We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alfiz Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alfiz Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfiz Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Cochera del Gobernador 33-28 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE AIRPORT PICK-UP
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Cartagena
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Alfiz was on our short list of hotels for Cartagena, and since we had time, we decided to check out the rooms before committing.

We were disappointed to find that the rooms were nothing like the photos we had found online. The one we saw was dark and dank, with poor finishing. We were also quoted a higher price than what we had found on booking.com, and when we asked if we could connect to their wifi, we were surprised by their insistence that it was for guests only (given that free wifi was available at the various cafes around and letting us use theirs would have been an essentially free piece of goodwill).

We ended up paying 80% more to stay at Hotel Casablanca which we felt was better value when considering the quality difference between the two hotels...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We were very surprised about this review because the couple that wrote this comment came to our reception last Friday asking only about availability and rates, never saw any of our rooms as they were occupied and never asked about using our services like WiFi, so you can decide by yourself if their appreciations after a visit of just 5 minutes at our lobby can be of any objectivity. As the information of this review is untruthful we invite everyone to check our rooms on the 360° virtual tour published on our website and regarding rates of course you can always check after the best offers on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    36
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
126
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami fl
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a wonderful find through trip advisor. It is in the heart of the old city. We were welcomed by the staff warmly. They were helpful, courteous and available. The rooms are different but we had a great room on the ground floor. Breakfast was good and fresh. You could easily spend days here while you explore Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear guest! Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. Good to hear you liked the decoration of our rooms and found our staff helpful giving all guests a special care. Hope to see you at our hotel again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is really a boutique hotel and has an authentic feel of being in another place - very quaint and in a great location to see all the attractions (although inside the walled city is very small - you can walk around the whole place in 15 mins). It isn't fancy, but clean and well kept. The staff was very helpful making restaurant reservations and booking a volcano tour for us. It is a small hotel so you feel like you get special care. The pool is really just a dipping area (very small), but we were not in cartagena to spend the days lounging at the pool...it is a good hotel if you want value (hotels in Cartagena are pretty expensive) and don't want a big resort feel. My only complaint was that the bed was really hard, but as I read a lot of reviews of other places - it seems like hard beds are normal in cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

For 2/3 of the price of a room at the Hotel Quadrifolio or the Sofitel Santa Clara (both more beautiful but farther from most attractions), you get the best hotel location in the Centro, and a huge amount of space. We had a junior suite, and that meant we had a loft master bedroom, a small downstairs bedroom with its own bathroom, as well as a living-dining room and a small kitchen with plates for 8.

Breakfast is served in the courtyard on the first floor. It is very good. They serve a bowl of fresh fruit and some juice, then they have an egg menu. Their coffee was the best I had in Cartagena.

Staff was very helpful. The concierge was happy to call to make dinner reservations or to find out how to get to Isla Mucura.

As mentioned above, the location is phenomenal. You are about a block and a half from the Plaza Reloj, about two blocks from the Museo de Oro/Bolivar Square. There is an ATM across the street and a decent mini mart within two blocks.

My only fault with the place was that they asked for a gratuity at the end of the stay to be added to the bill. We had left money for the maid and at breakfast, and I had already planned on tipping the concierge, so I didn't really like being asked for a 10% gratuity just as I'm trying to sign the bill and run for a boat. Also, the bathrooms were small with inconsistent water pressure.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfiz_Hotel, Manager at Alfiz Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear mica
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. Good to hear that you liked the location, our breakfast with fresh fruit and our Colombian coffee! Regarding the gratuity it´s always voluntary and you were asked because many times guests prefer to include it in the final bill commonly paid by credit card. Other reason is that the staff put all tips in a common fund in order to make it fair for everyone. Sorry for the incovenience and we hope to see you at our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were guests for three nights and had a wonderful experience. We had a two floor room, so it felt more like an apartment. The sheets and towels were first rate. There was no water for city centro for a couple of days. The staff carried up buckets of water to our room. The staff spoke English, which was rare for the city and they were very helpful and caring. The breakfast was excellent. We found city centro full of charm, safe and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is among the most memorable hotels we've stayed at. Lovely room - and pleasant owners. Our 2nd floor room was excellent - spacious with an upstairs loft/bedroom and downstairs seating area + fridge and bathroom. The rooms are arranged around a very pretty central patio/courtyard where a delicious breakfast is served - excellent fruit and definitely the best coffee we've ever tasted. The free breakfast also included a different tropical fruit juice every morning - some of which we weren't previously familiar with - but all of which were delicious. Breakfast egg dishes on the menu were also very good - they will also cook to order. The hotel also has a very comfortable hammock and roof garden with seating and tables for drinks and a hot tub. It is very centrally located within the walls of the old city close to major plazas, churches, museums and restaurants. The restaurants we ate at in the city were excellent and varied. We didn't have a bad meal in over a week - delicious seafood, Colombian and other South American cuisine. We intend to return!

Room Tip: The hotel was very quiet despite street noise outside. Our room, # 5, can comfortably sleep 4. Look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am not sure how much other hotels cost in Cartagena but it seemed pricey after the hotels in Panama. Nevertheless, it is in a very good location and is a very beautiful hotel. The staff were friendly, but not very informed. They seemed more interesting in selling tours which did not work for us because we prefer to get "local" flavor and can independently make our way.

We stayed in a 2 flour suite which was very beautiful but very impractical. Having a huge open bathtub in the middle of the living room was attractive but not very useful. We had to constantly go up and down the stairs. There was very little work space for the computer or writing.

Despite all of the issues raised above, I recommend this hotel. If you are staying in the Old City, it is a good place to hang out and sleep.

Room Tip: 2 floor suite is nice but impractical. Plan to go up and down the stairs a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alfiz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfiz Hotel

Address: Calle Cochera del Gobernador 33-28 | Centro Historico, Cartagena 130001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Family Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfiz Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alfiz Hotel is located in a XVII century colonial house in Cartagena's historical quarter. It´s situated between the city´s two oldest squares, close to the cathedral and governor's palace.Consequently our guests may find high-class colonial features in its interior. The restoration and decorative design of our eight rooms take in to account the most important periods of Cartagena's history in order to provide a stylish getaway and encounter with Colombia's historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Alfiz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfiz Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alfiz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.