We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allure Chocolat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Allure Chocolat to your Saves list
Allure Chocolat
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida del Arsenal Nro. 8b-58, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel Boutique)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$191 (USD)
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Allure Chocolat (aka "Boutique Arsenal") is a beautiful new hotel with incredible service and only a five minute walk to the old city clock tower. It's everything we hoped it would be.

+Beautiful new hotel:
The finish and attention to detail is very good. Opened in late 2012, everything looks and feels brand new and high quality.
- The rooms are gorgeous, slightly small but compensated for by wonderful high ceilings. Our king bed was huge, the A/C worked perfectly, and our room was very quiet despite being near the elevators. The room window looked out on a small vertical garden which was bright, private, and serene.
- The only negatives were small and forgivable: the rainfall shower head sprayed sideways as well as down, the batteries for the safe's lock were dead, the phone didn't dial to Reception, and the wifi in the room was intermittent (it worked great everywhere else in the hotel except in the pool area). These are minor problems and easily fixed, but I include them for completeness's sake.
- The rooftop deck is a great place to hang out. The infinity pool looks out over Boca Grande and is the perfect temperature. The back terrace is private and comfortable, and we spent one evening out there streaming a movie on Netflix completely uninterrupted. The gym is small - two ellipticals and one treadmill - but there were never more than two of us there at a time. The pool area could use a couple more lounge chairs in the late morning, but it typically emptied out around noon anyway.

+ Incredible service:
Being a boutique hotel, there are only a few dozen rooms and correspondingly only a small group of guests at any one time. Therefore the service can't help but feel personal, however the staff's commitment and follow through went far beyond our already high expectations and elevated this hotel to a rare and extraordinary level.
- The premier example is the staff's response to Delta losing our bags on the way to Bogota, which created a cascading headache through to Cartagena. Not being strong Spanish speakers this could have become a challenging problem for us were it not for Cristina at the front desk - she became personally invested in finding our bags, and spent an enormous amount of time on the phone and web tracking them down and ensuring they made it to Cartagena. (BTW, if you are not booking your plane tickets through AmEx and buying their cheap baggage insurance, you are truly missing out.)
- The rest of the staff were similarly friendly and dedicated to making our stay as enjoyable as possible, and were flawless in following through on each of our requests accurately and promptly. I cannot stress enough just how excellent the service is!
- Upon arrival we were immediately welcomed with a cool juice and Bon Bon and immediately made to feel at home. Upon departure Kadir at the front desk personally loaded our luggage in the taxi.
- Breakfast is included and full of fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, eggs, etc. If you get up early enough, instead of the buffet you can get your eggs cooked to order.

+ The location is highly ideal:
Getsemani, Allure Chocolat's neighborhood, doesn't itself have much going on, but the rest of Cartagena is very close.
- The old walled city with all its history, restaurants, and pure charm is literally a five minute walk away. I found this distance to be perfectly balanced between convenience to the city and retreat from its more hectic traffic and noise.
- Everything else you would likely want to see is only a short cab ride away. And not just short, but cheap: for example a cab ride to Castillo San Felipe is just $3, a ride to the airport $5.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    43
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
125
15
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were greeted cordially and shown to our room as soon as it was cleaned. The beds were comfortable, shower was excellent, breakfast was more than ample, rooftop pool was a delight, but more importantly, the staff was phenomenal. At the front desk, Christina is a gem! She gave us wonderful personal attention. The restaurant staff at breakfast and the bar help on the rooftop are very professional and cordial. Also, Allure-Chocolat, as it is now named, is a great value! Stay there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My wife (who is Australian) and I (Colombian) spent 5 days at this Boutique Hotel in January and we were completely satisfied with the service, facilities and most important the people who work there. Cristina at the reception could not be more helpful trying to assist us with all our requests and guiding us to find tours and things to do in Cartagena. The restaurant guys are amazing always with a smile to start the day with an excellent breakfast and the housekeepers were amazing too.
We can certainly recommend this Hotel to anyone who likes a bit of luxury at a reasonable price. Excellent facilities. Rooms: big, clean and comfortable. Infinity Swimming Pool with nice bay views to relax and chill out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Awesome boutique hotel located in Gersemani right outside the wall and across from the convention center. The Allure Chocolat is I believe only a year old and under new management(formerly it was the Arsenal Boutique Hotel). The rooms are modern, I had a great king bed, a pretty big bathroom with an amazing rain shower head. A/C in the room works great and the TV has some channels in English. The rooftop pool is awesome and there are 3 additional sections to the roof. My room came with breakfast that started with Coffee, fresh juice, a bread basket, and fresh fruit...then you choose from a selection of eggs, cereals, etc. What really made the hotel was the amazing staff. Christina especially was amazing, her knowledge of where to go, what to do, and just overall professionalism is second to none...

