We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bahia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bahia to your Saves list
Hotel Bahia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bocagrande Carrera 4 - Calle 4, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had a great time, lovely swimming pool very clean room, staff super friendly. Breakfast could be improved. Best thing is the location close to everything.
It is not a 5 star hotel but for the price and quality it is a five stars to me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    11
    9
    0
See reviews for
10
11
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This was my first visit to Cartagena. Hotel Bahia was amazing! The staff was great. The room was beautiful and clean. We loved the pool , the bar area and lounge area. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. The only complaint I have is that the WIFI only worked in the lobby area, so I was not able to go online in my room. Price was $110 per night , which we thought was very affordable. The next time we return toCartagena we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Nice rooms, next to the beach and restaurants. Nice area where you can jog, walk and site see. Taxi are available as we leave the Hotels. People are friendly.

Room Tip: I had a room by the road and it was quiet. All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spent two days at the Hotel Bahia since it was the cheapest hotel ($103 US) we could find with a decent sized pool, and we wanted to cool off in very hot Cartagena for a few days, but the pool was much too cold to swim in, and there were no umbrellas to get out of the sun (although near the restaurant was a palapa with two hammocks under it and also, there was an unused bar area up some steps where you could sit to get out of the sun). Hard molded plastic pool loungers not very comfortable. Also, they were doing construction the day we were there, and it was very noisy and dusty and made using the pool not so pleasant.
Room very clean but was either freezing from A/C or very humid if you opened the window. There seemed to be no medium area. So humid in the room that our bathing suits never dried. Breakfast very basic and not very generous - no fruit, only juice, bread, coffee, and eggs. No computer for guest use. Beds were comfortable but VERY firm, perhaps too firm for some people. One pillow very smelly and had to be exchanged. Did not seem very accustomed to foreign (non-Colombian) travelers. Some English spoken. Staff friendly. No non smoking floor. Had to change rooms because our next door neighbor's smoke was coming into our room. Hallway full of smoke.
This is a 50 yr old hotel that has had some upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the back side to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I have to agree with Stevezworld, this place has seen better days. At USD90+ for a single with eratic hot water and windows that don't open so that the rattling air con has to be on continuously, is a bit too much. And the pictures don't look like my room. But the people are friendly & speak English well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This Hotel had what I like to call the 3 B's. Bueno, Bonito y Barato. It has great services, looks good and is relatively cheap. Only 3 bloks away from the beach with lots of restaurants and little marts all around. The employees arevery hospitable and offer you towels for the beach. I recomend this hotel for anything from a weekend getaway, a business trip or a small family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barranquilla, Colombia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I love Bahia, people are very nice and friendly, very clean rooms and the pool, excellent food, for this price we were very happy. It's very close to the beach and also close to everything, very peaceful, we are planning come back next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia

Address: Bocagrande Carrera 4 - Calle 4, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So if you are dreaming of enjoying your next vacation in the Caribbean, we will help you make your dream come true we recommend a hotel with charm , where you are our friend, and where you will be able to enjoy the real Cartagena de Indias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bahia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.