We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cartagena Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Cartagena Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrera 1a No 6 - 154 | Bocagrande, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Doi Saket, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very noisy hotel, cleaning crew slamming doors. Hammering all the time and tiles on the floor instead of noise absorbing flooring like carpet.

Also all the hotel is outdated.

The only good thing was the big diversity with breakfast

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    146
    122
    67
    56
See reviews for
109
178
28
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

I will start this review but pointing the positive: friendly staff, good air conditioning, comfortable beds a reliable internet connection ( but slow during peak hours)

The negative: check-in process is cumbersome and slow, you have too wait until 15:00 to check in. Front desk and back office need to stream Line the check-in process

Neither positive or negative: breakfast is cater to locals, few selections and repetitive dishes, the best will be the fresh fruits and the freshly made juices.


Room tip avoid the top or lower floors

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the floors 8 to 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Dear Cityrent

Thank you very much for your review about your recent stay at the Cartagena Plaza Hotel. Thanks for highlight the positives points in your review, it is great to hear that our facilities, friendly customer service and internet connectivity was to your liking. We really appreciate your honest feedback, it is very important and valuable for us to know your point of view so we could improve in each area and be able to provide great service and exceed our standars. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again very soon.

Regards

Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

I made a reservation from the united states through orbitz and paid in advance for 1 room with 2 double beds and everything seemed to be ok at that moment.... when me and my wife arrived at the reception to check in, they told me that the reservation was for only 1 guest, not 2 guests , and this is a policy that you learn once you get at the reception not through orbitz, we have been in many different hotels and we have made reservations under 1 name, 1 guest and never had a problem going into the room with MY WIFE....that being said, after they tried to charge us almost the same rate for the extra person and having a discussion about this, we told them that we were going to call orbitz to solve this problem...all of this was really upsetting but not as much as what happened next.....we ended up doing the check in for the room thinking that the problem was gonna be solved once we speak with orbitz, and this is when the problem started, my wife and I started to walk towards the elevator to go to the room and from nowhere one of the security people blocked my way saying that I couldnt go to the room with my wife --"hotel regulations'-- I was treated like an unwelcome person, that was unacceptable, we couldn't believe it, I couldn't go to the room with my wife....this was REALLY upsetting , after this situation, feeling like a thief , I tried to get to the room...I did ...we already talked with Orbits and they stated that they will get in touch with the hotel,, we tried to rest for about 10 minutes in the room when the phone started to ring, people knocking on our door, trying to get me out from the room ....they saw me though secutity cameras "trying" to get into MY room that I ALREADY PAID.. now we were mad ,, we decided to leave the hotel, we were treated like criminals, not allowed to be in the hotel, feeling violated, pushed around, being watched under security cameras, when we get to the elevator with our luggage to go to the first floor, there was 2 security people in the elevator talking on their radios that they knew that I was leaving the room, they were watching me and my wife , we were "ESCORTED" to the exit, ... the supervisor or manager NEVER showed up, NO explanation, just not allowed to be in the room with my wife that we already paid because the reservation said 1 room with 2 double beds under the name of 1 guest!....NOT 2.... THIS people treated us terribly, made us feel unwelcome, like we were chased down like animals, not allowed of privacy , rest, ....
The reservation was for 2 nights, we did not stay there of course, we contacted Orbitz for a full refund BUT they said that the "Hotel policy" states that since we didn't cancel the reservation with enough time in advance, they will charge the full amount of the reservation, they did not believe us when we told them what happened there and the hotel never send us an email or gave us a phone call apologizing for the treatment that we received, this hotel should NEVER be visited by any local or foreign tourist or visitor... this terrible place, its terrible people, gives Cartagena, a beautiful city, the worst image possible. This have been the worst experience of our lives regarding hotel stays. I would recommend to NEVER use Orbitz to get a reservation and NEVER, NEVER put a foot on this place "CARTAGENA PLAZA".....

Room Tip: The city of Cartagena is beautiful, Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback about your experience at The Cartagena Plaza Hotel. I was very concern to read about the recent events happening at the moment of your arrival, certainly not the experience we would want you to take away. On behalf the Cartagena Plaza hotel receive our sincere apologies, this type of situations are no common in our organisation and we will look into the incidents that happened the day of your arrival.

