very positive.
Being with family I have took the all inclusive package which includes; room, meals, domestic liquors and beverages and snacks. My 3 years old loves the swimming pool as it has a child pool and a Jacuzzi, Water keeps warm all the time. Service specially towards my son has been superb, waitress jokes with him as treat him like a little gentleman.
When having there by business I just take the room and breakfast.
Rooms are spacious and clean. There are parking spots in front of hotel but few ones.
Internet is not free

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

The first night we were unfortunately placed in probably the worst room at the hotel...dark, dingy, smelled of mold, and with bars on the windows. The staff did warn us and promised to get us into a great room the next day. They were right. They helped us move to the penthouse early in the morning and the room was great. Big, nice view of the lagoon and a side view of the beach, clean, no mold smell and quiet, being on the penthouse level.

The pool was wonderful and to be right on the beach was great. Although the beach was public and we were accosted by peddlers selling and offering everything under the sun. No quiero nada! Breakfast was good and the juices were great. Nice selection of Colombian fruit juices.

The staff was very nice and helpful. I especially liked Elmirda (or is that her name?) who chatted with me during breakfast. So sweet and gracious and soft spoken.

Not a bad hotel but I certainly would rent a luxury condo the next time. Bad thing about the hotel? No free wifi. 25000 pesos for a whole day which isn't bad, but would've been nice to get it for free.

Room Tip: Be nice, and ask nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

I came for business, but unfortunate I had threats of miscarriage the first day I arrived. This happened in the evening. As a foreign traveling alone was scary. I called reception and they told me that the hotel has free medical service. Within 30 minutes two doctors arrived to my room and took me in their ambulance to one of the best hospitals in Cartagena. I was put in bed rest for a week. All staff was notified of my situation. Cleaning staff made sure I rested, I had everything I needed. Room service staff were so kind and thoughtful making sure I eat enough. Reception even ordered medicine for me. They treated me like a queen. I do not know what I would have done if I would have gotten sick in a big hotel in North America. Nobody would have cared about me. I am so pleased with the service I received this week. Thank you Hotel Dann for making my unfortunate situation so pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

The rooms are old and smells bad-all the equipment is very old.
You can smell the mold and that the hotel is extremly old....
The front desk is awfull-they don't have any solutions but to tell you we can't do anything!
When asking to speak with a manager he was "out of the city and they can't call him"
If you do order-ask for a renovated room (renovadad in spanish) otherwise stay away!
About the trip to Rosario\playa blanca-don't book through the hotel-it's 60000 pesos through the hotel and just 25000 for the same trip if you take a taxi to the harbor and do it on the spot (don't worry there are many boats just be there before 8:45 AM)
I recommend the big boats -the alcatraz if your life are important to you because the small boats has a little concern for you safety and run buy a group of stupid people!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dann Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dann Cartagena

Address: Laguito Calle 1a #1-60, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dann Cartagena 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dann Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dann Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.