We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, Charming, Rooftop pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle segunda de Badillo #36-125 | Centro, Cartagena 123, Colombia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 113 hotels in Cartagena
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service, Charming, Rooftop pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in January. All the previous reviews are accurate - the rooms are small but perfectly nice and clean, the free breakfast is simple but great to have. The highlights were definitely the service (Freddie!) and the rooftop pool - only about 3 feet deep but we spent a few hours there each afternoon and it was never crowded. Also felt very safe there the whole time - they lock the front door at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    144
    24
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
231
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Well-kept, clean, and charming hotel in the center of the walled city. The walled city itself is a must-see, and this hotel was the perfect place to come home to at the end of our nights and even intermittently throughout the day when we needed to drop stuff off. The staff is very accommodating. The breakfast was a bit bland, but the 24 hour coffee and happy hour were great touches. Didn't spend any time on the jacuzzi upstairs - it was always full of people, but also looked like a relaxing place to spend a morning or late afternoon. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor - where the cafe/eating area is - you'll be woken up by all th...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Casa La Fe for four nights in the beginning of January on the middle part of our trip to Colombia. Our room was on the second floor (Room #206) and it faced the main square. This meant it was very noisy much of the day and night; if noise is an issue for you, you may not want to request a room facing the square. We quite liked the energy it provided. We also had a small balcony that enabled us to check out the excitement when we didn't want to be "in" it.

Breakfast was the best of our trip; as a vegetarian, I felt like I was easily satisfied with scrambled eggs, arepas, and cheese as well as coffee and juices. All of the servers were friendly and were patient with our beginner Spanish; I think we improved over those four days! We also participated in the happy hour and took advantage of the coffee machine left out all day.

The small pool was nice. Because it is such a small area, I think it would he helpful if they had a small storage area (shelves) so people could store their towels and shoes when in the pool. Guests tended to put their belongings on the lounge chairs while in pool, which prevented others who just wanted to lounge from relaxing at times (or made it awkward). It all worked out, but a small storage area would have been great!

The staff was available and helpful; Freddy helped us book a trip to the Rosario Islands, which was a nice experience. I would recommend Casa La Fe.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely house right in the heart of the old town. The room was fairly small and it seems that they usually only feature double beds(queen), so they were a little surprised when they saw two guys asking for twin! However they accommodated us by putting in an extra bed making the room even smaller.  There is tv with a variety of channels, air conditioning, a fan and two complimentary bottle of waters are offered.

Breakfast was good with a selection of 4 different options while the hotels offers a happy hour which is a glass of wine or beer on the house between 6-7pm daily!

Staff was very attentive and Freddy an oasis of information as he was the only hotel staff in whole Colombia that we cane across that actually spoke English!!

I found the hotel overpriced for what it is (but that seems to be Cartagena ...especially around New Year's period) but taking that out of the equation (alongside a rat running across the hotel at night :-)) I would recommend it and stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casalafecartagena, Owner at Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
This is the first the staff or I have heard of an unwelcome non-paying guest - we will investigate. The hotel has three twin bedded and eleven double rooms but this gentlemen did a late room change from Double to Twin and the only way to accommodate him was to add an auxiliary bed in the room, not at all ideal but the only solution. Cartagena is an expensive city to visit in all respects but I believe we remain competitive on rates and unsurpassed on service - Freddy not only speaks English but also applies great judgement in interpreting and responding to a client's specific needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Located on a great square - busy by night quiet by day, this is a delightful and very comfortable place to stay. Safe to return to late at night/early morning. Lovely helpful manager and staff, v comfortable rooms, cooled by fans and aircon if required. Good breakfast included - and complimentary happy hour when you can chat to other guests. Little plunge pool with few chairs to cool off. Would have liked little more area in which to relax after hot day walking the wonderful town streets, and before going out late evening. Freddie manager spoke great English and it was a pleasure to talk to him. Cartagena is a find - we enjoyed both the hectic, exciting South American tastes and sounds, as well as the wonderful classical music concert in the amazing old theatre - the festival is a must for any classical lovers. Do take a trip outside the city to an Island', bookable at the Hotel or at the port, which will give you a day at the beach by the sea. Though at peak times - we were there for New Year - it is very very popular outing with families making most of the holiday time. Other good beach areas are probably about 40 mins away by road. We ate wonderful food including the local ceviche, but also Peruvian, Argentinian and excellent Italian cuisine . Something for everyone. Don't forget the street food sellers also, the fruit is a must. If you speak Spanish its a winner. Enjoy the experience .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cartagena Colombia is a great city to visit, explore and enjoy! We stayed at Casa La Fe, which located near one of the several squares, near lots of authentic restarants, supermarkets and gift shops. Casa La Fe is a very safe and frendly hotel where freshly coocked breakfast and fresh sqeezed juices were surved everyday (included in a price), coffee (espresso) was available all day in a patio (lobby). We are deffinatly coming back and planning and stay at the Casa La Fe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel is fantastic - on a lovely Cartagena square (that even figures in the Love in the Time of Cholera novel); great, authentic breakfast included in the price; and wonderful staff who help with restaurant recommendations & are happy to chat over a complimentary beer or a glass of wine during happy hour. We were in a room that overlooked the square and had zero problems with noise. It's easy to get everywhere of note in the city from the hotel & our room was comfortable & well decorated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel

Also Known As:
Casa La Fe Hotel
Casa La Fe Cartagena
Casa La Fe Hotel Cartagena
Address: Calle segunda de Badillo #36-125 | Centro, Cartagena 123, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cartagena
#10 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa La Fe - a Kali Hotel to your Saves list