We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore the walled city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quadrifolio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Quadrifolio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Quadrifolio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Cuartel No 36-118 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 113 hotels in Cartagena
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore the walled city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a beautiful, small boutiquey hotel - the rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. There is a small pool on the roof that we enjoyed, and common areas to sit and relax. We were even able to arrange for massages. But as is always the case, it was the staff that made it special. From the moment we arrived, they went out of their way to welcome us and accommodate us. We had the opportunity to see other hotels in the area which were all very nice, but we agreed that we "hit the jackpot" in our choice of the Quadrifolio.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
49
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Hotel Quadrifolio is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. Everything about it is peaceful and quietly elegant. The staff are all invisible unless you need them, and then suddenly they are perfectly attentive and gracious. Staying here made me feel lucky to have found it.

Our hotel room was lovely, very high-ceilinged with very powerful air conditioning, an oasis in the hot, dirty city. The shower was one of the best I have ever had. My husband honestly had three showers to feel that rainforest deluge.

Breakfast is fantastic. Fresh fruit, local breads (yucca bread is so good) with cheese, and eggs any style. Yummy orange juice and coffee con leche.

Be aware that this is a boutique hotel, so taxi drivers won't necessarily know it by name. Bring the address or a map if you are wandering out of walking distance. Also, the pool is kept a little cool for my tastes, and the jacuzzi is unshaded -- don't go before it cools off a bit unless you want to burn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is another tough review to write. The hotel is truly beautiful, the ambience is perfect and the service is top notch. However, one has to consider the price tag and value for money. We stayed four nights at an average price of close to U$450/night with breakfast and I am gobsmacked at what you get in return.
The room certainly had charm but it was dark and very noisy. Don't expect a bath or anything out of the ordinary. The room was called a 'Junior Suite' which set expectations that weren't met. It is a standard room and has nothing in common with a suite.
You hear every word that is spoken in the courtyard. This is particularly troublesome when guests arrive since you can only get into the hotel by ringing the door bell and waiting for someone to let you in. This means you don't get a lot of rest.
The breakfast was very nice and so was the staff. I can't speak highly enough of them.
The problem here is the price. I realise that Cartagena is an expensive place but we have seen much better options. You do expect more when you pay world metropolis prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the courtyard if that is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Hotel Quadrifolio is a jewel of a hotel in the bustling old city of Cartagena. On arrival, Gustavo ushered us into an attractive. air conditioned living room. His English was limited, but his smile spoke volumes. He immediately turned on the TV, which we thought was perhaps a welcome video. It was simply TV which we found amusing, and may reflect on American's viewing habits. We were served a refreshing, complimentary mint lemonade smoothie which was delicious! We enjoyed them even more a few nights later with the local dark rum "Ron Medellin" (not complimentary).

Most of the staff does speak English, and all were incredibly friendly and attentive. Anna, William, Stephanie, Virginia and Gustavo all made us feel like we were their only guests.

We were in room #1, the only room on the first floor. I was concerned about our privacy, as the pool was right outside our room as well as a common sitting area. Privacy was never a problem. The Hotel has only 8 rooms and we rarely ran into other guests. The pool is very small, and essentially indoors as it is on the first floor, but enough for a cooling plunge. Our room was spotless and very attractively appointed. We had loads of hot water once we realized the hot and cold knobs were reversed from that which we are accustomed. C is for caliente, hot in spanish! Our shower was open air, but completely private and even had a small garden adjacent to it. Every time we returned to our room, it had been tidied, a treat! The bed had lovely linens, and was especially comfortable. We slept soundly every night.

Wi-fi was spotty, but I was delighted to un-plug for a few days. The welcome packet in our room seemed comprehensive, but was exclusively in Spanish. I wish I had recommended they provide the same information in English.

On the second floor, in addition to guest rooms, there is a common sitting area with umbrella tables. There is also another large living room with a large screen TV and lots of DVDs in English. Another commentary on American's viewing habits? There is so much to do in the old city, I can't conceive of sitting in and watching a movie, but it's there.

There is a small roof deck with chairs and comfortable, cushioned built in couches. There is also a jacuzzi, not to be confused with a hot tub. The water is not hot, and can't be heated. It was the perfect spot for reading in the afternoon sun, and sharing a glass of wine before bed.

With it's stunning interior, attentive staff, and dreamy beds, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

When the taxi pulled up to the hotel, the staff was waiting for us. "This is your home here," we were told. And they did everything to make us feel that. The hotel with its central courtyard is a beautiful oasis of calm in busy Cartagena. The rooms are spacious and clean and beautiful. After a long hot day walking in the city we returned to find a spray to soothe our tired feet. Every need is anticipated and met. Coffee brought to our room each morning. Towels packed for our day at the beach. Room keys and cold towels waiting for us when we got back from our excursions. Anna and William made every reservation, cocktail, and any other whim of ours was fulfilled. Breakfast was fresh and yummy every morning. Location perfect. We walked to everything easily. We hated to leave Cartagena, and in part that was due to this incredible hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arrowatty
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have traveled the world over and this hotel is one of the best small hotels we have ever stayed in. From the outside, there is not much to say about Quadrifolio, as the building is somewhat non-descript, although nicely restored even by Cartagena standards. Inside, it is an oasis. The designers have taken what apparently was a Sea Captain's home and turned it into a beautiful gem, centered around an interesting lobby, dining area, and pool area - with a running fountain and cistern pool making cool, soothing lapping sounds providing a great retreat from the outside heat. The room was spacious and well-appointed. What separates Quadrifolio from other places we have stayed is the service. Anna Maria's staff could not possibly been any nicer, from the moment you are greeted with cold, wet hand towels until your departure - as they practically follow you out the door with further directions about your stay. Special thanks to Anna, Virginia, and the rest of the staff. The hotel is centrally located - right in the middle of the historic district, but not in the middle of the busy shopping/dining area (which is just 2 blocks away). We had planned on staying at the Santa Clara, but chose Quadrifolio at the last middle. What a provident choice! Only negative was sporadic hot water for the shower. Otherwise, make sure that you get the breakfast arepa - it is amazing!

Room Tip: We had Room 2, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived early and they gave us suggestions for lunch nearby while they prepared the room ahead of standard check-in time. They also suggested a boat trip to the islands the next day which we booked. On the first night we ate at a restaurant they recommended nearby specialising in local food, and it was amazing... our trip to the island the next day was also really good... and we are glad we took their advice and booked it.

We we really impressed by how attentive they were... our room was always refreshed when we were out (multiple times a day)... we were given mint lemonade on arrival, and again several times during out stay... and the breakfast was really good... make sure you try the egg arepa!

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Quadrifolio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quadrifolio

Address: Calle del Cuartel No 36-118 | Historic Center, Cartagena, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quadrifolio 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to introduce you to HOTEL QUADRIFOLIO. We offer exceptional service under the grandeur of a Spanish Colonial residence built inside the walled city of Cartagena de Indias during the XVII Century. Quadrifolio provides an incomparable setting of elegance, privacy and comfort combined with a personalized service to meet your needs. The hotel has eight Junior Suites, two magnificent ballrooms and multiple social areas of rest. You can also enjoy our relaxing terraces; roof top Jacuzzi and heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Quadrifolio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quadrifolio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.