Please contact me through this e-mail servicioalclientectgplaza@doradoplaza.com to talk about what happened that day.

Regards

Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

We just came from cartGena and stay there for one week.everything was ok the room was clean the staff was very friendly the customer service was helpfull althougt the room was not very big but is not a problem becouse we need it just for sleep.If I go back to cartagena again I would stay there.close to the hotel there are restaurants for every budget

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Guest

We truly appreciate you took the time to write a review about your recent stay with us and your highlights about our facilities. We are very pleased to know that your stay exceed your standars and to recognise the great customer service that our team provide to all our visitors. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to see you again.

Regards

Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Rooms are pretty good and the hotel does offer some amenities such as beach towels. There is plenty of food choice in the buffer although food quality is just mediocre. They enforce some unusual practices such as just one key card per room, which leads to having to wait for somebody to come over and open the door after verifying your ID if you have different plans than your roommate.

Room Tip: Higher floors so that the traffic noise doesn't disturb in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and share it with all of us, it is nice to see that you had a good experience in our hotel. We apologise about the inconveniece that you experience during your stay. Thank you very much for your suggestions which are very important for us because through it we can improve our quality service and exceed our standars. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Regards

Christian Romero Duque
Customer service supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night while traveling through Colombia. The hotel was decent, very clean however rooms smelt a bit musty (old water-ish) but nothing a cracked window and air freshened can't fix. The beds were soooo comfortable! The cable did receive some English speaking shows (American) which was nice. The roof top pool closed pretty early but the nighttime view from there was amazing. The bartender was great. The front desk spoke English well. The beach across the street was beautiful.

Colombia in all, was amazing, been twice and spent a total of 6 weeks in various areas. Cartagena was my favourite with Medellin a close second.

I would stay here again and recommend to those not looking for a resort type stay. More of an affordable place to sleep while exploring the wonderful city of Cartagena. If you are looking for a resort, lounge by the pool type of place, I wouldn't recommend here. If you do stay here, make sure to go to the Juan Valdez coffee shop across the street, hand down best coffee (you can order baileys in your coffee!) and really great merchandise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Coordinador de Servicio al Cliente at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Cartagena Plaza Hotel as your first review. We are delighted to read your publication about our service and facilities. It is great to hear that your stay was how you expected to be and even more to see that you have so much love for our city and our country. Thank you for recommend us and we hope to see you in the future once again.

Kind regards,
Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I´ve stayed at Cartagena Plaza in 2014 and it was pretty good. The rooms are clean, big and some of them have a wonderfull view. It´s right at the Bocagrande barrio, where you can find lots of great places to eat their regional cuisine or stay safe at those junkie food chains's KFC or Burger King. Colombia is full of great things to eat: fruits, arepas, empanadas, patacones...
The hotel has a very rich breakfast: omeletes, sandwiches, a great variety of fruits, yogurts and cereals. And you can try, if you want, the table with rice, pork chops and soups (yes, they eat those kind of food early in the morning).
Cartagena is not a big city, so taxi to almost everywhere will cost only COP$6.000. The taxis are safe and the city as well. Lots of carabineros walking around.
The swimming pool is clean but a bit small, so be prepared to bump into children and people swimming around. Definately, the best beach in Bocagrande is located in front of the CARTAGENA PLAZA. It´s not a caribean beach, but you can find a warm water and stay tanned there.
The comercial harassment from the locals is something that you need to avoid at all cost. People offrering massages and banana boat experience is quite distrurbing, but a simple "no quiero nada" will shoo them away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CartagenaPlaza, Customer Service Supervisor at Hotel Cartagena Plaza, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your positive comments regarding the Hotel, our location, service and our colleagues. It is great to hear that you had such a fantastic time in our city and enjoyed the local cuisine. We look forward to welcome you back to The Hotel Cartagena Plaza.

Regards,
Christian Romero Duque
Customer Service Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cartagena Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cartagena Plaza

Address: Carrera 1a No 6 - 154 | Bocagrande, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cartagena Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cartagena Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cartagena Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.