Room Tip: For the most part it was fairly quiet, but doing the weekend from some rooms you can here the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I believe this hotel has now rebranded as the Allure Chocolat Hotel so hopefully it will be just as good this year as I am definitely going back!
Stayed here last year during a trip to Cartagena for work and it was ideally located right opposite the Centro de Convenciones. Staff were absolutely lovely and it's just a short walk to the old town.
The roof top pool is gorgeous and the lounge area up there is fantastic to relax and enjoy a cocktail. The waitress Pilar was absolutely lovely and was so accommodating.
My only small negatives was there was very little natural light in my room as the window looked on to an internal courtyard. Also, there was no wifi signal on the roof terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I cannot write enough good things about this hotel.
Almost everyone here spoke English very well. Front desk is super helpful in making sure you have a great time in Colombia. They will arrange transport, taxis, point you to the right stores, restaurant, bars... whatever you need.
LOCATION IS PERFECT. Right outside of the walled city by the clock tower, on the bay, with cheaper stores around to pick up liquor, snacks or whatever. Couple of decent bars/"clubs" on the street.
The hotel itself is new and beautiful. The upstairs pool/bar area? OH MY GOD, both during the day and at night. Oscar, the manager, saw us looking for a bottle opener for our wine, he took us to a romantic back area in the back of the top level and brought us an ice bucket.
The breakfast that is included? Gourmet style with choices, fruit, coffee/tea... probably about $25/person value in NYC, included.
I booked the "upgraded" room at the hotel, pretty sure I got the most basic room they have as a result of a booking issue... but we did not spend much time at the room anyway so I did not care. Overall, I will return to this hotel before I die, one of the most beautiful places I have visited so far.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

A Boutique hotel indeed!
Brand new and charming hotel, excellent service, kind staff! The hotel is very well located. Near the best restaurants and other Cartagena atractions.
Can't wait to be there again!
Be aware: Wifi is free, but works better up to 2• floor.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arsenal_Hotel297476, Director Comercial at Allure Chocolat, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
¡GRACIAS!

Allure Chocolat Hotel, by Karisma le agradece por ser parte de nuestra familia

Estimado huésped

En nombre de todo el personal de Allure Chocolat Hotel, le damos las gracias por elegirnos como su opción de alojamiento en la ciudad. Nos sentimos honrados de haberlo tenido como huésped en nuestro hotel y poder acoger sus vacaciones en Cartagena.

Por favor asegúrese de estar conectado con nosotros en Facebook y agradecemos infinitamente el compartir su experiencia en nuestra página web en Trip advisor, valoramos mucho las opiniones dejadas por nuestros clientes.

Esperamos tenerlo nuevamente con nosotros para deleitarlo con nuestro servicio y poder hacer de su estadía la mejor experiencia en la ciudad

Quedando a su entera disposición me despido,

Gentilmente,
Karina Olano
Directora Comercial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allure Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allure Chocolat

Address: Avenida del Arsenal Nro. 8b-58, Cartagena 130001, Colombia (Formerly Arsenal Hotel Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 118 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allure Chocolat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Allure Chocolat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allure Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.