We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Curato

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa del Curato to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Curato
Calle del Curato Cra 7 #38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

As you knock on the door you won't expect to find what lays inside Casa del Curato. A remodeled colonial house with beautiful decoration and vegetation and very comfortable rooms. You feel really safe and very welcome, the staff is very friendly. The hotel has a GREAT location, you are close to a lot of restaurants and great "plazas". The breakfast is pretty good, you'll probably be served fresh juice, colombian coffee, eggs and toasts, and nice slices of fresh fruit. The wi-fi reaches all the parts of the hotel. As for the rooms, they are very nice, great satellite tv, safe and the best thing... the hot water shower (not too common in cartagenas hostels).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    48
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
68
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. Although we don't speak any Spanish (shame on us) the staff were lovely and accommodating and were able to communicate with us in English phrases.

They serve a free breakfast each day which was a wonderful way to start each day and provided us with lots of energy to explore this beautiful city. Breakfast included an amazing fresh juice, fresh fruit plate and different cooked meal each day ( our fave was the scrambled eggs).

The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and the bathrooms were spacious and very clean as well. The Internet connection was good and we enjoyed spending time reclining in the lounge areas.

Well located in the old city and close to plenty of great restaurants. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will certainly be coming back ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Beautiful B&B on a very quiet street but well-situated right behind the Santa Clara hotel. Beautiful colonial house, wood beams and lovely inner courtyard, very cute (very small) refreshing pool, good and ample breakfast. Very nice and helpful staff. Cool rooftop lounge area. Free wi-fi and free use of computer. Room was fine -- spacious and with big doors opening to a balcony overlooking the pool. Very reasonably priced. A very good choice in Cartagena.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminyak, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

La Casa del Curato is a quiet stop in the always moving Old Cartagena. We stayed for a few days and enjoyed the beauty and the charm of the hotel as well as the kindness of the staff.
The room was very pleasant, equipped with a safe, a/c, tv, balcony over the street and the hotel offers wifi as well as PCs in the reception area if needed.
Breakfast (including fresh juice and fruits) is served closed to the pool (beware that due its location, it's rather cold at least when we were there). The staff is very courteous and what really makes this hotel is little jewel is the atmosphere inside (plants, fountain and wooden doors and windows).
Must try if you have a chance!

Room Tip: It seems like few rooms are as large as the one we had (207) which overlooks the street. They may ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here one night. Staff was friendly. I had a courtyard room which was ok for me as solo traveller but if you travel as couple get a bigger room upstairs. Room itself had a tv, fridge and safery box and a closet for your clothes. Room was clean. Bathroom was nice and it had hot water. Hotel is located in the centre of the city. Restaurants and bars are close.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latin America
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our trip to Cartagena was a wonderful experience: romantic, magical and breathtaking! Just like this hotel! It's a romantic small hotel; wonderful decorated and its employees are wonderful people! Breakfast is different every day; you can choose an American of typical Colombian (Cartagena) breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms maybe a little small, but the hotel is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here between Christmas and New Year's. Casa del Curato is a charming B&B with a great location in the old city. It is in close proximity to some great restaurants and shops, as well as the Old City sights. We stayed in the main suite with a balcony overlooking the street. I highly recommend this room. It's large and comfortable and the balcony is fabulous for people watching during the afternoon. The hotel is not on a busy street, so even with a street facing room we found it quiet during the mornings and evenings. I also have to mention that the service was excellent - particularly from Johann. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the breakfasts were satisfactory, but I think they could provide a better breakfast to equal the rest of the experience in the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa del Curato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Curato

Address: Calle del Curato Cra 7 #38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Curato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Curato Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Curato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.