We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old city charmer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa

Save Saved
You added Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Santo Domingo 33 - 63, Cartagena 30390 , Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 112 hotels in Cartagena
seattle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old city charmer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Architecturally stunning ,but the shabby chic look is leaning more towards the shabby and a serious refurbishment is needed .For me, when the paint shows dirt and grease marks and plaster starts to peel from walls it is time to reknew . Furthermore ,in a city of reknowned food places ,the food served is a disgrace . The only place we visited in columbia with processed orange juice. Service was friendly and efficient ,the rooms large and quiet and location excellent - needs attention to the kitchen and to the physical plant .

Room Tip: Avoid room around the breakfast area they lack privacy ;upstairs room preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
34
76
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

First let me say that the Hotel is not tired looking . The hotel reflects the old city quite well! If your looking for a modern place this is not it. It is totally beautiful and reflects the Centro area as best as anything I seen ! It was my first trip to Cartagena and Casa Pestagua and I am so thrilled with both . The staff at this hotel are totally fantastic Jennifer and Camilo at Reception just couldn't do enough! We were two friends an a "girls" trip and they went out of their way to make sure we did and went everywhere we wanted . The staff, including Jorge,Orlando, and Jason were great also . They made sure breakfast was wonderful every morning and asked constantly if we were ok and needed anything . The Spa and the technician Ivonne were wonderful also .... We were able to get a little tour of their best rooms (grand suites ) and next time I will try to stay in one of them ,they are simply gorgeous ! This place is fantastic if your considering a destination wedding ! It has it all !, Beautiful, private, romantic and a staff that will be sure to make it memorable ! I haven't stopped talking about the place since I got home , Please do not hesitate !! Book it !, you will be as pleased as I was .

Room Tip: Book with Camilo !!! He won't steer you wrong !!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The furnishings in our spacious duplex suite could use updating. Everything just looked tired. The bathroom worked. The hotel was clean and provided an oasis of calm in the middle of Cartegena's touristy Old Town. What this hotel lacked in amenity, however, it made up for in service. The front desk was accommodating and helpful. Wait staff was pleasant and welcoming, even if the hotel's food wasn't always quite up to snuff. Everyone there was more than willing to insure your pleasant stay. Casa Pestagua lacks the gloss of other upscale alternatives in the Old Town. Nonetheless, there is a serenity to its understated luxury that invites a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hello, Travis and Francy Here. We just stayed 5 nights at this hotel over Christmas. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. All of the staff treated us very well our entire stay. The rooms and the hotel it self are very beautiful. The location is great with plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs, and beach near by and shopping. I miss this hotel and Cartagena very much. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
283 reviews 283 reviews
278 hotel reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
547 helpful votes 547 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Pros of Casa Pestagua
- The common areas of the hotel are chic & film set ready, very cool & photogenic, I especially liked the outdoor dining area, the formal dining room and the breakfast area.
-Good service. They were able to help with everything from restaurant reservations to car transfers etc., service was attentive, staff were multi-lingual, friendly and sincere.
- I have always preferred boutique hotels with personalities. Casa Pestagua definitely has personality, history & charm
-Perfect location: the vibrant squares, churches, museums & restaurants were an easy hop & a skip away only. With the heat it was always good to be able to go back for a siesta in between sight seeing

Cons
-To keep mossies out (they found me my first day, though the hotel did quickly give me a gigantic bottle of Raid) my bathroom had no air /no fan/ no circulation
- room Two was the cheapest room available (I was on a 3 wk holiday and wanted to watch my expenses) --- it looked out at the ground floor bar area in betw the pool & dining area. I had to keep the curtains drawn & the wooden shutters closed at all times for privacy, the ceiling is also low so it felt claustrophobic as a result. It also got noisy when guests congregated at the bar (with the TV) as my room's only door and windows faced the bar.
About two pm on my last day (Sunday) i'm guessing one of the guests decided to plug their ipod into the hotel sound system, there was no getting away from this music (brass monkey etc) plus TV noise while trying to read & or take a nap. Add to that a bunch of kids were playing in the pool, fortunately of the 4 nights I was here this level of noise only happened on the last night

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel was a colonial house that belonged to a marquis, it's really beautiful, the garden it's lovely and very good conserved, the service is also very nice, the stuff it's specially friendly, the breakfast very nice and the rooms are really stylish!!! It's romantic and full of history, I recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

amazing hotel, great location, excellent costumer service. it was worth staying in here, i loved that i could walk to the amazing old town of cartagena and without expending any money on transportation to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa

Also Known As:
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Cartagena
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique
Casa Pestagua Cartagena
Address: Calle de Santo Domingo 33 - 63, Cartagena 30390 , Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cartagena
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#13 Business Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the three best hotels of charm in the world (Magazine HOTEL & LODGE. Paris, January 2011). One of the 110 most beautiful hotels in the world (L'OFFICIEL VOYAGE, Paris, August 2008), FIABCI award for best architecture restoration. (November 2010) and Certified by Condé Nast Johansens.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa, known as “the most beautiful house in Cartagena”, belonged to the 18th Century Count of Pestagua, a rich and powerful aristocrat who gave his name to this mansion with its impressive colonial architecture.Distinguished by its exquisite architectural and artistic harmony, today the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa offers luxury hotel services, with the comfort and technology expected by the most demanding hotel standards.Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa is a boutique hotel with its exclusive offer of 11 rooms housed in spacious grounds, worthy of a first rate luxury hotel.Enjoy the privilege of being attended to in the Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique Spa and receiving a totally personalized service in an oasis of peace and tranquility, sheltered by its surrounding walls where you will feel like a lord in the Count’s mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.