We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel in Cartagena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel in Cartagena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

After experiencing hell in a nearby derelict property I went to this place where a governmental meeting which I was attending was being held, and I had the opportunity to use its facilities and see some rooms. In general it is a very good hotel, rooms are spacious, clean and well-lit. Their buffet food is very good but be warned that service at the restaurant is VERY slow. The area around it is kinda poor and the beach is no big deal, so if I were travelling on a holiday I`d stay at the Walled City itself, a much more pleasant location. But this hotel is good enough and I´d recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Respected guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, the largest network of travelers from around the Americas.

We constantly work to ensure all our guests maximum comfort, exceeding their expectations and gaining their loyalty through our commitment to quality and warmth in services Accommodation, Food & Beverage, Banquet, Recreation, Safety and Laundry.

Certification ISO 9001:2008 processes Lodging, Food & Beverage, Recreation and Laundry.

NTC 5133:2006 Certification in Environmental labels Type 1 Colombian Environmental Seal and Criteria for local accommodation and lodging.

Certification NTSH006: 2009 as Five Star Hotel.

Please contact us the next time we come to the beautiful Cartagena de Indias, it will be an honor to continue paying the best service.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    121
    63
    18
    12
See reviews for
93
104
6
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during four days. Booked the "ocean view" suite, but be aware that it is in fact a very "partial" and limited view of the beach thru a small window. Rooms are very average, decor has its years now, and need some small repairs and basic maintenance. Gym is decent, but I did not like the pool area (small, old). Breakfast can be improved, as it is physically small and the line can get very long. The booking system on their website never works (tried since three months in advance), you have to call either way - and they ask you to go to a bank and make a deposit to secure your reservation and fax the bank's confirmation - I mean, is the 18th century?. Cost/Value ratio = just okay. Am I coming back: I do not think so, there are plenty of options in Cartagena to explore.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The distance from the historical places wasn't a problem at all. The hotel is located in a very usefull place, where you can find any kind of restaurants, stores, and services you may need. And to go to the city, it is just 5 min away by taxi and it has a fixed fare.
The hotel team is so kind that in my boyfriend's birthday, I had ordered a very early breakfast (6.30am) in the room and they sent it on time and with a birthday cake.
Despite the shower wasnt so stronge, we have nothing to complaint about the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest.

Our Hotel is Located in the main tourist and shopping district of modern Cartagena, on a beautiful beach and just 5 minutes from the walled city, the Almirante Hotel Cartagena provides modern rooms with ocean views, event rooms, pool, restaurants, bars, gym, and the best services for you to enjoy all the magic of the Caribbean

Thanks for being with us, we expect to have you back. Follow us on twitter and facebook.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here four nights on business.

I would rate this hotel 3.5 out of 5. I am rounding up to 5 because the staff was so nice.

The staff could not have been more professional or friendly.

Location is good, near shops, restaurants, and across the street from the beach.

The room itself was quite basic -- except for the nice toiletries, the room was more what I would expect from a three star hotel. There were two beds in my room. One mattress was reasonably comfortable. The other was worn and sagging. Internet in the room was spotty. If I moved 2 inches I got disconnected and had to log back in. I could hear music from the street at all hours, loud and clear even though my window was closed and I was 11 floors up.

Breakfast buffet was plentiful and fresh. Business center personnel was very gracious and helpful.

I had to wait in line for almost 20 minutes to check out.


Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest.

Our human resource is the most precious asset, we feel a great satisfaction with having achieved our commitment.

I take this opportunity to inform you that in order to renew our facilities to make you feel more comfortable and serving you better , we continue with the remodeling in several areas of the hotel, this includes common areas and rooms , respecting of course the tranquility of our customers.

We are a modern hotel with our internal architecture inspired by the colonial era.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook , we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I chose this hotel because I wanted a pool that you could swim in, not just dip the feet into. The pool photos look deceptive, as it's really not that big. It's a crescent shape and part is roped off for kids to splash in. The rooms are clean but somewhat bland in decoration. The bathrooms look older and the tub is plastic so always looks dirty. The really short plastic shower curtain didn't help matters either. They had good bath products though and the towels were plush. Breakfast was plentiful and all OK. They have scrambled eggs, fresh fruits, yogurt, variety of breads and rolls, arepas, rice, and some other fried choices. The location is across the street from the ocean and near several grocery stores. The gym is pretty nice and they have stretching classes during the week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for your comment on our Micro Site on Trip Advisor, it is important for us to know the perception of our customers, we are in a process of continuous improvement to ensure in every way, the overall satisfaction.

Our pool, located on the fifth floor, offers a spectacular panoramic view from the terrace you can see the majesty of the Sea Cartagenero and enigmatic and beautiful stone yard.

I also invite you to try our lunches, menu variety and quality of our coastal and international cuisine will enchant.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter, we will keep you abreast of all our activities.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mashhad, Iran
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

summery:
Food, shopping area close, clean room and helpful crew. close to port so no stocking in traffic to go to islands.
The room was clean, the shower and bathroom too, deserves 4 star for that. very beautiful architecture inside the hotel some parts are build like its a castle. crew very kind and helpful. very good location in front of beach with sun beds(u have to pay but cheap). good buffet breakfast. very good location if u wanna go to other islands(Rosario,...) and don't wanna spend an hour just to get to the port. also most of the restaurants are by walking distance of 3-10 min, such as burger king, KFC, MD. Lots of brands have shops there inducing Tommy Hilfiger and ... also in a 2-10 min walking distance.
At all I was happy to choose this hotel! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

El Hotel Almirante extends its sincere thanks for the comments posted on our Trip Advisor page. We have met our objectives, serve you with quality, efficiency, friendliness and safety.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, we would be honored to continue hospedándole.

I invite you to follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Sincerely,

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have been 4 nights at Hotel Almirante for a business trip. The hotel is located 20-30 minutes by car from CTG airport, just by the beach. Good choice of restaurants, amenities (swimming pool and gym in the hotel), enough space in the room. Bathroom furniture could be improved. Hotel crew very kind. Breakfast selection wide, with many local choices.
Probably more a "four stars hotel", but I think it's a very good suggestion for business or touristic journeys in Cartagena.

Room Tip: It's possible to choose rooms with oceanic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustavo B, Community Manager at Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Hotel Almirante Cartagena express thanks for the good comments posted on our Trip Advisor website, it is nice to be accepted and perceived by our customers as excellent service providers.

Whenever you wish to travel to Cartagena de Indias, please contact us, it will be an honor to continue serving you.

Please, follow us on twitter and facebook.

Gustavo Buelvas
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia

Address: Avenida San Martin (Carrera 2) - Calle 6 # 5-125 (Esquina), Cartagena, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 116 hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a five star hotel in historical Cartagena. Front beach located in the Bocagrande neighborhood,Almirante Cartagena Hotel is a modern hotel with elegant rooms and common areas to enjoy, an excellent place in the Caribbean for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almirante Cartagena Colombia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.