We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Curato

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Curato to your Saves list
Hotel Casa del Curato
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle del Curato Cra 7 #38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 124 Hotels in Cartagena
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We really enjoyed the air conditioning, the soft comfy bed, the friendly staff, convenient location, breakfasts, etc. We really felt very comfortable in our room, the bathroom was really clean and nice, and our room had a balcony that overlooks the pool, which is handy to dry your swimsuit on. The downsides are the pool wasn't clean enough to swim in (although they said it was cleaned the day before), and the lobby is open air so if you sit in it in the late afternoon/early evening, you will get SWARMED by mosquitos. The room was happily mosquito free, so no worries about that. There was one night, Saturday night where there was crazy loud music from some bar or maybe a party, so we had to put in earplugs - we felt bad for anyone who didn't have them, as really it was quite loud. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
87
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Friendly staff all very helpful. Beautiful setting close to center but just out of the way to make it a quite get away when you want to be out of the craziness of the other tourists! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Casa del Curato,,, it was our second time at the hotel , we stayed for 2 nights and it was an Amazing experience!!! the staff are so friendly, warm and so welcoming.... definetely we will be back to the hotel....Thank you to all the staff for making our vacation a wonderful experience.....P and JC

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor , our room has a balcony and it was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here four days. Internet good downstairs but intermittent upstairs. Think it will be fixed soon. Aircon okay, but could be cooler, this is very important if you visiting Cartagena as it is hot with high rates of humidity. Large electronic keypad safe in room.
The large front timber door is usually closed for security into the inner courtyard, also for temp control. There is a smaller door built into the large one for normal entry and a door buzzer on the street and staff open the door very promptly for me 24/7.
Two public access computers in front foyer area.
Rooms very clean. No noise unlike other streets. Its in the old city and a short walk to everywhere but not next to the loud venues.
Breakfast is good but not large. Nice, comfortable and good value for money.
Small square roman like plunge pool in the rear part.
The staff are nice, polite and very helpful and responsive.
No problems with staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I was in Casa del Curato for a friend's wedding, (in Chiesa Santo Toribio..very close to the hotel..) the hotel has been comfortable and very welcoming, Mrs Gloria and the stuff was very helpful and kind.
I appreciate a lot the homy atmosphere, the comfort.
The hotel has a very nice hall and peaceful bedrooms. The breakfast that Mrs Eufemia prepared was great!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed at hotel for 4 nights. We spoke no spanish and found the reception was very warm and welcoming, and the fron t desk staff made every effort to greet and welcome us in English.
Small and charming, the hotel has great historical architecture. the rooms have a/c which is a blessing. It seems the bathrooms were recently upgraded...all in all the room was very comfortaable. We stayed in the suite (207) upstairs with a long balcony overlooking the charming street.
There is also a small pool - you'll want to endulge after walking around Cartagena all day.,
Breakfast served daily - made to order eggs, bread and fruits.
Staff is very helpful - even the non-English speaking staff made every effort to be of assistance.
All in all this is a terrific value, centrally located in "old city" in walking distance to most historical sites, shopping and dining. I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Our room had a beautiful balcony overlooking colonial street/buildings. Wonderful old world house with lots of patina. Gabriel Garcia Marquez' house up the street. Rooms simple, but spacious (on the first floor). Nice and helpful staff. Quite expensive, but worth it for it's absolutely spot on location in this fantastic city. We enjoyed every minute of our one week stay.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa del Curato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Curato

Address: Calle del Curato Cra 7 #38 - 89 | Barrio San Diego, Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Curato 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa del Curato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Curato Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Curato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.