We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterrey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterrey to your Saves list
Hotel Monterrey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro Historico | Carrera 8 B No. 25-103, Cartagena 1425, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Hotel Monterrey in mid-February. The hotel is nice - new, clean rooms, hot showers, helpful staff, rooftop is great for lounging. It takes less than a minute to walk to the walled city so you really can't beat this location and price! We would definitely here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    21
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
68
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Small hotel where you can find the old architecture, but all rooms (we occupied two) are brand new, small but comfortable, with a/c and a good bathroom.

It is located nearby the watch and the walled city, the plaza in front of the hotel is very big, illuminated and full of cops. You will feel safe during the day and during the night (different if you stay inside the walled city, you have lots of dark streets), and it is walk away from everything.

The main drawback is the breakfast, don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Choose a room ending by 2, 3 or 4, specially in the third floor you will have an amazing view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senso
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is a 3.5 rating, not three. Hotel was ideally located in the walled city---still can get plenty of action without being right in the center of it. In fact, it was great to get a reprieve from the hustling and bustling of tourism in the old city. At Hotel Monterrey, you can relax at the rooftop pool area while still admiring the cityscape of the old city, sea, and Bocagrande--spectacular view during the day and night. (Worthy sunrise/sunset spot also!) My husband and I greeted the new year from the rooftop away from the crowds while still taking in the magic of Cartagena.

Pros: Great architecture. Ideally located. Good price. Breakfast was included in the price. Food was good, not great. But fantastic coffee. Friendly staff. Charming hotel with absolutely beautiful rooftop view. No regret staying in this hotel.

Cons: Front desk service was so so. They were supposedly be well versed with providing information for tourists. It wasn't our experience. We ended up feeling like they didn't put in their best effort for customer service especially for their guests. Asking to make a reservation at the hotel's restaurant turned out to be a 1.5 days thing. We also asked for help reserving at two restaurants in the old city and they didn't inform us the progress. We had to check in three times only to be told no reservations were made possible. (Those restaurants only take reservations by phone as we tried in person ourselves). Service can be really slow at times for drinks especially when ordering at the rooftop bar. Our room was really tiny (#301) which felt a bit claustrophobic. And we didn't have a lot of light coming through which contributed to that feeling.

Room Tip: Try to get 3rd or 4th floor room---away from the noise and you'd have better view. Also double c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My husband, adult daughter & I stayed here for 3 nights. It is walking distance ( 3 minutes) from the old city and has great views from the top of the hotel. The rooms are small due to the age of the hotel but all nicely appointed, airconditioned and very clean. We spent our days on short tours in the mornings and walking the old city in the afternoons and evenings, being able to return to the hotel when ever we needed a break from the heat. The staff were very patient with my poor Spanish and very helpful. The waitstaff even remembered our names, breakfast preferences and that we preferred tea to coffee. This is definately the place to stay.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quiet. The rooms at the front of the hotel get some road noise but have grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

The staff was wonderful and the hotel was charming and well appointed. My husband and I felt as if we had stepped back in time as we entered the hotel with it's tiled lobby, exposed beams, and stucco walls. The location is perfect, too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

The hotel was perfectly located, clean, beautiful and run by very kind people. This hotel is located at the "gates" of the historic center, it is quite small, only a few rooms per floor. The views are excellent. The "Brasserie" (restaurant) has excellent french food at the best prices! I absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Monterrey as part of a small group doing an add-on to an OAT trip. The hotel is in a great location at the edge of the old city and close to the port, so it was easy to walk to many of the sites of Cartagena. It is an old hotel, so the rooms are not large, but each is unique and many were quite charming. It is centered around a courtyard, where breakfast was served each morning. The rooms overlooking the courtyard were relatively quiet, but streetside rooms had some noise at night from the bar next door.
There were some maintenance issues while we were staying there. The hot water boiler was not working, so for several days the hot water was tepid at best. Fortunately, it is quite hot in Cartagena, so the coolish shower was not so bad. Our room keycard never worked more than once, and then we would have to go get a new one. At first we requested two cards so that we could each have one, but this proved impossible, as only one of them would work. In addition, the lock to the safe in our room did not work, and it took a couple of days before anyone could figure out how to fix it. Most of the help
at the front desk was very accomodating and made efforts to solve the problems, but one woman was unfriendly and appeared annoyed at being bothered.
The hotel has a pleasant rooftop sunning area and small pool, with lovely views of the city and harbor. The restaurant staff was willing to serve dinner up there, so we had a lovely evening eating a delicious meal (the hotel restaurant is excellent) while watching the sunset.
In all, I would recommend the hotel if you like a place that is charming and picturesque and don't mind dealing with a few quirks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterrey

Address: Centro Historico | Carrera 8 B No. 25-103, Cartagena 1425, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monterrey 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a magnificent building designed by the french architect Gaston Lelarge at the end of the 19th century, the Hotel Monterrey reflects Cartagena's colonial and original atmosphere combined with european finest style. The Monterrey Hotel is located next to Cartagena's convention Center and only ten minutes away from Rafael Nunez Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterrey Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterrey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.