We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel to your Saves list
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle segunda de Badillo #36-125 | Centro, Cartagena 123, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE AIRPORT PICK-UP
Ranked #17 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Centrally located, clean and quiet! Breakfast on the patio is fantastic, and the tiny pool on the rooftop is incredibly refreshing. We stayed for three days - Tues, Wed, and Thurs - and were incredibly pleased with our room and the staff, all of whom were super friendly and helpful. (We speak minimal Spanish, but all of the staff speaks some English, and at least two of the staff are fluent, so it was no problem.)

One of our favorite things to do for lunch was pick up an assortment of fruit and empanadas from the local street vendors and eat lunch on our balcony, overlooking the park below. Gorgeous!

The room had AC but we never needed to turn it on - the fan and tile floors kept the place cool and comfortable. There's a little noise from the park and cafes below at night, but that's part of the charm of the city.

The location is great - Cartagena is a magical city and Casa La Fe is a perfect base for exploring it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    166
    29
    9
    8
See reviews for
87
267
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Delightful hotel with charming rooms in a perfect location. You can walk all over the historic area from here. The breakfasts are perfect with 2 kinds of fresh juice and arepas with cheese among other things.I would recommend it highly, but get a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street and not on the first floor as breakfast is served right outside your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have covered the Cartagena International Film Festival for five years and, dispute other options, always returned to Casa La Fe.

The location could simply not be better. In the middle of the historic Old Town, five minutes away from all the best spots like Plaza Santo Domingo.

If you like to get a feeling of life in Cartagena, take ten steps out of the front door and relax in the small park across the street.

Geoff and his staff are simply terrific. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. From check-in, those responsible for a great breakfast to the people responsible for your room - They're all excellent.

In case you're interested in tours, they go out of their way to accommodate you with great tips and advice.

I just returned, but already look forward to next year.

Theo Kingma

Room Tip: The best rooms are those located in the front with balconies. The double doors ensure it is still qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you Theo, even though it has taken 5 years for you to file a report!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa la Fe and were charmed by the ever helpful 'King Freddie.'
The central location was fabulous and the architecture stunning. No restaurant but heaps to choose from all around. Breakfast was a bit disappointing after our Bogota hotel's amazing spread but sitting in the beautiful inner courtyard surrounded by luscious flora was amazing especially during happy hour.
Our room was decorated with rose petals when my daughter told the hotel we were newly engaged - a very delightful touch. One small beef about our room was that it was windowless though.
To sum up this was a lovely place to stay but expensive and the owners need to attend to smartening up the place if they want to continue charging top dollar.
They are extremely lucky that Freddie is such an able, friendly and diligent manager.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
If only I could identify what needed 'smartening up' I would attend to it. IMHO our prices represent excellent value for a city centre boutique hotel. Freddy and I consider ourselves equally lucky to be part of such a great hotel team which has remained unchanged through eight years of operation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Casa La Fe is a small, charming hotel with an incredibly thoughtful staff. Everything is perfect. Clean rooms; comfortable beds; tasty breakfast; lovely, tiny rooftop pool; great access to everything in Old Town. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am pleased that our beds get a mention for being comfortable - we renewed all of them two months ago with a softer mattress than we had in our original inventory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

my review is late. I stayed there with my wife last summer 2012. I'm so glad we stayed there the staff are great. the rooms are just the right size and the pool is the best. I love the happy hour. My wife and i went out on a ship tour of Baru, so beautiful. But we forget to put suntan lotion on. when we came back we where so burned. I asked the front desk if any restaurant delivered they said no but they would deliver it to our room. I was just so happy they did that. If you go to Cartagena you have to stay there. To all the staff you guys ROCK keep up the great work.

Room Tip: stay on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

With a location on Parque Fernandez de Madrid that inspired Garcia Marquez's "Love in the Time of Cholera" you are situated on an ideal spot in the magical walled city. Casa La Fe is a charming hotel with a winning team that makes this a great choice in Cartagena. We secured the balcony twin room on the third floor which overlooks the plaza and is one of the largest rooms. It was comfortable and well appointed with a ceiling fan and air conditioning which are essential given the weather. The bathroom has all the amenities you'd want. Loved having the balcony which is a wonderful perch from which to enjoy a snapshot of life. Highly recommend it.

A special opportunity that we almost overlooked is the marine tour on a small launch that is offered only to hotel guests (maximum six) and takes you away from the city and the more commonly frequented Islas del Rosario. It's a three-in-one winner: audio-tour of the harbor giving context and history of Cartagena which lasts about an hour, a visit to the village of Bocachica which gives a glimpse of life in a small village while visiting two forts, and finally lunch and time at the beach in Bocachica which had a sprinkling of people along with kids from the village playing in the water or soccer on the beach, and a few vendors plying their wares. You can stay for as long as you'd like and Jaider, who works for the hotel and piloted the Olivia, has an engaging personality and sense of humor. It was a wonderful way to experience something different and made for a memorable day.

Finally, the staff at the hotel was wonderful. I had originally scheduled my trip for early November, but Superstorm Sandy wreaked havoc with my plans. Geoff, the owner, was incredibly gracious in accommodating my need to alter my dates. On site, Freddy, was a fountain of information in negotiating the city and Anjelica was always smiling and helpful,too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I am very pleased this guest recommends our marine tour on Olivia because we have worked hard at producing something both informative and fun. There is nothing remotely similar offered by any other hotel or tour operator. Best of all its only offered to our hotel clients so we can tailor it to suit your preferences - more or less beach time, more or fewer stops ashore, hour of return, etc. You can find more details on our webpage by clicking on 'about us' and following through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Address: Calle segunda de Badillo #36-125 | Centro, Cartagena 123, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
#21 Business Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.