We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice to walk around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walled City of Cartagena

Walled City of Cartagena
Calle 41, Cartagena, Colombia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 attractions in Cartagena
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice to walk around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is the best thing to do in Cartagena. Walk around, taste the fruits, do som shoping of arts and crafts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,333
    657
    81
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place to visit in your lifetime.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cartagena is a georgous place to visit in Colombia. You can spend afternoons walking and wandering in the streets full of history. Do not try to take a map. Just go and discover!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The walled city contains wonderful architecture, great restaurants and high end shops. You can also see the Fort and walk to the top.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing, beautiful and a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We walked through the stunning yellow colored clock tower to enter the walled city. It is full of color, history, amazing shops and world class restaurants and coffee shops. We walked through the narrow streets and came upon wonderful sights at every turn- the bright colored buildings with flowers on the balcony, huge doors with spectacular wood work, squares with little gardens filled with tourists and local school children, vendors selling fresh orange juice and empanadas- the list is long!

We went back to the walled city several times, to eat, to visit the massive churches and basically to get as much as we could from being there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“You can feel the history here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I were here before entering the Panama Canal so I had been reading a great deal of the area. I could picture the area under attack (by the English as it were with George Washington's brother included). It was interesting walking the wall. The city streets were VERY narrow and crowded but that just added to the experience!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walled City of Cartagena also viewed

Cartagena, Cartagena District
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 
Cartagena, Cartagena District
 

Been to Walled City of Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walled City of Cartagena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Walled City of Cartagena to your Saves list